My CE Solution: CE Requirements

The CE renewal requirement for counselors and marriage and family therapists for each state are included as a resource. The CE renewal requirement resources for social workers and other license types are in the process of being researched and added to this page.

PS-011

COPY PLAYER SNIP
HELP GUIDE

Counseling CE Requirements

  • Required for Renewal: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 6 CE Hours of Ethics Each Renewal 
  • Permitted Online: 25% of CE Hours Are Permitted Online / 10 CE Hours
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC)
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the Alabama State Board Website: As of August 1, 2011, 75% of CE must consist of real-time participation in seminars, classes, workshops, presentations, training programs, or similar activities. Real-time participation involves licensee presence in the location of the activity as it occurs or use of interactive technology by the licensee for the activity as it occurs. Self-contained activities (e.g., recorded presentations, reading, online study) that do not feature opportunities for dialogue and interaction for the licensee as the activity occurs do not qualify as real-time participation in continuing education.

 

  • Required for Renewal: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 3 CE Hours of Ethics Each Renewal 
  • Permitted Online: 20 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC)
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs.  
  • Additional Information from the Alaska State Board Website: For a biennial licensing period ending on or before October 31, 2023, at least three contact hours must be in professional ethics. For a biennial licensing period beginning on or after November 1, 2023, at least three contact hours must be in professional ethics, at least three contact hours must be in suicidality, and at least three contact hours must be in cultural competency.
  • Additional Information from the Alaska State Board Website: The number of contact hours for a biennial licensing period is as follows:(1) first biennial renewal, if the licensee held the license for less than 12 months during the concluding biennial licensing period, 20 contact hours; (2) first biennial renewal, if the licensee held the license for at least 12 months but less than 18 months during the concluding biennial licensing period, 30 contact hours; (3) first biennial renewal, if the licensee held the license for 18 months or more during the concluding biennial licensing period, 40 contact hours; (4) second or subsequent biennial renewal, 40 contact hours.

 

  • Required for Renewal: 30 CE Hours Each Renewal 
  • Special Course Requirements: 3 CE Hours of Ethics and 3 CE Hours of Cultural Competency & Diversity. As of 1/1/2018 licensees must complete a 3 CE Hours of a Board-Approved Tutorial on Board Statutes and Rules. 
  • Permitted Online: All 30 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC)
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the Arizona State Board Website: D. A licensee shall participate in continuing education that relates to the scope of practice of the license held and to maintaining or improving the skill and competency of the licensee. The Board has determined that in addition to the continuing education listed in subsections (B) and (C), the following continuing education meets this standard: 1. Activities sponsored or approved by national, regional, or state professional associations or organizations in the specialties of marriage and family therapy, professional counseling, social work, substance abuse counseling, or in the allied professions of psychiatry, psychiatric nursing, psychology, or pastoral counseling

 

  • Required for Renewal: 24 CE Hours Each Renewal 
  • Special Course Requirements: 3 CE hours of Ethics Each Renewal 
  • Permitted Online: 24 CE Hours Each Renewal 
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC) 
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the Arkansas State Board Website: Section 7.2 CONTINUING EDUCATION (a) No license will be renewed without evidence of satisfactory completion of a minimum of twenty-four (24) clock hours of continued professional education (CE) and/or training in the twenty-four (24) months prior to renewal. Evidence must also be submitted of a minimum of three (3) clock hours obtained in ethics relevant to the license being renewed. The remaining hours must be counseling in nature and support the licensee’s statement of intent.
  • Additional Information from the Arkansas State Board Website: (e) The Board recognizes the following activities/experiences, which demonstrate professional benefit to the licensee, as acceptable CE: 1. Attending workshops provided by a qualified professional from state and/or nationally recognized training programs. Workshops presented by a professional with a NBCC provider number are acceptable.

 

 

  • Required for Renewal: 36 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 7 CE Hours of HIV/AIDS for New First Time Licensees' Renewal. 6 CE Hours of Law & Ethics Each Renewal.   
  • Permitted Online: 36 CE Hours Each Renewal 
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC)
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • NEW RENEWAL RULE: The CE renewal requirement for first time renewals has been changed as of July 1, 2023! Previously, first time renewals were only required to earn 18 CE Hours. However, that has changed. All renewals require 36 CE Hours. 
  • Special Course Requirements: 7 CE Hours of HIV/AIDS coursework is required for NEW FIRST TIME licensees' renewal only.
  • Special Course Requirements: 6 CE Hours of Law & Ethics coursework is required for EVERY RENEWAL.  
  • Special Course Requirements: Effective January 1 , 2021 the Board will begin requiring  both applicants for licensure and licensees to have completed a minimum a minimum of 6 hours of training or coursework in Suicide Risk Assessment and Intervention. This is a ONE TIME requirement.  
  • Special Course Requirements: Effective July 1, 2023, the Board will begin requiring both applicants for licensure and licensees to have completed a minimum of three hours of training or coursework in the provision of mental health services via telehealth, which must include law and ethics related to telehealth. This is a ONE TIME requirement
  • Additional Information from the California State Board Website: As of July 1, 2017, the Board no longer keeps a list of valid CE Providers. Associates and Licensees are responsible for finding and verifying that a CE Provider is accepted by the BBS. The Board does not have the ability to verify if a provider's approval is in good standing or not. Please refer to the sections below for places to find CE courses. The following organizations are recognized by the Board as approval agencies for CE Providers: American Psychological Association (APA), Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB), California Association of Marriage and Family Therapists (CAMFT), California Psychological Association (CPA), National Association of School Psychologists (NASP), National Association of Social Workers (NASW), and National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC).

 

  • Required for Renewal: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal. 
  • Special Course Requirements: Please see below for detailed information. 
  • Permitted Online: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal. 20 CE Hours under the professional development hours for "coursework" and 20 CE hours under the professional development category of "independent study". Please read additional information below regarding professional development activities and categories. 
  • Acceptable CE: Colorado does not pre-approve CE courses or providers nor does Colorado endorse or acknowledge certification organizations for CE course approval. My CE Solution meets the acceptable CE criteria as stated in the requirements set forth in the State rules.                  
  • Helpful Tip: Colorado refers to Continuing Education (CE) as Continuing Professional Competency (CPC) and/or Continuing Professional Development (CPD). 
  • Additional Information from the Colorado State Board Website: All Licensed Professional Counselors in active status shall maintain and demonstrate Continuing Professional Competency (CPC) in order to renew, reinstate, or reactivate a license to practice professional counseling in the state of Colorado.
  • Effective immediately upon licensure, Licensed Professional Counselors must demonstrate CPC in order to renew a license by one of the following three methods: 1. The Continuing Professional Development (CPD) program administered by the Board: Complete the Professional Survey and Self-Assessment. Establish learning goals and create a Learning Plan to accomplish those goals. Accrue 40 Professional Development Hours (PDH) in line with your Learning Plan and retain documentation of the completed activities. For licensees who obtain their initial license during the course of a license period, PDH requirements will be prorated at 1.66 hours per month, including the month the license is Issued through the month the license expires. 2. Deem Status: If you participated in the formalized professional development program of a Colorado state department and that program's requirements meet the definition of CPC, you may qualify for Deem Status. 3. Active Duty Military Exemption: If you were called to federally-funded active duty for more than 120 days for the purpose of serving in a war, emergency or contingency, you may be eligible for an exemption from CPC requirements. Details about how to meet CPC requirements by the three methods above can be found in the CPC Program Manual and other documents listed in the Resources section below.
  • Additional Information from the Colorado State Board Website: No more than 20 CE Hours may be earned in a single professional development activity category during a two year renewal cycle. The definition of each professional development activity category can be found in the "Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies - Division of Professions and Occupations - Continuing Professional Competency Program Manual - r Licensed Professional Counselors. The web link to this is as follows: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BzKoVwvexVATU0hiN1FaMDRvemc/view?resourcekey=0-JApQlQ353JPQMjYxroe3ZQ or from the main website https://dpo.colorado.gov/ProfessionalCounselor/CPC and scrolling to "Resources" and clicking on "Continuing Professional Competency Manual. There is also a guide titled, "PDA Chart" located under resources which helps decipher the professional development activities (PDA) categories. 

 

 

  • Required for Renewal: 15 CE Hours Every Year
  • Special Course Requirements: 1 CE Hour in Cultural Competency. 3 CE Hours in Ethics. 2 CE Hours Mental Health Conditions Common to Veterans and Family Members of Veterans. Please see below for detailed information.
  • Permitted Online: All 15 CE Hours 
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC)
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs.
  • Additional Information from the Connecticut State Board Website: Pursuant to Connecticut General Statutes licensed professional counselors are required to participate in continuing education (CE) activities that meet the requirements of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies (RSA). Please note the following: Number of Hours Each licensee applying for license renewal shall complete a minimum of 15 hours of qualifying continuing education during the one-year period for which the license has been renewed.
  • Additional Information from the Connecticut State Board Website: For registration periods ending after January 1, 2016, each licensee applying for renewal is required to complete at least two contact hours of training or education (and not less than once every six years thereafter) on the topic of - mental health conditions common to veterans and family members of veterans, including (A) determining whether a patient is a veteran or family member of a veteran, (B) screening for conditions such as post-traumatic stress disorder, risk of suicide, depression and grief, and (C) suicide prevention training. (This is required once and then not less than every six years.)
  • Additional Information from the Connecticut State Board Website: After January 1, 2018, not less than three contact hours of training or education each registration period in the topic of professional ethics. (This is required with EVERY RENEWAL.) 
  • Additional Information from the Connecticut State Board Website: Sec. 20-195cc-3. Basic requirements for qualifying continuing education activities. (a) Qualifying continuing education activities are the following: (1) courses offered or approved by the National Board of Certified Counselors, the American Counseling Association, the American Association of Marriage and Family Therapy, the National Association of Social Workers, the Association of Social Work Boards, the American Psychological Association, or their affiliates, or the Connecticut Department of Education or the Connecticut Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services; (2) graduate coursework in or related to the discipline of professional counseling offered by a regionally accredited academic institution, either audited or by credit; or (3) programs in or related to the discipline of professional counseling sponsored or approved by a regionally accredited academic institution, provided the coursework is clearly related to maintaining skills necessary for the safe and competent practice of professional counseling. (b) Continuing education activities shall meet the following requirements: (1) the activity involves face-to-face instruction or a home study program; (2) the provider implements a mechanism to monitor and document physical attendance at such instruction or to verify licensee completion in the case of a home study program; (3) the provider retains written records for a period of three years from the participant’s actual successful completion of the activity, including but not limited to: content description; instructor; date of activity; location of activity; list of participants; participant’s evaluation of instruction presented and number of contact hours; and (4) the provider issues a certificate of completion after the participant’s successful completion of the activity. Such certificate shall include the participant’s name, provider’s name, title or subject area of the activity, date and location of attendance and number of contact hours completed. (c) Subject matter for qualifying continuing education activities shall reflect the scope of practice authorized under Chapter 383c of the Connecticut General Statutes. (d) Activities which do not qualify for award of contact hours include: professional organizational business meetings; speeches delivered at luncheons or banquets; reading of books, articles, or professional journals; correspondence courses and other mechanisms of self instruction, except when used as a component of a home study program; and audio-visual materials, except when the latter is used as a component of a qualifying continuing education activity identified in subsections (a) and (b) of this section. Home study programs may include distance learning and Internet based educational programs.

 

 

  • Required for Renewal: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 3 CE Hours of Ethics Each Renewal. 3 CE Hours of Cultural Inclusion, Equity, & Diversity Each Renewal. 
  • Permitted Online: All 40 CE Hours Each Renewal. Please see below for additional information. 
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC)
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs.
  • Additional Information from the Delaware State Board Website: 12.2.2 Acceptable CE shall include the following: 12.2.2.1 CE hours approved by a national mental health organization or substance abuse treatment organization or their local affiliates, such as the National Board for Certified Counselors, Inc. (NBCC), American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (AAMFT), the International Family Therapy Association (IFTA), NAADAC, The Delaware Certification Board, Inc. or National Association for Social Work (NASW), the Art Therapy Credentials Board (ATCB), or the American Psychological Association (APA) are acceptable, regardless of course content, and do not need to be approved by the Board.
  • Additional Information from the Delaware State Board Website: Renewal and Continuing Education 12.1 Renewal Date – All licenses shall be renewable biennially on September 30th of even-numbered years. License renewal is accomplished online at the Division of Professional Regulation’s website. 12.2 Continuing Education (CE) Requirements for LPCMHs, LCDPs, LMFTs, and LPATs (Associate License holders are not required to complete CEs) 12.2.1 Licensees must complete at least 40 acceptable CE hours, including 3 hours of continuing education in ethics and 3 hours in cultural inclusion, equity, and diversity, during the previous licensure period in order to renew their license. CE requirements for initial licensure periods of less than 2 years shall be prorated as follows: 12.2.1.1 If the license was granted between April 1 and September 30 of an even-numbered year, the licensee must complete 0 hours of CE during the initial licensing period. 12.2.1.2 If the license was granted between October 1 of an odd-numbered year and March 31 of an even-numbered year, the licensee must complete 10 hours of CE, including 1 hour in ethics and 1 hour in cultural inclusion, equity, and diversity, during the initial licensing period. 12.2.1.3 If the license was granted between April 1 and September 30 of an odd-numbered year, the licensee must complete 20 hours of CE, including 1 hour in ethics and 1 hour in cultural inclusion, equity, and diversity, during the initial licensing period. 12.2.1.4 If the license was granted between October 1 of an even-numbered year and March 31 of an odd-numbered year, the licensee must complete 30 hours of CE, including 1 hour in ethics and 1 hour in cultural inclusion, equity, and diversity, during the initial licensing period.

 

  • Required for Renewal: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 6 CE Hours in Ethics Each Renewal. 4 CE Hours in Trauma Counseling Each Renewal. 2 CE Hours of Cultural Competence and Appropriate Clinical Treatment Specifically for Individuals Who Are LGBTQIA+, Sexual Orientation, and Gender Identity Expression Each Renewal. **Please note the requirement for 2 CE Hours on the COVID-19 Vaccine has been rescinded and is no longer required. 
  • Permitted Online: All 40 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC)
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the Washington DC Board Website: At least ten percent (10%) or four (4) hours of the total required CEU shall be in the subjects determined by the Director as public health priorities of the District of Columbia every five (5) years or less frequently as deemed appropriate. The following topics have been identified as key public health priorities: 1. Responsible opioid prescribing and effective pain management; 2. Nutrition and obesity prevention; 3. Identifying and reporting abuse (child and adult), neglect (child and adult), human trafficking, and domestic violence; 4. Sexual health (including taking sexual history, discussing sexual experiences with patients, sexually transmitted diseases (including HIV/AIDS), HPV vaccines, connections to cancer, latent tuberculosis, safe sex, and birth control); 5. Ethics and appropriate patient interactions (i.e. boundaries, patient privacy, and communications including telehealth); 6. Smoking, vaping, and tobacco (including dangers, smoking cessation, and non-smoke tobacco products); 7. Preparing your patients for an emergency and handling vulnerable populations in an emergency; 8. Identifying impairment (physical or mental) in patients and providers (including complying with the Americans with Disabilities Act and the Occupational Safety and Health Act); 9. Vaccinations (including legal requirements and appropriate exemptions); and, 10. Implicit bias, cultural competence and Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services (CLAS) in health and health care. *Please note that the required 2 hours of CE for the LGBTQ cultural competence requirement are NOT included as part of the public health priorities, and must be completed in addition to those requirements.
  • Additional Information from the Washington DC Board Website: Effective August 11, 2021, the DC Department of Health now requires all licensees to complete 2 contact hours of continuing education on COVID-19 vaccine efficacy and effectiveness on or before September 30, 2021.
  • Required for Renewal: A LPC applicant for renewal of a license expiring on December 31, 2020, and all subsequent licensure terms, shall complete forty (40) hours of approved continuing education (CEU) during the two (2) year period preceding the date the license expires. LPC licensees participating in their first renewal are not required to complete CEUs. The new requirement regarding the four (4) hours of CE in the subjects determined by the Director as public health priorities are not required to be specific separate courses or classes, but may be included within courses/classes the health care practitioner has completed. As an example – Nutrition and Obesity Prevention may have been discussed during a 1 or more hour(s) course on diabetes; Ethics and Appropriate Patient Interaction may have been discussed during a 1 or more hour(s) class; Smoking, Vaping, and Tobacco may have been discussed in a course regarding the effects of such products on ocular health. The Board of Professional Counseling wants our licensees to be aware that many courses or classes taken in the past and in the future will address the priorities as listed above, and are therefore acceptable to meet the requirement.

 

  • Required for Renewal: 30 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 3 Hours Ethics & Boundary OR Telehealth (Required in alternating renewal periods.) 2 Hours of prevention of medical errors (Required every renewal period.) (Must be by a Board Approved Medical Errors provider.). 2 Hours of domestic violence (Required every 3rd renewal and are included in the 25 Hours of General Hours Requirement.)  3 Hours of Florida Laws and Rules (Required every third renewal after initial licensure)   
  • Permitted Online: All 30 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC)
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs.
  • Additional Information from the Florida State Board Website: 64B4-6.002 Approved Courses for Continuing Education.(e) Continuing education programs offered and approved by the following entities as long as such entities impose requirements similar to or more stringent than those imposed by the Board in subparagraphs 64B4-6.004(2)(a)1.-5., F.A.C.: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC),
  • Additional Information from the Florida State Board Website: 64B4-6.001 Renewal of Active License. (1) The Department of Health shall renew an active license upon receipt of the renewal license fee, as established by Rule 64B4-4.005, F.A.C. By remitting the correct fee to the Department, the licensee is affirming that all requirements for license renewal have been met. Each renewal period shall begin on the date established by the Department. (2) A licensee shall not be required to complete continuing education for the first renewal of licensure. For each subsequent renewal, licensee must complete 30 hours of approved continuing education credit. Courses shall include: (a) Two hours on the prevention of medical errors; and (b) Three hours relating to professional ethics and boundary issues or telehealth. These courses may be taken in any order, however, the same course may not be taken in consecutive renewal periods. (3) Within six months of initial licensure and every third renewal thereafter, a licensee must complete a two hour continuing education course on domestic violence. (4) Every third renewal after initial licensure, a licensee must complete three hours of laws and rules continuing education units. (5) Every third renewal, a qualified supervisor shall obtain four hours of supervisory training continuing education that meets the requirements in subsection 64B4-6.0025(4), F.A.C. (6) A maximum of six of the required 30 hours of continuing education may be accrued for credit during each renewal period by attending programs designed for the purpose of enhancing the licensee’s administrative, office management, or other non-clinical skills.
  • IMPORTANT INFORMATION: My CE Solution does NOT report to CE Broker. 

 

  • Required for Renewal: 35 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 5 CE Hours of Ethics Each Renewal which is required to be a synchronous learning activity. 
  • Permitted Online: A maximum of 10 CE Hours Each Renewal shall be obtained through asynchronous leaning activities. My CE Solution provides online asynchronous courses. 
  • Acceptable CE: Georgia does not endorse or pre-approve individual CE providers or organizations. Georgia accepts CE from, "A professional association in the specialty in which the license is held," and "A licensing or certification board in another jurisdiction which regulates the specialty in which the license is held. If the board is a composite board, the activity must be specifically approved for continuing education in the specialty in which the license is held." See below for additional information. 
  • Additional Information from the Georgia State Board Website: Rule 135-9-.01. Requirements - Beginning October 01, 2020 (1) Definitions: (a) Synchronous activities require participants and instructors to be present at the same time. These activities can be face-to-face or online. Lectures, discussions, and presentations must occur at a specific time at which all participants are present. It may be a virtual classroom, but must allow participants to ask and teachers to answer questions instantly, either face-to-face or through instant messaging. Synchronous activities may include, but not be limited to, the following: 1. In-person (live): Participants are physically present at the location where the presentation, lecture, workshop, or seminar is being held and are present for the entire length of the activity; 2. Webinars: A presentation, lecture, workshop, or seminar that is transmitted via the internet and allows full participation between the participants and the presenter(s); or, 3. Video conferencing: Participants are in two or more locations in a virtual conference room and communicate as if they were sitting right next to each other. (b) Asynchronous activities are online courses or a recording of a previously held program that one can access on one's own schedule. (c) Independent Study means a variety of self-directed professional study activities including, but not limited to, writing papers or books for presentation or publication; making presentations on major professional issues or programs; reading professional journals and books; preparing for initial consultation, teaching, or training assignments; and engaging in independent study, research, or tutorial projects. (d) Academic Hour means one (1) academic semester hour of graduate level coursework shall be equivalent to fifteen (15) clock hours of continuing education. One (1) academic quarter hour of course credit shall be equivalent to ten (10) clock hours of continuing education. (e) Core hours mean continuing education hours acquired in activities in the specialty in which the license is held; e.g. professional counseling core hours must reflect professional counseling content, social work core hours must reflect social work content, and marriage and family therapy core hours must reflect marriage and family therapy content. (f) Related hours mean continuing education hours acquired in activities in a specialty other than the one in which the license is held or in the allied professions of psychiatry, psychiatric nursing or psychology. (2) Continuing Education Requirements: (a) Thirty-five (35) hours of continuing education are required to be obtained within the two (2) year biennial licensure cycle to renew each license, including associate level licenses. The biennial licensure cycle is the two (2) year period beginning October 1st of each even numbered year, and ending on September 30th of every subsequent even numbered year. 1. When the license is initially issued during the second year of the licensure cycle, on or after October 1st of each odd numbered year, no continuing education is required for the initial, first renewal of the license. 2. At the next renewal cycle the licensee must comply with all continuing education requirements. 3. When a master social worker, associate professional counselor, or an associate marriage and family therapist level license is superseded by the issuance of a clinical social worker, a professional counselor or a marriage and family therapist license, Rule 135-9-.01(2)(a)(1) above does not apply, and the licensee is required to meet continuing education hours required for license renewal as set forth in Chapter 135-9. (b) A minimum of five (5) of the thirty-five (35) hours shall be specifically designated as continuing education in professional ethics relating to any of the specialties of professional counseling, social work, or marriage and family therapy. Ethics hours shall be obtained through synchronous activities only. (c) Of the remaining thirty (30) hours, a minimum of fifteen (15) shall be core hours and not more than fifteen (15) shall be related hours. (d) A maximum of ten (10) hours of continuing education may be obtained asynchronously for each two-year renewal period. (e) Core hours shall be obtained through synchronous or asynchronous activities sponsored, co-sponsored, or approved by: 1. A professional association in the specialty in which the license is held. 2. An academic department in the specialty in which the license is held: (i) Graduate level coursework will meet continuing education requirements only when offered by an academic department in the specialty in which the license is held and when the department is in an education institution accredited by a body acceptable to the Board set forth in Chapter 135-5. (ii) One (1) academic semester hour of graduate level coursework shall be equivalent to fifteen (15) hours of continuing education, and one (1) academic quarter hour of course credit shall be equivalent to ten (10) hours of continuing education, up to a maximum of twenty (20) hours. 3. A licensing or certification board in another jurisdiction which regulates the specialty in which the license is held. If the board is a composite board, the activity must be specifically approved for continuing education in the specialty in which the license is held. (f) Related hours are continuing education hours acquired in activities in a specialty other than the one in which the license is held or in the allied professions of psychiatry, psychiatric nursing or psychology. Related hours may be obtained from: 1. Activities sponsored, co-sponsored, or approved by professional associations in the specialties of professional counseling, social work, marriage and family therapy or the allied professions for psychiatry, psychiatric nursing or psychology or allied health specialties. 2. Activities sponsored, co-sponsored, or approved by an academic department in the specialties of professional counseling, social work, marriage and family therapy or the allied professions of psychiatry, psychiatric nursing, or psychology. (i) Graduate level coursework will meet continuing education requirements only when offered by an academic department in the specialty in which the license is held and when the department is in an education institution accredited by a body acceptable to the Board as set forth in Chapter 135-5. (ii) One (1) academic semester hour of graduate level coursework shall be equivalent of fifteen (15) hours of continuing education, and one (1) academic quarter hour of course credit shall be equivalent to ten (10) hours of continuing education. 3. Activities sponsored, co-sponsored, or approved by a licensing or certification board in another jurisdiction which regulates the specialties of professional counseling, social work, marriage and family therapy or the allied professions of psychiatry, psychiatric nursing or psychology. 4. Activities sponsored by federal, state, or local government agencies and licensed hospitals. (g) Independent Study is limited to five (5) hours. Neither ethics nor core hours may be obtained through independent study. If selected for a continuing education audit at renewal, the licensee shall submit a notarized affidavit attesting to number of hours of independent study completed. (h) The professional association, academic department, licensing or certification board, state, or local government agency, or licensed hospital that sponsors, co-sponsors or approves the continuing education activity shall certify the number of clock hours of education content in each activity. The certificate of attendance for the continuing education hours should include whether the activity was synchronous or asynchronous. (i) A Standards Committee may, in its discretion, accept continuing education hours obtained from sources substantially similar to those listed in (e) and (f) above. (j) No more than twenty (20) hours of continuing education shall be from any one continuing education or academic coursework, workshop, or presentation. This limit does not apply to professional conferences which offer multiple presentations. (k) Any continuing education hour may be applied towards the renewal of a license in more than one specialty, provided that the continuing education hour meets the requirements set out in (e) or (f) above. (l) Continuing education hours earned in professional ethics exceeding the five (5) required for renewal may be applied to meet requirements for core or related hours when they meet the requirements set out in (e) or (f) above. (m) If, at the Board's request, a licensee completes a peer review of an alleged violation of the law or the Board's Rules, the licensee shall satisfy the five (5) hours of continuing education required in professional ethics. Such a review must be submitted as a written report to the Board.

 


  • Required for Renewal: There are no CE Hours required for license renewal. 
  • Special Course Requirements: N/A
  • Permitted Online: N/A
  • Acceptable CE: N/A

 

 

 

  • Required for Renewal: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 6 CE Hours in Ethics Each Renewal. Ethics CE must be specific to legal issues, law, or ethics.
  • Permitted Online: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE:  The board does not require CE to be pre-approved or approved from certifying bodies. The board accepts CE from National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC).
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the Idaho State Board Website: Regarding acceptable and approved CE, "The contact hours of continuing education must be obtained in areas of study germane to the practice for which the license is issued as approved by the Board.” (425.01) Presentations germane to your practice are usually acceptable to the Board. Offerings in association with or under the auspices of providers as “approved by the Board” are acceptable, without question." The National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC) is approved by the board. 

 

  • Required for Renewal: 30 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 1 CE Hour of Sexual Harassment Prevention Training. The Sexual Harassment Prevention Training is required for each renewal. 1 CE Hour of Implicit Bias Awareness Training. The Implicit Bias Awareness Training is required for each renewal. 1 CE Hour of Alzheimer's Education. The Alzheimer's Education Training is required for each renewal. For Clinical Professional Counselors (ONLY) are required to completed 18 CE hours in Clinical Supervision training as a one-time requirement. A Mandatory Court Reporting Training is required within 3 months of employment in an atmosphere where one is a mandatory court reporter and then every three years thereafter. This requirement does not specify the CE Hour requirement. 
  • Permitted Online: As of January 28, 2021, all CE hours may be earned, "not in person." 
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC)
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information From Illinois State Board Website: Section 1375.220 Continuing Education a) Continuing Education Hours Requirements 1) In order to renew a license, a licensee shall be required to complete 30 hours of continuing education. All clinical professional counselors are required to complete 18 hours in clinical supervision training of the 30 continuing education hours required. This is a one-time (lifetime) requirement. All supervision training successfully completed subsequent to September 1, 2003 can be applied to the 18 hours of clinical supervision continuing education required. 2) A pre-renewal period is the 24 months preceding March 31 of each odd-numbered year. 3) CE requirements shall be the same for licensed professional counselors and licensed clinical professional counselors. 4) One CE hour shall equal one clock hour of attendance. After completion of the initial CE hour, credit may be given in one-half hour increments. 5) A renewal applicant shall not be required to comply with CE requirements for the first renewal of an Illinois license. 6) Professional counselors or clinical professional counselors licensed in Illinois but residing and practicing in other states or jurisdictions shall comply with the CE requirements set forth in this Section. 7) Continuing education credit hours used to satisfy the CE requirements of another jurisdiction may be applied to fulfill the CE requirements of the State of Illinois.
  • Additional Information From Illinois State Board Website: (b) Approved Continuing Education (CE) (2) CE credits may be earned for successful completion of a course (e.g., by mail, computer, pre-recorded online course/program, live online course/program, etc.) that is offered by an approved sponsor who meets the requirements set forth in subsection (c). Each course shall include an examination. c) Approved CE Sponsors and Programs 1) Sponsor, as used in this Section, shall mean: A) National Board for Certified Counselors or its affiliates; B) American Counseling Association or its affiliates; C) Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor or its affiliates; D) American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy or its affiliates; E) Employee Assistance Professional Association (EAPA) and Employee Assistance Society of North America (EASNA) or its affiliates; F) Social Work Continuing Education Sponsors approved by the Division in accordance with the rules for the administration of Clinical Social Work and Social Work Practice Act [225 ILCS 20], 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1470.95; G) American Psychological Association or its affiliates; and H) Any other accredited school, college or university, State agency, or any other person, firm, or association that has been approved and authorized by the Division pursuant to subsection (c)(2) to coordinate and present continuing education courses and programs.
  • Additional Information From Illinois State Board Website: TITLE 68: PROFESSIONS AND OCCUPATIONS CHAPTER VII: DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL AND PROFESSIONAL REGULATION SUBCHAPTER a: ADMINISTRATIVE RULES PART 1130 ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES FOR GENERAL PROFESSIONAL REGULATION UNDER THE ADMINISTRATIVE CODE SECTION 1130.400 SEXUAL HARASSMENT PREVENTION TRAINING Section 1130.400 Sexual Harassment Prevention Training a) All persons who hold a professional license issued by the Division and are subject to a continuing education requirement shall complete a one-hour course in sexual harassment prevention training. A licensee may count this one hour for completion of this course towards meeting the minimum credit hours required for continuing education. A licensee who holds multiple licenses issued by the Division may count this one hour for completion of this course towards meeting the minimum credit hours required for continuing education for each professional license without having to repeat the course for each license. b) The sexual harassment prevention training course may only be provided by the following persons or entities: 1) a Division-approved continuing education provider for any profession licensed by the Division; 2) an entity that is recognized as a continuing education provider under any licensing Act administered by the Division or its rules for any profession licensed by the Division; 3) a State of Illinois agency; 4) an Illinois county agency; 5) an Illinois municipality; 6) a federal agency; 7) an accredited community college, college, or university; or 8) a licensed health care institution, such as a hospital or nursing home, for its own employees and associates. c) Notwithstanding subsection (b), a licensee completing a course on sexual harassment prevention developed or offered by the Illinois Department of Human Rights [775 ILCS 5] or offered by the licensee’s employer that complies with the minimum training requirements articulated in the Illinois Human Rights Act may count that course toward the one-hour requirement under this Section. d) The sexual harassment prevention training course shall comply with Section 2-109 of the Illinois Human Rights Act and include, at a minimum, the following topics: 1) an explanation of sexual harassment consistent with the Illinois Human Rights Act; 2) examples of conduct that constitutes unlawful sexual harassment; 3) a summary of relevant federal and State statutory provisions concerning sexual harassment, including remedies available to victims of sexual harassment; and 4) a summary of responsibilities of employers in the prevention, investigation, and corrective measures of sexual harassment. e) The course shall be presented in a classroom setting, a webinar, or online. f) Course providers shall be subject to all other continuing education requirements for each profession. g) Completion of this course shall be a condition of renewing a license. This course must be repeated for each subsequent renewal period. (Source: Amended at 46 Ill. Reg. 2648, effective January 28, 2022)
  • Additional Information From Illinois State Board Website: TITLE 68: PROFESSIONS AND OCCUPATIONS CHAPTER VII: DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL AND PROFESSIONAL REGULATION SUBCHAPTER a: ADMINISTRATIVE RULES PART 1130 ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES FOR GENERAL PROFESSIONAL REGULATION UNDER THE ADMINISTRATIVE CODE SECTION 1130.500 IMPLICIT BIAS AWARENESS TRAINING Section 1130.500 Implicit Bias Awareness Training a) All health care professionals who hold a professional license listed in this Section shall complete a one-hour course in implicit bias awareness training. Implicit bias is a form of bias that occurs automatically and unintentionally, that nevertheless affects judgments, decisions, and behaviors. A licensee may count this one hour for completion of this course towards meeting the minimum credit hours required for continuing education. A licensee who holds multiple licenses subject to this requirement may count this one hour for completion of this course towards meeting the minimum credit hours required for continuing education for each professional license without having to repeat the course for each license. b) The requirement of completion of a one-hour course in implicit bias awareness training shall apply to any person who holds one or more of the following licenses: 1) Physician (medical); 2) Physician (osteopathic); 3) Chiropractic physician; 4) Advanced practice registered nurse; 5) Registered nurse; 6) Licensed practical nurse; 7) Clinical psychologist; 8) Dentist; 9) Dental hygienist; 10) Optometrist; 11) Pharmacist; 12) Registered certified pharmacy technician; 13) Physical therapist; 14) Physical therapist assistant; 15) Physician assistant; 16) Acupuncturist; 17) Athletic trainer 18) Clinical social worker; 19) Social worker; 20) Dietitian nutritionist; 21) Naturalpath; 22) Nursing home administrator; 23) Occupational therapist; 24) Occupational therapy assistant; 25) Podiatric physician; 26) Respiratory care practitioner; 27) Clinical professional counselor; 28) Professional counselor; 29) Sex offender evaluator; 30) Sex offender treatment provider; 31) Associate sex offender provider; 32) Speech-language pathologist; 33) Speech-language pathology assistant; 34) Audiologist; 35) Perfusionist; 36) Registered surgical assistant; 37) Registered surgical technologist; 38) Genetic counselor. c) The implicit bias awareness training course may only be provided by the following persons or entities: 1) a Division-approved continuing education provider for any profession subject to the requirement of implicit bias awareness training; 2) an entity that is recognized as a continuing education provider under any licensing Act administered by the Division for professions subject to the requirements of implicit bias awareness training; 3) a State of Illinois agency; 4) an Illinois county agency; 5) an Illinois municipality; 6) a federal agency; 7) an accredited community college, college, or university; or 8) a licensed health care institution, such as a hospital or nursing home, for its own employees or associates, or an association or other organization in partnership or collaboration with a licensed health care institution. d) Notwithstanding subsection (c), a licensee completing a course on implicit bias awareness in order to meet any other State licensure requirement, professional accreditation or certification requirement, or health care institutional practice agreement may count that course toward the one-hour requirement under this Section. e) Notwithstanding subsection (c), a licensee completing a course on implicit bias awareness training developed or offered by the licensee's employer that complies with the minimum training requirements articulated herein may count that course toward the one-hour requirement under this Section. f) The implicit bias awareness training course shall include, at a minimum, the following topics: 1) explanation of implicit bias; the difference between explicit and implicit biases; 2) causes of implicit bias; how they form and operate; 3) effects of implicit bias; the harms they cause; and 4) recognizing, interrupting and mitigating implicit bias. g) The course shall be presented in a classroom setting, a webinar, or online. h) Course providers shall be subject to all other continuing education requirements for each profession. i) Completion of this course shall be a condition of renewing a license. This requirement shall become effective for all applicable license renewals on or after January 1, 2023. The course must be repeated for each subsequent renewal period. (Source: Added at 46 Ill. Reg. 2648, effective January 28, 2022)
  • Additional Information From Illinois State Board Website: CHILDREN (325 ILCS 5/) Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act. (325 ILCS 5/1) (from Ch. 23, par. 2051) Sec. 1. This Act shall be known and may be cited as the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act. (Source: P.A. 79-65.) A minimum of 1 CE Hour of Mandated Reporting Training is required at each renewal. The law can be accessed via the following link: https://ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=1460&ChapterID=32 
  • Additional Information From Illinois State Board Website: As of January 1, 2023, Section 5. The Department of Professional Regulation Law of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois is amended by adding Section 2105-365 as follows: (20 ILCS 2105/2105-365 new) Sec. 2105-365. Continuing education; Alzheimer's disease and other dementias. (a) As used in this Section, "health care professional" means a person licensed or registered by the Department under the following Acts: the Medical Practice Act of 1987, the Nurse Practice Act, the Clinical Psychologist Licensing Act, the Illinois Optometric Practice Act of 1987, the Illinois Physical Therapy Act, the Physician Assistant Practice Act of 1987, the Clinical Social Work and Social Work Practice Act, the Nursing Home Administrators Licensing and Disciplinary Act, the Illinois Occupational Therapy Practice Act, the Podiatric Medical Practice Act of 1987, the Respiratory Care Practice Act, the Professional Counselor and Clinical Professional Counselor Licensing and Practice Act, and the Illinois Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology Practice Act. (b) For license or registration renewals occurring on or SB0677 Enrolled LRB102 15823 SPS 21191 b Public Act 102-0399 after January 1, 2023, a health care professional who has continuing education requirements must complete at least a one-hour course in training on the diagnosis, treatment, and care of individuals with Alzheimer's disease and other dementias per renewal period. This training shall include, but not be limited to, assessment and diagnosis, effective communication strategies, and management and care planning. This requirement shall only apply to health care professionals who provide health care services to, and have direct patient interactions with, adult populations age 26 or older in the practice of their profession. A health care professional may count this one hour for completion of this course toward meeting the minimum credit hours required for continuing education. Any training on Alzheimer's disease and other dementias applied to meet any other State licensure requirement, professional accreditation or certification requirement, or health care institutional practice agreement may count toward the continuing education requirement under this Section. (c) The Department may adopt rules for the implementation of this Section. Section 99. Effective date. This Act takes effect upon becoming law.
  • Additional Information From Illinois State Board Website: As of January 1, 2021, all licensees are required to complete training Mandatory Court Reporting on the subject within 3 months of engagement in a professional or official capacity as a mandated reporter. LPCs, LCPCs, and MFTs must complete the training at least every 3 years thereafter. The training will count toward meeting a licensee's required continuing education, and is provided by the Illinois Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS).

  • Required for Renewal: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal Cycle or 20 CE hours Each Year
  • Special Course Requirements: 2 CE Hours of Ethics Each Renewal Cycle or 1 CE Hour of Ethics Each Year. 20 CE Hours of Category 1 Each Renewal Cycle or 10 CE Hours of Category 1 Each Year. 
  • Permitted Online: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal Cycle or 20 CE hours Each Year
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC) 
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the Indiana State Board Website: All licenses for the Behavior Health and Human Services Board expires April 1st on even years. The licenses once renewed will remain valid for two years with the last day of the renewal year to be March 31st. Reminders to renew your license will be sent out on or around 90 days prior to the expiration of the license. Once your have renewed your license please check that your license has renewed by either logging into your Access Indiana Account, or by using our Free Search and Verify. It is the responsibility of the licensee to ensure that their license has been completed, and they have completed all CE requirements. You may find a copy of the continuing education rules at 839 IAC 1-6-1 of the statutes and rules.
  • Additional Information from the Indiana State Board Website: Continuing Education Categories Category I Continuing Education: Continuing education that is formal programming, which includes the following: Formally organized courses. Workshops. Seminars. Symposia. Institutes. Home study programs, including: computer; audio; video; and instructional programs, accredited by board approved organizations. Courses that are relevant to the license holder’s professional skills, which are part of the curriculum of an accredited university, college, or educational institution, shall earn fifteen (15) CEUs for each academic semester hour completed, or ten (10) CEUs for each academic quarter hour completed. Faculty teaching a course for the first time at an accredited university, college, or educational institution shall earn one and one-half (1½) CEUs for every hour taught. Category II Continuing Education: Continuing education that is self-directed. NOTE: You are not required to earn any Category II hours; however, if you do use Category II hours towards you CEU requirement then you may acquire no more than 20 Category II CEUs per renewal cycle. Category II CE can be considered the following: Journal clubs, earns one (1) CEU for each hour attended. Office in-services, earns one (1) CEU for each hour attended. Case conferences that are specifically designed for training or teaching, earns one (1) CEU for each hour attended. Services as an instructor, presenter, or supervisor in a relevant professional seminar, workshop, or training conference earns one (1) CEU for each hour of service, but only for the initial instruction, presentation, or supervision given. Research and publication of research results in a recognized professional journal or book form, earns ten (10) CEUs, but may only be claimed for the initial publication of the information. Providing peer review of another licensee’s therapy and skills, which includes consultation, conference, and critique, earns one (1) CEU for each hour spent with the peer for this purpose. Services on boards and commissions and holding office in professional organizations, specifically related to the licensee’s profession, earns one (1) CEU for each hour of service. https://www.in.gov/pla/files/2008_CE_Rules.pdf
  • Additional Information from the Indiana State Board Website: as per, Social Worker, Marriage and Family Therapist, and Mental Health Counselor Board; 839 IAC 1-6-2; filed Dec 29, 1998, 10:57 a.m.: 22 IR 1512; readopted filed Dec 2, 2001, 12:30 p.m.: 25 IR 1314, the board accepts CE from the National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC). https://www.in.gov/pla/files/2008_CE_Rules.pdf
  • Additional Information from the Indiana State Board Website: Can I take all of my CEUs in one year or do they have to be split evenly throughout the renewal period? You can take as many CEUs as you like as long as you take at least 20 CEUs per year, a minimum of 10 of those hours must be Category I.

  • Required for Renewal: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 3 CE Hours of Ethics Each Renewal. 2 CE Hours of Dependent Adult Abuse Identification and Reporting. This is required within the first 6 months of employment and then requires recertification every 3 years. 2 CE Hours of Child Abuse Identification and Reporting. This is required within the first 6 months of employment and then requires recertification every 3 years. See below for additional information.
  • Permitted Online: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: Iowa does not pre-approve CE courses or providers nor does Iowa endorse or acknowledge certification organizations for CE course approval. My CE Solution meets the acceptable CE criteria as stated in the requirements set forth in the State rules.    
  • Additional Information from the Iowa State Board Website: As of July 1, 2023, Professional Licensing and other health and occupational licenses will become part of the Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing (DIAL) as a new organizational structure for state government goes into effect. Government departments and agencies that provide related services or have similar business functions are aligning to better serve Iowans. You can expect the same quality services you get now from HHS to continue as usual. 
  • Additional Information from the Iowa State Board Website: 645—32.2(272C) Continuing education requirements 32.2(1) The biennial continuing education compliance period shall extend for a 25-month period beginning on September 1 of the even-numbered year and ending on September 30 of the next even-numbered year. Each biennium, each person who is licensed to practice as a licensee in this state shall be required to complete a minimum of 40 hours of continuing education approved by the board. 32.2(2) Requirements of new licensees. Those persons licensed for the first time shall not be required to complete continuing education as a prerequisite for the first renewal of their licenses. Continuing education hours acquired anytime from the initial licensing until the second license renewal may be used. The new licensee will be required to complete a minimum of 40 hours of continuing education per biennium for each subsequent license renewal. Continuing education activity. These hours must be in accordance with these rules. 32.2(4) No hours of continuing education shall be carried over into the next biennium except as stated for the second renewal. A licensee whose license was reactivated during the current renewal compliance period may use continuing education earned during the compliance period for the first renewal following reactivation. 32.2(5) It is the responsibility of each licensee to finance the cost of continuing education. [ARC 5011C, IAB 3/25/20, effective 4/29/20]
  • Additional Information from the Iowa State Board Website: 645—31.10(147) License renewal for mental health counselors and marriage and family therapists. 31.10(1) The biennial license renewal period for a license to practice marital and family therapy or mental health counseling shall begin on October 1 of an even-numbered year and end on September 30 of the next even-numbered year. The licensee is responsible for renewing the license prior to its expiration. Failure of the licensee to receive notice from the board does not relieve the licensee of the responsibility for renewing the license. 31.10(2) An individual who was issued an initial license within six months of the license renewal date will not be required to renew the license until the subsequent renewal two years later. 31.10(3) A licensee seeking renewal shall: a. Meet the continuing education requirements of rule 645—32.2(272C). A licensee whose license was re-activated during the current renewal compliance period may use continuing education credit earned during the compliance period for the first renewal following reactivation; and b. Submit the completed renewal application and renewal fee before the license expiration date. c. An individual who was issued a license within six months of the license renewal date will not be required to renew the license until the next renewal two years later. 31.10(4) Mandatory reporter training requirements. a. A licensee who, in the scope of professional practice or in the licensee’s employment responsibilities, examines, attends, counsels or treats children in Iowa shall indicate on the renewal application completion of two hours of training in child abuse identification and reporting as required by Iowa Code section 232.69(3)“b” in the previous three years or condition(s) for waiver of this requirement as identified in paragraph “d.” b. A licensee who, in the course of employment, examines, attends, counsels or treats adults in Iowa shall indicate on the renewal application completion of two hours of training in dependent adult abuse identification and reporting as required by Iowa Code section 235B.16(5)“b” in the previous three years or condition(s) for waiver of this requirement as identified in paragraph “d.” c. The licensee shall maintain written documentation for five years after mandatory training as identified in paragraphs “a” and “b,” including program date(s), content, duration, and proof of participation. d. The requirement for mandatory training for identifying and reporting child and dependent adult abuse shall be suspended if the board determines that suspension is in the public interest or that a person at the time of license renewal: (1) Is engaged in active duty in the military service of this state or the United States. (2) Holds a current waiver by the board based on evidence of significant hardship in complying with training requirements, including an exemption of continuing education requirements or extension of time in which to fulfill requirements due to a physical or mental disability or illness as identified in 645—Chapter 4. 
  • Additional Information from the Iowa State Board Website: 645-32.3(154D,272C) Standards.32.3(1) General criteria. A continuing education activity which meets all of the following criteria is appropriate for continuing education credit if the continuing education activity: a. Constitutes an organized program of learning which contributes directly to the professional competency of the licensee; b. Pertains to subject matters which integrally relate to the practice of the profession; c. Is conducted by individuals who have specialized education, training and experience by reason of which said individuals should be considered qualified concerning the subject matter of the program. At the time of audit, the board may request the qualifications of presenters. d. Fulfills stated program goals, objectives, or both; and e. Provides proof of attendance to licensees in attendance including: (1) Date(s), location, course title, presenter(s); (2) Number of program contact hours; and (3) Certificate of completion or evidence of successful completion of the course provided by the course sponsor. 32.3(2) Specific criteria. Continuing education hours of credit may be obtained by completing the following: a. Attendance at workshops, conferences, symposiums and webinars. b. Academic courses. Official transcripts indicating successful completion of academic courses which apply to the field of mental health counseling or marital and family therapy, as appropriate, will be necessary in order to receive the following continuing education credits: 1 academic semester hour = 15 continuing education hours 1 academic quarter hour = 10 continuing education hours c. Completion of independent study courses that meet the general criteria in subrule 32.3(1). d. A maximum of 20 hours of continuing education credit may be granted for any of the following activities not to exceed a combined total of 20 hours: (1) Presenting professional programs which meet the criteria in 645—32.3(272C). Two hours of credit will be awarded for each hour of presentation. A course schedule or brochure must be maintained for audit. Presentation at a professional program does not include teaching class at an institution of higher learning at which the applicant is regularly and primarily employed. Presentations to lay public are excluded. (2) Scholarly research or other activities, the results of which are published in a recognized professional publication such as a refereed journal, monograph or conference proceedings. The scholarly research must be integrally related to the practice of the professions. (3) Publication in a refereed journal. The article in a refereed journal for which the licensee is seeking continuing education credit must be integrally related to the practice of the professions. (4) Teaching in an approved college, university, or graduate school. The licensee may receive credit on a one-time basis for the first offering of the course. (5) Authoring papers, publications, and books. The licensee shall receive five hours of credit per page with a maximum of 20 hours of credit. (6) Serving on a state or national professional board. The licensee shall receive a maximum of three hours of credit. 32.3(3) Required specific criteria: a. Three hours of the 40 continuing education hours shall be in ethics. b. Effective with the biennial continuing education compliance period that begins October 1, 2022, persons serving in a supervisory role must complete three hours of continuing education in supervision. c. Effective July 1, 2019, a licensee who regularly examines, attends, counsels or treats adults in Iowa shall complete, within six months of employment or prior to the expiration of a current certification, an initial two-hour course in dependent adult abuse training for mandatory reporters offered by the department of human services. Thereafter, all mandatory reporters shall take a one-hour recertification training every three years, prior to the expiration of a current certification. d. Effective July 1, 2019, a licensee who regularly examines, attends, counsels or treats children in Iowa shall complete, within six months of employment or prior to the expiration of a current certification, an initial two-hour course in child abuse training for mandatory reporters offered by the department of human services. Thereafter, all mandatory reporters shall take a one-hour recertification training every three years, prior to the expiration of a current certification. [ARC 2845C, IAB 12/7/16, effective 1/11/17; ARC 5011C, IAB 3/25/20, effective 4/29/20] https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ACO/chapter/645.32.pdf
  • Additional Information from the Iowa State Board Website: The Bureau of Professional Licensure does not pre-approve continuing education providers, sponsors or individual programs. It is the licensees’ responsibility to determine if the continuing education programs they attend meet the requirements of their professional licensure board. Potential sponsors are responsible for independently determining if the programs they provide conform to the continuing education requirements set forth in the rules regulations of the professional boards. To make this determination, thoroughly review the rules for the board(s) in which you are interested prior to offering continuing education to Iowa licensees. By providing inclusive information about the content, objectives and applicability of your program to professional practice, you will assist licensees to make informed decisions when selecting continuing education.

 

  • Required for Renewal: 30 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 3 CE Hours of Ethics Each Renewal. 6 CE hours Related to the Diagnosis and Treatment of Mental Disorders Each Renewal. 
  • Permitted Online: 30 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: Kansas does not pre-approve CE courses or providers nor does Kansas endorse or acknowledge certification organizations for CE course approval. My CE Solution meets the acceptable CE criteria as stated in the requirements set forth in the State rules.    
  • Additional Information from the Kansas State Board Website: 102-3-10a. Continuing education for licensees. (a) Each licensee shall complete 30 hours of documented and approved continuing education oriented to the enhancement of a professional counselor's practice, values, ethics, skills, or knowledge during each two-year renewal period. Continuing education hours accumulated in excess of the requirement shall not be carried over to the next renewal period. (b) During each two-year renewal period and as a part of the required continuing education hours, each licensee shall complete three hours of professional ethics and six hours related to the diagnosis and treatment of mental disorders. (c) One hour of continuing education credit shall consist of at least 50 minutes of classroom instruction between instructor and participant or a minimum of an actual hour of other types of acceptable continuing education experiences listed in subsection (d). One-quarter hour of continuing education credit may be granted for each 15 minutes of acceptable continuing education. Credit shall not be granted for fewer than 15 minutes. (d) Acceptable continuing education, whether taken within the state or outside the state, shall include the following: (1) An academic professional counseling course, or an academic course oriented to the enhancement of professional counselor's practice, values, ethics, skills, or knowledge, that is taken for academic credit. Each licensee shall be granted 15 continuing education hours for each academic credit hour that the licensee successfully completes. The maximum number of allowable continuing education hours shall be 30; (2) an academic professional counseling course, or an academic course oriented to the enhancement of a professional counselor's practice, values, ethics, skills, or knowledge, that is audited. Each licensee may receive continuing education credit on the basis of the actual contact time that the licensee spends attending the course, up to a maximum of 15 hours per academic credit hour. The maximum numbers of allowable continuing education hours shall be 30; (3) a seminar, institute, workshop, course, or minicourse. The maximum number of allowable continuing education hours shall be 30; (4) if a posttest is provided, an activity consisting of completing a computerized interactive learning module, viewing a telecast or videotape, listening to an audiotape, or reading. The maximum number of allowable continuing education hours shall be 30; (5) if a posttest is not provided, an activity consisting of completing a computerized interactive learning module, viewing a telecast or videotape, listening to an audiotape, or reading. The maximum number of allowable continuing education hours shall be five; (6) a cross-disciplinary offering in medicine, law, the behavioral sciences, a foreign or sign language, computer science, professional or technical writing, business administration, management sciences, or any other discipline if the offering is clearly related to the enhancement of a professional counselor's practice, values, ethics, skills, or knowledge. The maximum number of allowable continuing education hours shall be 10; (7) a self-directed learning project preapproved by the board. The maximum number of allowable continuing education hours shall be 10; (8) providing supervision to graduate practicum or intern students, applicants for licensure as clinical professional counselors, or other clinical mental health practitioners. The maximum number of allowable continuing education hours shall be 10; (9) the first-time preparation and presentation of a professional counseling course, seminar, institute, workshop, or mini-course. The maximum number of allowable continuing education hours shall be 10 for documented preparation and presentation time; (10) the first-time publication of a professional counseling article in a juried professional journal. The maximum number of allowable continuing education hours shall be 10; and (11) participation in professional organizations or appointment to professional credentialing boards, if the goals of the organizations or boards are clearly related to the enhancement of professional counseling practice, values, ethics, skills, and knowledge. Participation may include holding office or serving on committees of the organization or board. The maximum number of allowable continuing education hours shall be 10. (e) Continuing education credit approval shall not be granted for identical programs if the programs are completed within the same renewal period. (f) Continuing education credit shall not be granted for the following: (1) First aid, CPR, infection control, or occupational health and safety courses; (2) in-service training, if the training is for job orientation or job training, or is specific to the employing agency; or (3) any activity for which the licensee cannot demonstrate to the board's satisfaction that the program's goals and objectives are to enhance the licensee's practice, values, ethics, skills, or knowledge in professional counseling. (g) Each licensee shall maintain individual, original continuing education records. These records shall document the licensee's continuing education activity attendance, participation, or completion as specified in K.A.R. 102-3-11a. Any licensee may be required to submit these records to the board at least 30 days before the expiration date of each current licensure period. (Authorized by K.S.A. 74-7507; implementing K.S.A. 65-5806 and 74-7507; effective Dec. 19, 1997; amended July 11, 2003.) 

  • Required for Renewal: 10 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 3 CE Hours of Law Each Renewal and must be completed once every 3 years and must pertain to the laws that regulate professional counseling in Kentucky and be presented by a Kentucky Professional Counseling approved provider. 6 CE Hours of Suicide Assessment, Treatment, and Management to be completed within the first year of initial licensure and every 6 years thereafter. 3 CE Hours of Domestic Violence to be completed within the 3 years following initial licensure and be presented by a Kentucky Professional Counseling approved provider. 
  • Permitted Online: 10 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC) 
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the Kentucky State Board Website: 201 KAR 36:030. Continuing education requirements. RELATES TO: KRS 13B, 194A.540, 210.366, 335.500-335.599 STATUTORY AUTHORITY: KRS 210.366, 335.515(3), (6), 335.535(8) NECESSITY, FUNCTION, AND CONFORMITY: KRS 210.366 requires a board licensee to complete a minimum of six (6) hours of continuing education in suicide assessment, treatment, and management every six (6) years. KRS 335.515(3), (6), and 335.535(8) require the board to promulgate an administrative regulation requiring a licensee to complete continuing education requirements as a condition of renewal of his licensee. This administrative regulation delineates the requirements for continuing education and prescribes methods and standards for the accreditation of continuing education courses. Section 1. Accrual of Continuing Education Hours. (1) A minimum of ten (10) continuing education hours shall be accrued by each person holding a license during the annual period for renewal. (2) All continuing education hours shall be in or related to the field of professional counseling. (3) A person holding a license shall complete a minimum of three (3) hours of continuing education in domestic violence within three (3) years of initial licensure, as required by KRS 194A.540. (4) A person holding a license shall complete a minimum of six (6) hours of continuing education in a course in suicide assessment, treatment, and management within the first year of licensure and every six (6) years thereafter as required by KRS 210.366. (a) A person holding a license shall be exempt from the requirement to complete a continuing education course in suicide assessment, treatment, and management within the first year of licensure if the counselor: 1. Graduated from a Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Education Program since 2009; or 2. Completed a three (3) semester hours graduate course in suicide and crisis assessment, prevention, and intervention. (b) A person holding a license shall be exempt from the requirement to complete a continuing education course in suicide assessment, treatment, and management if the counselor satisfies one (1) of the following at least once per year during the six (6) year periodic requirement: 1. Is employed in a position that requires at least forty (40) hours of counseling in suicide and crisis assessment, prevention, and intervention; 2. Teaches a graduate-level counseling course in suicide and crisis assessment, prevention, and intervention; or 3. Teaches a continuing education course in suicide and crisis assessment, prevention, and intervention. (c) The continuing education course in suicide assessment, treatment, and management shall be board approved in accordance with Section 2 of this administrative regulation. (d) An individual asserting an exemption of the suicide assessment, treatment, and management course shall maintain sufficient documentation to establish the exemption. Documentation listed in Section 5(3) of this administrative regulation shall be sufficient to establish the exemption. (5) A person holding a license shall complete a minimum of three (3) hours of continuing education on the law for regulating professional counseling, KRS 335.500 to 335.599 and 201 KAR Chapter 36, every three (3) years. A person holding a license shall be exempt from this requirement if the person: (a) Teaches a graduate-level course that includes KRS 335.500 to 335.599 and 201 KAR Chapter 36 during the three (3) year period; or (b) Teaches a continuing education course on KRS 335.500 to 335.599 and 201 KAR Chapter 36 during the three (3) year period. Section 2. Methods of Acquiring Continuing Education Hours. Continuing education hours applicable to the renewal of the license shall be directly related to the professional growth and development of the licensee's practice of professional counseling. They may be earned by completing any of the educational activities as established in this section. (1) Programs not requiring board review and approval. (a) A continuing education program from any of the following providers shall be approved without further review by the board if it is: 1. Sponsored or approved by: a. The American Counseling Association, or any of its affiliated branches or divisions; b. The Kentucky Counseling Association, or any of its affiliated chapters or divisions; c. The American School Counselor Association or any of its affiliated state chapters; d. The National Board for Certified Counselors; or e. A state counseling licensure board; or 2. An academic course offered by an accredited post-secondary institution directly related to professional counseling or counseling psychology. (b) A continuing education program not requiring board review and approval shall comply with the requirements of subsection (3) of this section and Section 4 of this administrative regulation. (2) Programs requiring board review and approval. For approval purposes, the board shall review the following types of programs to determine relevancy: (a) A program, approved by the board, of a service provider, including a home study course or in-service training provided by another organization or educational institution; (b) A program or academic course presented by the licensee. A presenter of relevant programs or academic courses may earn full continuing education credit for each contact hour of instruction, except the earned credit shall not exceed one-half (1/2) of the continuing education renewal requirements. Credit shall not be issued for repeated instruction of the same course; or (c) An article authored by the licensee that was published in a relevant, professionally recognized or juried publication. Credit shall not be granted for an article unless it was published within the one (1) year period immediately preceding the renewal date and a licensee shall not earn more than one-half (1/2) of the continuing education hours required for renewal. More than one (1) publication shall not be counted during a renewal period.

  • Required for Renewal: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal 
  • Special Course Requirements: 3 CE Hours of Ethics Each Renewal. 6 CE Hours of Assessment, Diagnosis & Treatment under the DSM-V Each Renewal. 3 CE Hours of Telehealth Each Renewal for Clinicians Previously Approved to Practice Telehealth Counseling. 
  • Permitted Online: 20 CE Hours via Online Each Renewal. 
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC)
  • Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 0 CE Hours Each Renewal 
  • Additional Information from the Louisiana State Board Website: General Guidelines 1. A licensee must accrue 40 clock hours of continuing education by every renewal period every two years. Of the 40 clock hours of continuing education, 3 clock hours must be accrued in ethics and 6 clock hours must be accrued in diagnosis (assessment, diagnosis, and treatment under the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders 5, as published by the American Psychiatric Association). A board-approved supervisor must accrue 3 clock hours (of the required 40 clock hours of continuing education) in supervision.

  • Required for Renewal: 55 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 4 CE Hours of Ethics Each Renewal. 12 CE hours of Domestic Violence Training. The Domestic Violence Training is a one time requirement. 
  • Permitted Online: 55 CE Every Renewal. My CE Solution courses are considered formal home study courses and online, internet and other distance learning programs.  
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC). 
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the Maine State Board Website: 02 DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND FINANCIAL REGULATION 514 BOARD OF COUNSELING LICENSURE PROFESSIONALS Chapter 7-A CONTINUING EDUCATION Summary: This chapter requires licensees other than registered counselors to update and advance their skills through continuing education. 1. 55 Hours of Continuing Education Required for License Renewal All licensees other than registered counselors shall attest at time of license renewal to completion of 55 contact hours of continuing education activities directly relating to the theory and practice of professional counseling during the preceding license biennium. The 55 hours must meet the subject matter distribution requirements contained in Section 2 of this chapter and the eligibility requirements contained in Section 3 of this chapter. 2. Subject Matter Distribution 1. Peer Consultation Component (optional) Up to 15 hours of the 55 contact hours of continuing education required by this chapter may consist of peer consultation provided by a licensed mental health professional. Peer consultation may be individual or group. Peer consultation may take the following forms: A. Supervised experience required for licensure; B. Peer consultation as defined in Chapter 1, Section 1(15 A) of the board’s rules; and C. Supervision voluntarily solicited by the licensee. For purposes of this chapter, supervision does not include supervision or consultation received pursuant to a board order or consent agreement. 2. Ethics Component At least four hours of the 55 contact hours of continuing education required by this chapter shall relate to subjects addressed in the Code of Ethics contained in Chapter 8-A of the board’s rules. 3. Unallocated Hours The remaining hours of the 55 contact hours of continuing education required by this chapter shall relate to any aspect of the theory or practice of professional counseling, including any additional hours in ethics in excess of the 4-hour minimum. 3. Eligible Continuing Education Activities; Documentation Continuing education activities directly relating to the theory and practice of professional counseling may be offered by departments of regionally-accredited institutions, by national, state or local professional organizations or associations, by public or private human services organizations, or by private consultants or individuals. All continuing education activities completed by a licensee, including informal home study, formal home study courses and online, internet and other distance learning programs, must be documented by a signed certificate issued by the sponsor or peer consultant, an official academic transcript, or other reliable written proof of completion that is acceptable to the board. The documentation must include the date and time span of the activity, the name of the presenter, course or program, and the number of contact hours earned. The licensee’s attestation of completion of continuing education is subject to audit pursuant to Chapter 13 of the rules of the Office of Licensing and Registration, entitled “Uniform Rule for the Substantiation of Continuing Education Requirements.” The following activities are eligible for continuing education credit for purposes of license renewal: 1. Peer consultation as authorized by Section 2(1) of this chapter; 2. Graduate academic courses from a regionally-accredited institution, including any such courses taught through established distance learning procedures; 3. Institutes, workshops, seminars, conferences, employer-sponsored in-service training, formal home study courses, and on line, internet and other distance learning programs; 4. Up to five contact hours for informal home study or prerecorded programs, combined; 5. Professional writing published in book form or journal articles, provided that: A. Professional writing may account for no more than 20 contact hours; and B. The date on which the book or journal article was accepted for publication must fall within the license biennium for which the contact hours are claimed; 6. Teaching graduate academic courses at a regionally-accredited institution, or presenting at institutes, workshops, seminars and conferences, provided that the total of such teaching or presentation activity may account for no more than five contact hours, exclusive of preparation time; and 7. Field supervision of interns enrolled in a counseling program that meets the criteria of Chapter 2, Section 2, Chapter 3, Section 2, Chapter 4, Section 2, or Chapter 5, Section 3 of the board’s rules, for no more than five contact hours. Conditional licensees are not eligible to earn continuing education credit under this subsection.
  • Additional Information from the Maine State Board Website: Domestic Violence Training Requirements Additional Requirement for Initial Licensure - Pursuant to 32 MRS § 13858 Beginning January 1, 2020 - an applicant for initial licensure as a clinical professional counselor in Maine shall demonstrate a minimum of 12 hours of coursework in family or intimate partner violence. The course work shall include: Spousal or partner abuse addressing screening, referral and intervention strategies; Knowledge of community resources, cultural factors, evidence-based risk assessment and same-gender abuse dynamics. The coursework may be fulfilled through course work taken in fulfillment of educational requirements for licensure or course work provided through contact hours, internet hours or distance learning programs as evidenced by certification from an accredited educational institution An applicant for initial licensure that cannot demonstrate completion of the required 12 hours of course work at the time the application is submitted shall submit documentation that the requirement has been met upon the applicant’s first application for renewal. Additional Renewal Requirement Pursuant to 32 MRS § 13860 Beginning January 1, 2020 - all applicants for license renewal in Maine shall demonstrate a one-time successful completion of a minimum of 12 hours of coursework in family or intimate partner violence. The course work shall include: Spousal or partner abuse addressing screening, referral and intervention strategies; Knowledge of community resources, cultural factors, evidence-based risk assessment and same-gender abuse dynamics. The coursework may be fulfilled through course work provided through contact hours, internet hours or distance learning programs as evidenced by certification from an accredited educational institution or equivalent teaching or practice experience. The board may accept equivalent courses in family or intimate partner violence screening and referral and intervention strategies or equivalent teaching or practice experience completed prior to January 1, 2020. Continuing education courses taken to meet the requirement will be applied to continuing education requirements for that renewal. To access the complete statute, please go to the website for the Board of Counseling Professionals via the following link:http://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/counselors/laws.html
  • Additional Information from the Maine State Board Website: In Maine License Clinical Professional Counselors and Licensed Professional Counselors have different licensure privileges. Registered Counselors do not have any CE requirements at this time. Registered Counselor new applications are closed. https://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/board-of-counseling-professionals-licensure/licensing/professional-counselor-clinical-professional-counselor-marriage-family-counselor-pastoral-counselor-registered-counselor#5 

  • Required for Renewal: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal - 30 CE Hours Must Be Category A and No More Than 10 CE Hours May Be Category B. 
  • Special Course Requirements: Implicit Bias Training is a one time requirement. Please see below for additional information. 
  • Permitted Online: 10 CE Hours Each Renewal. My CE Solution courses are online and considered Category B. See below for additional information. 
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC)
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the Maryland State Board Website: Title 10 MARYLAND DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH Subtitle 58—BOARD OF PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS AND THERAPISTS Chapter 05—Continuing Education Authority: Health Occupations Article, §17-205, Annotated Code of Maryland .01 Scope. This chapter applies to all professional counselors and therapists who wish to renew or reinstate their licensure or certification in the State. 02 Definitions. A. In this chapter, the following terms have the meanings indicated. B. Terms Defined. (1) "Accredited institution of higher education" means a college or university accredited by a national or regional accrediting body recognized by the Council on Post-Secondary Accreditation. (2) "Activity" means any program, publication, course, institute, seminar, lecture, conference, workshop, symposium, or professional meeting that meets the criteria and objectives of continuing education. (3) "Approved program" means an activity that has been reviewed and approved by the Board for Category A credit. (4) "Authorized sponsor" means an organization or individual reviewed and authorized by the Board, or automatically eligible, to present Category A programs. (5) "Board" means the State Board of Examiners of Professional Counselors and Therapists. (6) "Committee" means the Advisory Committee for Continuing Education, appointed by the Board, consisting of at least one member of the Board. (7) "Continuing education" means additional professional activities beyond that required for certification or licensure. (8) "Continuing education unit (CEU)" means 60 minutes of activity that is approved by the Board to fulfill the continuing education requirements. (9) "Course" means a series of meetings with defined content and systematic presentation with an instructor, as an expert, who imparts information to the participants. (10) "Home study" means independent study that: (a) Is not evaluated by a formal process documenting a minimum mastery of materials; and (b) Does not issue a verification of program completion. (11) "Renewal date" means the date upon which a certificate or license expires, as specified in the notice sent to the certified or licensed professional counselor by the Board in accordance with Health Occupations Article, §§17- 309(b) and 17-3A-08(b), Annotated Code of Maryland. (12) "Renewal period" means the 2-year period immediately before the renewal date. (13) "Seminar" means a meeting or meetings of highly experienced participants or experts with an expert leader who conducts a discussion on a specific topic. (14) "Symposium" means a presentation or presentations by two or more speakers with different views on a specific topic and with a discussant who summarizes the issues. (15) "Workshop" means a meeting or meetings of general sessions and face-to-face groups with a leader, an expert in the defined content area, who imparts information to participants who have ample opportunity to interact. .03 Requirements. A. CEU Requirements. The certificate or license holder shall complete a minimum of 40 CEUs in each renewal period, as follows: (1) At least 30 CEUs shall be in Category A activities and not more than 10 CEUs may be in Category B activities; or (2) All 40 CEUs may be in Category A activities. B. CEUs that are in excess of requirements may not be carried over to the next renewal period. C. A certificate or license holder who has a renewal period of less than 2 years shall complete a minimum of 20 Category A CEUs for that renewal period. D. Proof of Completion. (1) A license or certificate holder shall attest to completion of required CEUs at the time of renewal or reinstatement, on a form supplied by the Board. (2) The license or certificate holder shall obtain the requisite documentation of CEU attendance and retain this documentation for the succeeding 4 years for possible inspection by the Board. (3) Required Documentation of Category A and Category B Activities. (a) The required documentation of Category A activities as defined in Regulations .04 and .05 of this chapter include: (i) Certificates of participation; (ii) Transcripts; (iii) Reprints of publications; (iv) Proof of presentations; or (v) Any other information necessary to verify compliance with the requirements of Regulations .04 and .05 of this chapter. (b) The required documentation of Category B activities as defined in Regulations .04 and .06 of this chapter, include: (i) Dates; (ii) Names of presenters; (iii) Outlines of presentations; (iv) Topics of meetings; or (v) Any other information necessary to verify compliance with the requirements of Regulations .04 and .06 of this chapter. (4) The license or certificate holder shall demonstrate that the CEU activity fell within the renewal period. .04 Continuing Education Qualifications. A. To qualify for approval by the Board, continuing education activities shall employ didactic and experiential methods to meet one of the following objectives: (1) Maintain professional competency; (2) Increase professional skills and knowledge; (3) Prepare for new roles or responsibilities in the practice of counseling or therapy; or (4) Expand the science of counseling and therapy theory, method, or practice. B. The following activities are specifically excluded from continuing education credit and do not meet any required objective: (1) Business meetings, professional committee meetings, and meetings concerned with the management of a professional practice; (2) Presentations and publications intended for a lay audience; and (3) Home study. .05 Categories of Continuing Education — Category A. A. The Board may approve the following activities for CEUs in Category A: (1) Attending formally organized Category A programs as follows: (a) The programs shall meet the following criteria: (i) The program is offered by a sponsor approved by the Board to present Category A programs, (ii) The program is intended for a professional mental health audience, (iii) The program has a stated purpose and defined content area, (iv) Presenters are professionals qualified in the defined content area, (v) The program's time period is clearly stated, (vi) Registration and attendance is recorded by the program's sponsor, (vii) Documentation of completion is provided, and (viii) Participants are required to complete an evaluation of the program; and (b) The program may be formally organized and classified as a course, workshop, seminar, or symposium; (2) Developing and presenting a Category A program which is credited as follows: (a) Up to 3 hours of CEU credit may be claimed by the presenter for each hour of presentation of the program with a maximum of 20 CEUs; (b) Up to 3 hours of CEU credit may be claimed for each hour of presentation, at a professional or scientific organization, of a professional or scientific paper prepared by the licensee or certificate holder, with a maximum of 6 CEUs per paper; and (c) Each program may be credited only once in each renewal period; or (3) Authoring, editing, or reviewing a juried publication with CEUs earned only in the year of publication, and only to the following extent: (a) Author of a book—maximum of 40 CEUs; (b) Author of a book chapter or journal article—maximum of 15 CEUs; (c) Editor of a book—maximum of 30 CEUs; (d) Editor of a scientific or professional journal recognized by the Board—maximum of 30 CEUs for each year of service; or (e) Reviewer of a professional book, scientific journal, or professional journal recognized by the Board— maximum of 10 CEUs for each year of service. B. When a certificate holder or licensee, after meeting the education requirements for certification or licensure at the degree level at which the licensee or certificate holder became certified or licensed, completes for credit semester hours of qualifying graduate-level or undergraduate-level course work at an accredited institution of higher education, each semester hour is considered the equivalent of 15 hours of CEUs. .06 Categories of Continuing Education — Category B. A. The Board may approve the following activities for CEUs in Category B: (1) Attendance at or presentation of informal courses, in-house colloquia, invited speaker sessions, in-house seminars, and case conferences which are specifically designed for training, teaching, or both; (2) Attendance at or presentation of informal non-publicized programs offered at professional or scientific meetings of local, state, regional, national, and international professional or scientific organizations; or (3) Individualized learning, such as receiving formal professional supervision (except administrative supervision), participation in peer case conference or peer supervision groups, and participation in distance learning programs with evidence of appropriateness, minimum mastery of materials, and completion. B. Programs that do not meet the criteria for Category A may be eligible for Category B if the programs meet the objectives of this chapter. .07 Authorization of Sponsored Continuing Education Programs. A. Authorizing Sponsored Programs. (1) The Board shall establish a committee to advise the Board on continuing education. (2) The committee shall evaluate and the Board may authorize applicants to sponsor Category A programs. (3) The committee may recommend Board approval of programs by authorized sponsors for Category A according to the objectives stated in Regulations .04A and .05 of this chapter. B. Criteria for Program Eligibility. (1) The Board shall evaluate each continuing education program submitted on the basis of the following criteria: (a) Relevance of the subject matter to increase or support the development of skill and competence in counseling or therapy; (b) Objectives of specific information or skill to be learned; (c) Program content, educational methods, materials, and facilities used, including the frequency and duration of sessions and the adequacy to implement objectives; and (d) Sponsorship and leadership of programs, including: (i) The qualifications of the sponsoring individual or organization, (ii) Program leaders if different from sponsors, and (iii) The contact person if different from those in §B(1)(d)(i) or (ii) of this regulation. (2) A program sponsored by the American Counseling Association, the National Board for Certified Counselors, the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy, the National Association of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselors, the International Certification and Reciprocity Consortium/Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse, Inc., any other national or international organization, or their regional or state affiliates is automatically approved by the Board for Category A, unless otherwise excluded. (3) A program sponsored by an accredited institution of higher education and state departments of health is automatically approved by the Board for Category A, unless otherwise excluded. (4) The following may be authorized to sponsor Category A programs upon application and approval by the Board: (a) National, state, or local professional, scientific, or mental health organizations; (b) Those individuals certified or licensed by the Board; and (c) Other agencies, institutions, or organizations providing continuing education programs in the interest of carrying out the intent of Health Occupations Article, §§17-309 and 17-3A-08, Annotated Code of Maryland, and Regulations .04 and .05 of this chapter.
  • Additional Information from the Maryland State Board Website: E. WHO ARE BOARD APPROVED SPONSORS? Programs sponsored by the American Counseling Association, the National Board for Certified Counselors, the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy, the National Association of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselors, the International Certification & Reciprocity Consortium/Alcohol & Other Drug Abuse, or their regional or state affiliates. Also, programs sponsored by accredited institutions of higher education and state department of health and mental hygiene. Additional Information - Refer to COMAR 10.58.05 for complete regulation.
     https://health.maryland.gov/bopc/pdfs/conteducationchapt5.pdf
  • Required for Renewal: Implicit Bias Training Requirement: Enacted under Article II, § 17(c) of the Maryland Constitution, The law requires all health care practitioners in Maryland to attest that they have completed an implicit bias training program on their license renewal application. At the time of renewal, you will need to have completed one of the implicit bias training courses approved by the Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities (MHHD). Please note the courses listed do not count towards your continuing education hours but will satisfy the implicit bias training requirement for licensure renewal. You will attest to the completion of the training by checking the appropriate box in your renewal application. You are only required to attest to the completion of the training once. You will not need to repeat this attestation during subsequent renewals. This is for license renewals on or after 4/1/2022. 

 

  • Required for Renewal: 30 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: Domestic violence and sexual violence training. 3 CE Hours of Ethics. 3 CE Hours in Anti-discrimination. 3 CE Hours in Supervision for licensees who supervise clinical work of students, interns, or others. See below for additional information. 
  • Permitted Online: 15 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC)
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the Massachusetts State Board Website: For Licensed Mental Health Counselors (LMHC): Massachusetts Mental Health Counselors Association (MAMHCA) National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC).
  • Additional Information from the Massachusetts State Board Website: Continuing Education Information For All Licensees: Licensees must complete Continuing Education Units (CEUs) each license cycle. The license cycle runs from January 1st of every even year (2016) to December 31st of the next odd year (2017). The Board may conduct random audits and request proof of CEUs at any time.Requirements by License Type: LMHC = 30 Credits LEP = 30 Credits LMFT = 30 Credits LRC=30 Credits LABA = 30 Credits LAABA =30 Credits. https://www.mass.gov/info-details/continuing-education-information
  • Additional Information from the Massachusetts State Board Website: Online CEUS Licensees may obtain up to 50% of their required CEUs online or via home study. The Board may grant exceptions to this policy if a licensee can demonstrate extenuating circumstances. Requests must accompany documentation to support the extenuating circumstance. Requests should be made PRIOR to the completion of the CEUS.  
  • Additional Information from the Massachusetts State Board Website: Mandated Training In Domestic And Sexual Violence: To renew your license, you must complete a Board-approved training in domestic and sexual violence. If you cannot attest that you have completed the training, your license will not be renewed, even if you complete and submit the renewal. A list of approved trainings, including a free online training, is available here. You only need to complete an approved training once and not again before each renewal. You will receive credit for 2 CEs for the licensing cycle in which you take the training. https://www.mass.gov/service-details/domestic-and-sexual-violence-integration-initiatives
  • Additional Information from the Massachusetts State Board Website: Continuing Education Requirements: Policy No. 2020-01 The Board of Registration of Allied Mental Health and Human Services Professionals ("Board") voted at its meeting on October 16, 2020 to adopt the following Policy and at its meeting on November 19, 2021 to amend the Policy. The Board adopts Policy guidelines to reflect standards of professional practice and uses them in formulating decisions that relate to the Board’s licensees. By issuing this Policy No. 2020-01, the Board hereby rescinds the following former Policies: Use of Home Study and On-Line Programs to meet the Continuing Education Requirements: Policy No.: 07-02; Policy on Board Recognized Entities Designated to Approve Sponsors of Continuing Education Courses: Policy No. 08-01; and Policy on Proration of Continuing Education Requirements: Policy No. 09-01. Purpose: The purpose of this policy statement is to offer guidance to Licensees regarding the Continuing Education Requirements set forth in 262 Code Mass. Regs. (CMR) 7.03(1). Policy: Section I: Topics for Continuing Education The Board encourages licensees to obtain some contact hours in the following areas as part of the “30 contact hours of continuing education activities” required in each renewal cycle by 262 CMR 7.03(1): Three (3) contact hours of Ethics; Three (3) contact hours of Anti-Discrimination; and Three (3) contact hours of Supervision training for Licensees who supervise clinical work of students, interns, or others.  
     https://www.mass.gov/policy-advisory/board-policies-and-guidelines-allied-mental-health#continuing-education-requirements-policy-no-2020-01

 

 

  • Required for Renewal: Michigan does not have any CE requirements for renewal. See below for additional information. 
  • Special Course Requirements: Implicit Bias Training. Human Trafficking. See below for additional information. 
  • Permitted Online: All CE May Be Earned Online. 
  • Acceptable CE: Michigan does not pre-approve CE courses or providers nor does Michigan endorse or acknowledge certification organizations for CE course approval. My CE Solution meets the acceptable CE criteria as stated in the requirements set forth in the State rules.    
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the Michigan State Board Website: Implicit Bias Training – Beginning June 1, 2022, individuals seeking licensure must have completed at least 2 hours of implicit bias training within the five years immediately preceding issuance of the license.
  • Additional Information from the Michigan State Board Website: Human Trafficking – Individuals seeking licensure must have completed training in identifying victims of human trafficking that meets the standards in Administrative Rule 338.1771 prior to being issued a license. The training must only be completed one time. 
  • Additional Information from the Michigan State Board Website: Do I need to complete continuing education? The law for Counseling does not require continuing education for renewal. A licensee is responsible for maintaining their competence in the profession but a licensee does not have to demonstrate the ways he or she is doing that for renewal. There have been changes to the Public Health Code and Administrative Rules that require licensees and individuals seeking licensure to complete human trafficking training. When does this take effect? Beginning with the June 2019 renewal cycle, and all renewal cycles thereafter, licensees must have completed training in identifying victims of human trafficking that meet the standards established in Administrative Rule 338.1751a. Beginning March 17, 2021, individuals seeking licensure must have completed human trafficking training prior to obtaining a license as a Licensed Professional Counselor or Limited Licensed Professional Counselor. Licensees, or individuals seeking licensure, must complete training in identifying victims of human trafficking only one time. The department may select and audit a sample of individuals and request documentation of proof of completion of training. https://www.michigan.gov/-/media/Project/Websites/lara/bpl/Counseling/Boards-and-FAQs/Counselors-FAQs.pdf?rev=e3afd669033542b2bff6f24fa07ee075
  • Additional Information from the Michigan State Board Website: What is Implicit Bias Training? A: The requirement for Implicit Bias Training was added to the Public Health Code – General Rules in 2021 per Executive Directive 2020-07. The rule was subsequently updated in March 2023. The rule defines implicit bias as “an attitude or internalized stereotype that affects an individual’s perception, action, or decision making in an unconscious manner and often contributes to unequal treatment of people based on race, ethnicity, nationality, gender, gender identity, sexual orientation, religion, socioeconomic status, age, disability, or other characteristic. (Rule 338.7001(c) ) Training on Implicit Bias is required as a condition for initial licensure or registration as well as license or registration renewal. Unlike the human trafficking training requirement, this is not a “one time” training. Implicit Bias training is required every time you renew your license. Michigan doe not have any CE requirements for renewal. See below for additional information. https://www.michigan.gov//media/Project/Websites/lara/bpl/Shared-Files/Implicit-Bias-Training-FAQs.pdf
  • Additional Information from the Michigan State Board Website: Implicit Bias Training FAQ When did this requirement begin?  The requirement took effect on June 1, 2022, which was one year after the promulgation of the rule. If the 90-day renewal window for your license or registration spanned across June 1, 2022, the training is not required if you renewed prior to June 1, 2022. However, if you choose to renew on or after June 1, 2022, the training was required. Also, the training is required for all new applications for licensure or registration received on or after June 1, 2022. How many hours of training do I need? New Applicants for licensure or registration are required to have completed 2 hours of implicit bias training within the 5 years immediately preceding issuance of the license or registration. Renewing licensees and registrants are required to complete 1 hour of implicit bias training for each year of their license or registration cycle. However, for initial renewal after June 1, 2021, licensees will only need to have 1 hour for each year since the rule’s promulgation date of June 1, 2021. For example, if you are scheduled to renew your license in August of 2022, you would only be required to have 1 hour of training, even if the length of your license was 3 years. If permitted by the Public Health Code and rules for your profession, this training may be used to satisfy other training or continuing education requirements. Subsequent renewals will require 1 hour of implicit bias training for each year of the license or registration cycle. https://www.michigan.gov/-/media/Project/Websites/lara/bpl/Shared-Files/Implicit-Bias-Training-FAQs.pdf

 

  • Required for Renewal: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal. See below for additional information. 
  • Special Course Requirements: July 1, 2023, licensees are required 4 CE Hours in Cultural Responsiveness Each Renewal.
  • Permitted Online: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal. As of April 15, 2023 All CE may be obtained online.  
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC)
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs.  
  • Additional Information from the Minnesota State Board Website: First Four Years of Licensure: During the first four years of licensure, licensees must provide evidence satisfactory to the Board of completion of 60 graduate-level semester credits and/or 40 continuing education units. For example, if a licensee was issued a license with a graduate degree composed of 48 graduate-level credits, that licensee must complete 12 additional graduate-level semester credits by the end of the first four years of licensure. By completing 3 to 12 additional graduate-level semester credits, that licensee ALSO has met the 40 continuing education units requirement; Every semester credit counts as 15 continuing education hours; every quarter credit counts as 10 continuing education hours. If you were licensed based on a graduate degree with 60+ semester credits, you will ONLY be required to present evidence satisfactory to the Board of completion of 40 continuing education hours by the end of the first four years of licensure. Note: Each individual's requirements for graduate-level credit will be determined by the Board at the time of initial licensure. Licensees will receive continuing education information when their initial license is issued and mailed. 
  • Additional Information from the Minnesota State Board Website: After Fourth Renewal Period: After the fourth renewal period, all licensees report CE every two years and must present evidence satisfactory to the Board of completion of 40 continuing education hours at the time of license renewal. Keep all documentation of completed CE hours for five years in the event you are selected in a random CE audit. The Board does not require you to provide continuing education records at the time of each renewal period. Note: Do not send in certificates of completion for continuing education hours. Each licensee is responsible for keeping their continuing education records in the event they are selected in a random CE audit. The Board is not responsible for keeping CE documents unless they are part of an audit. 
  • Additional Information from the Minnesota State Board Website: 150.2540 CRITERIA FOR APPROVAL OF CONTINUING EDUCATION ACTIVITIES. Continuing education activities may be approved for all attendees when submitted by the sponsor as prescribed in part 2150.2550, or activities may be automatically approved as prescribed in part 2150.2570. The board must consider the following factors in determining whether an activity is approved: A. the activity's relevance to the practices of professional counseling; B. the activity's relevance to the development and maintenance of professional skills of professional counselors; C. relation of the activity's proposed topics to the body of professional counseling knowledge; D. whether the activity is structured on sound educational principles and fits into one of the following categories: (1) structured educational activities with an instructor as a part of conventions, workshops, seminars, lectures, interactive or other online media, and graduate and postgraduate courses from regionally accredited institutions; or (2) home study activities related to professional counseling that have an independently graded test component; E. whether the activity is at least one hour in length. "One hour" means at least 50 minutes spent as a student in direct participation in a structured educational format. Time for home study activities is based on the developer's research on average time to complete; or §F. whether the instructors or developers of the activity are qualified by practical or academic experience to teach, lecture, make presentations, or develop activities. Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.52; 214.12 History: 29 SR 1605; 47 SR 960 Published Electronically: July 12, 2023 https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/2150.2540/
  • Additional Information from the Minnesota State Board Website: 2150.2570 AUTOMATIC APPROVAL. Any activity approved for continuing education credit for professional counselors by the American Counseling Association (ACA), Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Education Programs (CACREP), American Association of State Counseling Boards (AASCB), the National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC), or other national organization as determined by the board, shall automatically be approved for continuing education credit without further application by the sponsor or licensee. Statutory Authority: MS s 148B.52 History: 29 SR 1605 Published Electronically: July 25, 2007 https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/2150.2570/

 

  • Required for Renewal: 24 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 6 CE Hours Each Renewal of Professional Ethics or Legal Issues in the Delivery of Counseling Services. 2 CE Hours of Telemental Health Counseling Each Renewal if you are listed as a Distance Professional Services provider. The Jurisprudence Exam is required with each renewal. See below for additional information. 
  • Permitted Online: 24 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC)
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the Mississippi State Board Website: Continuing Education Hours for Renewal- 24 CE hours are needed for renewal. 6 must involve topics in professional ethics or legal issues in the delivery of counseling services. Board Qualified Supervisor (BQS) renewal coincides with LPC renewal. A Qualified Supervisor will need to complete a minimum of one (1) hour of supervision continuing education per year; a minimum of two (2) hours per renewal period. Hours to be reported must be for the time period since your last renewal. i.e. 2018 renewals report continuing education hours for the period July 1, 2016 - June 30, 2018. https://www.lpc.ms.gov/secure/ceh.asp
  • Additional Information from the Mississippi State Board Website: Approved Continuing Education Criteria Continuing Education approved by the following entities: American Counseling Association Search For ACA Continuing Education American Mental Health Counselors Association Search for AMCHA Continuing Education Mississippi Counseling Association Search for MCA Continuing Education Mississippi Licensed Professional Counselor Association Search for MLPCA Continuing Education American Association of Marriage and Family Therapy Search for AAMFT Continuing Education The National Board of Certified Counselors Search for an NBCC Approved Continuing Education Provider https://www.lpc.ms.gov/secure/ceh.asp
  • Additional Information from the Mississippi State Board Website: 6 CEH in professional ethics or legal issues in the delivery of counseling services. 2 CEH in Telemental Health counseling if you are listed as a Distance Professional Services.
  • Additional Information from the Mississippi State Board Website: The no fail Mississippi Jurisprudence exam is available from CCE Academy at academy.cce-global.org Select the LPC examination unless you are an LPC-S, then select the LPC-S examination. LPC will receive three (3) hours of ethics for Mississippi renewal. LPC-S will receive two (2) hours of ethics and one (1) hour of supervision for your Mississippi renewal. Submit the certificate of completion of the Mississippi Jurisprudence exam by clicking the CEH Reporting Tab in your Profile and selecting the Jurisprudence Exam for “activity type.” The appropriate number of ethics and supervision contact hours will be calculated. The “no fail” Mississippi Jurisprudence exam is designed with a pool of questions in which you must answer a minimum of thirty (thirty-five if you are an LPC-S) correctly. You cannot fail this exam. You will keep getting questions until you get the designated number correct.
  • Additional Information from the Mississippi State Board Website: C. Approved Continuing Education Criteria 1. CEH are meant to encourage personal and professional development throughout the LPC’s career. For this reason, a wide range of options are offered to accommodate the diversity of counselors’ training, experience, and geographic locations. 2. A Licensee may obtain the CEH through one or more of the options listed below. Home Study. The ACA Newsletter Counseling Today, the AMHCA Newsletter, The Advocate, video presentations and approved teleconferences are all approved home study options. Each option must carry a provider number from either NBCC, or other Board approved mental health organizations. Each activity will specify the number of CEH that will be granted upon completion. Verification consists of a certificate issued by NBCC, or certificates from other professional mental health organizations that will be reviewed by the Board. https://www.lpc.ms.gov/secure/pdf/Part_2201_Rules_and_Regulations.pdf

 

 

  • Required for Renewal: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 2 CE Hours Each Renewal (Formal Hours) Suicide Assessment, Referral, Treatment, and Management Training
  • Permitted Online: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC)
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the Missouri State Board Website: 20 FORMAL HOURS ARE: (50 minutes equals one clock hour of continuing education) All CE hours must be relevant and relate to Professional Counseling Statute 337.500 Attending workshops, seminars, or CE courses can be in person or on-line (keep the certificate). https://pr.mo.gov/boards/counselors/continuingeducationreminder.pdf
  • Additional Information from the Missouri State Board Website: Missouri Committee for Professional Counselors CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS SUMMARY Section 337.510.5 CE REQUIREMENTS Per biennial cycle each LPC MUST complete 40 hours of continuing education (CE)

before the license expires to be able to renew the license. For new licenses issued prior to July 1 of an even year are required to obtain 10 hours of formal and 10 hours of self-study for the first renewal cycle. 

  • Additional Information from the Missouri State Board Website: 20 CE Hours Each Renewal are required to be Formal Hours. 20 CE Hours Each Renewal are permitted to be Informal Hours or Self-Study. My CE Solution courses are considered Formal Hours. 

  • Required for Renewal: 20 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 2 CE Hours of Suicide Prevention Each Renewal
  • Permitted Online: 20 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: Montana does not pre-approve CE courses or providers nor does Montana endorse or acknowledge certification organizations for CE course approval. My CE Solution meets the acceptable CE criteria as stated in the requirements set forth in the State rules.   
  • Additional Information from the Montana State Board Website: 24.219.435 CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS – LCSW, LMSW, LBSW, LCPC, LMFT, LAC, and CBHPSS (1) Licensees are required to obtain 20 hours of continuing education (CE) annually, prior to renewal. (2) Licensees completing more than 20 hours of CE may carry forward those hours into the next year. The number of hours carried forward shall not exceed 20 hours. (3) Licensees holding more than one type of license must obtain the requisite 20 hours of CE for each license. (4) Of the 20 hours: (a) a minimum of two hours must relate to suicide prevention; and (b) a maximum ten hours may be for: (i) first-time preparation of a new course, in-service training workshop, or seminar which meets the criteria in (6); or (ii) preparation time by the author or authors of a paper which meets the criteria in (6) that is published for the first time in a recognized professional journal, or given for the first time at a statewide or national professional meeting. (5) Continuing education requirements will not apply until after the licensee's first renewal. (6) Licensees are responsible for selecting quality programs that focus on protecting the health, safety, and welfare of the public and contribute to licensees' professional knowledge and competence. Acceptable CE activities: (a) directly relate to the licensee's scope of practice as defined in board statute or rule; (b) review existing concepts and techniques; (c) convey information beyond the basic professional education; (d) update knowledge on the practice and advances in the profession; or (e) reinforce professional conduct or ethical obligations of the licensee. (7) The department may randomly audit up to 50 percent of renewed licensees. (8) Licensees must maintain documentation of completed CE for three years and provide documentation to the board upon request. Documentation must include the following information: (a) licensee name; (b) course title and description of content; (c) presenter or sponsor; (d) course date(s); and (e) number of CE hours earned. (9) Licensees found to be in noncompliance with CE requirements may be subject to administrative suspension. Licensees may not apply CE hours used to complete delinquent CE requirements for the next education reporting period. (10) Any CE hours required by disciplinary order do not apply toward the 20 hours that are required annually under this rule. (11) A licensee may request an exemption from CE requirements due to hardship. Requests will be considered by the board.
  • Additional Information from the Montana State Board Website: As of March 30th, 2019, the board no longer preapproves continuing education (CE) courses or sponsors. Licensees are responsible for taking courses that directly relate to their scopes of practice, as defined in their appropriate statute.

  • Required for Renewal: 32 CE Hours Each Renewal 
  • Special Course Requirements: 4 CE Hours of Ethics Each Renewal. LIMHPs are required to complete 6 CE Hours in The Diagnosis and Treatment of Major Mental Disorders. 
  • Permitted Online: 32 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: Nebraska does not pre-approve CE courses or providers nor does Nebraska endorse or acknowledge certification organizations for CE course approval. My CE Solution meets the acceptable CE criteria as stated in the requirements set forth in the State rules.   
  • Additional Information from the Nebraska State Board Website: Types of credentials issued by Nebraska: Provisionally Licensed Mental Health Practitioner (PLMHP) is a person who needs to obtain 3,000 hours of supervised experience in mental health practice in Nebraska. Provisional Certification as a Master Social Worker (PCMSW) is a person who needs to obtain 3,000 hours of supervised experience in social work in Nebraska. Licensed Independent Mental Health Practitioner includes diagnosis and treatment of major mental illness/disorders, without supervision or consultation. Licensed Mental Health Practitioner does NOT include: Diagnosing major mental illness or disorder except in consultation with a licensed independent mental health practitioner, qualified physician or licensed clinical psychologist. Certification Types (title protected): Certified Professional Counselor, Certified Marriage and Family Therapist, Certified Master Social Worker,  Certified Social Worker (no exam required), Marriage and Family Therapists and Master Social Workers require specific supervision requirements. See the regulations for complete requirements CMSW or CSW: Anyone may provide “social work" activities/services. Social work activities do not require certification (or licensure); however, you must be certified in Nebraska in order to represent yourself as a Social Worker in Nebraska. Social work is the professional application of social work values, knowledge, principles, and methods in all areas of social work practice. CSW's cannot practice privately, independently, or autonomously and cannot provide mental health services. *Adding a certification to your license allows you to use a different title - it does not offer a different scope of practice/activity.
  • Additional Information from the Nebraska State Board Website: Expiration Dates and Continuing Education: The expiration date is September 1 of even-numbered years. CE: 32 clock hours All licensees and certificate holders must complete at least 4 hours of CE in ethics each renewal period. LIMHPs must complete at least 6 hours of CE relating to diagnosis and treatment of major mental disorders each renewal period. Nebraska does not review or approve CE offerings.
  • Required for Renewal: 012.03 TYPES OF ACCEPTABLE CONTINUING EDUCATION AND HOUR DETERMINATIONS. The following provides the types of continuing education that is considered acceptable for renewal and reinstatement and the hour determinations: (A) Completing academic credit during the renewal period. Academic credit is determined as follows: (i) 1 academic semester credit equals 15 continuing education credit hours and 1 credit audited equals 8 hours of continuing education. (ii) 1 academic quarter credit equals 10 continuing education credit hours and 1 credit audited equals 5 hours of continuing education. (iii) 1 academic trimester credit equals 14 continuing education credit hours and 1 credit audited equals 7 hours of continuing education. (B) Hours for teaching an academic course or supervising a practicum or internship is determined the same as 172 NAC 012.03(A) above. (C) 6 hours per renewal period can be obtained for supervising a provisional licensee or provisional certificate holder. (D) Hours for completing home study or video programs, including those transmitted through electronic means, are determined by the provider of the program. (E) Authoring a peer reviewed publication equals 16 hours. (F) 60 minutes equals 1 continuing education hour when attending or participating workshops, lectures, or interactive webinars. 

 

  • Required for Renewal: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 6 CE hours of Ethics Each Renewal. 4 CE Hours of Suicide Prevention Each Renewal. 4 CE Hours of Cultural Competency and Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Each Renewal. 
  • Permitted Online: 20 CE Hours Each Renewal. 
  • Acceptable CE: Nevada requires each provider and/or course to be approved by the Board. Nevada does not accept or endorse CE courses or providers certified from national approval organizations. 
  • Additional Information from the Nevada Board Website: As of September 28, 2022, all licensees are required at least four (4) hours relating to cultural competency and diversity, equity and inclusion each renewal. 
  • Additional Information from the Nevada State Board Website: Pursuant to NAC 641A.131, to maintain licensure, a Marriage and Family Therapist or a Clinical Professional Counselor must complete 40 hours of continuing education during the biennial license, at least 6 hours of which must be on ethics issues specifically pertaining to he field of practice of the marriage and family therapy or the clinical professional counseling and 4 hours must specifically pertain to suicide prevention. If the marriage and family therapist or clinical professional counselor is an approved supervisor, at least 2 hours of the requirements of this subsection must be on issues specifically pertaining to supervising in the field of practice of the approved supervisor and must include education in at least one of the following: An overview of a supervision model; Areas of focus for a supervisor and the roles of a supervisor; The process of supervising and the practical application of that process; Ethical dilemmas involved in supervising; Methods of effectively addressing and preventing ethical dilemmas in supervising; or An overview of the supervision standards of the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy, the National Board for Certified Counselors or the Association for Counselor Education and Supervision, or the provisions of this chapter and chapter 641A of NRS relating to the practice of marriage and family therapy or the practice of clinical professional counseling, as applicable. A marriage and family therapist or clinical professional counselor shall not use more that 20 hours of “distance education” to satisfy the requirements. “distance education” means education, training, courses or programs that are delivered to a student who is geographically separate from the instructor in an asynchronous format. NOTE: Of the 40 required CEUs, one-half must be taken in a live seminar or webinar where it is possible to interact with the presenter/participants. The balance of the CEUs may be online courses. 

 

  • Required for Renewal: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal. 30 CE Hours are required to be Category A. No more than 10 CE Hours are permitted to be Category B. See below for additional information. 
  • Special Course Requirements: 6 CE Hours of Ethics Each Renewal. 3 CE Hours of Suicide Prevention Each Renewal. The special course requirements are required to be Category A. 
  • Permitted Online: 20 CE Hours of Category A Home Study Courses. My CE Solution meets the standards of Category A home Study Courses. 
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC) 
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs.  
  • Additional Information from the New Hampshire State Board Website: PART Mhp 402 CONTINUING EDUCATION Mhp 402.01 Continuing Education Requirements. (a) Each licensee shall complete 40 approved continuing education hours (CEs) every 2 years. (b) At least 30 of the 40 CEs shall be completed from Category A as described in Mhp 402.02(a)(d). (c) At least 6 of the 40 CEs shall be completed in ethics and shall be from Category A. (d) At least 3 of the 40 CEs shall be completed in suicide prevention, in accordance with RSA 330-A:10, XIV and shall be from Category A. (e) No more than 10 CEs shall be from Category B as described in Mhp 402.02(e). (f) When requested to do so by the board, the licensee shall be responsible for proving attendance at or participation in any continuing education hours submitted for license renewal. (g) Licensed members of the board and licensed members of the professional conduct investigation (PCI) committee shall receive 6 CEs per year to meet Mhp 402.01(c). Source. (See Revision Note at chapter heading for Psy 100) #5675, eff 7-22-93; EXPIRED: 7-22-99 New. #7625, eff 1-10-02, EXPIRED: 1-10-10 New. #9854, eff 1-25-11 (formerly Mhp 403.01); ss by #10762, eff 1-22-15; and by #11023, eff 1-22-16; and by #12900, eff 10-22-19; ss by #13311, eff 12-18-21 Mhp 402.02 Approved Continuing Education. https://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rules/state_agencies/mhp.html
  • Additional Information from the New Hampshire State Board Website: Beginning on February 22, 2023, licenses issued will expire two years from the date of issuance, on the last day of the month in the month the license was issued. Reference: RSA 310-A:1-h https://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rules/state_agencies/mhp.html
  • Additional Information from the New Hampshire State Board Website:  Mhp 402.02 Approved Continuing Education. (a) Category A CEs may be earned by: (1) Participation in seminars, workshops, or live, interactive webinars; (2) Participation in home study courses, up to a maximum of 20 CEs; (3) Preparation of a seminar, workshop, or live, interactive webinar which shall count as 10 CEs; or (4) Completion of graduate level coursework; (5) Publication of a peer reviewed professional book which shall count as 10 CEs; and (6) Publication of an article in a peer reviewed professional journal which shall count as 6 CEs per year. (b) Category A seminars, workshops, on-line and home study or other CEs shall be approved by one of the following groups: (1) American Psychological Association; (2) National Association of Social Workers; (3) National Board for Certified Counselors; (4) American Association for Marriage and Family therapy; (5) American Counseling Association; (6) American Medical Association; (7) American Mental Health Counselors Association; or (8) Association of Social Work Boards. (c) Category A graduate academic coursework shall include graduate courses from a department of psychology, social work, counseling, marriage and family therapy, or any other department in the behavioral sciences at a regionally accredited school, college or university or theological school. Each semester hour of course credit shall count as equivalent to 6 CEs. Quarter hours shall equate to 4 CEs. (d) Category A CEs may be obtained by licensees for the teaching of such courses in (c), as follows: (1) Preparation of a syllabus and teaching of a new course shall count as equivalent to 10 CEs; and(2) Thorough updating of a course, including preparation of a new syllabus, review of the literature, preparation of reading lists and course assignments shall count as equivalent to 5 CEs. (e) Category B credits may be earned through: (1) Participation in mental health seminars or workshops not meeting the requirements of Category A; (2) Publication of professional books; and (3) Publication of articles in professional journals not to exceed 5 hours per year. Source. (See Revision Note at chapter heading for Psy 100) #5675, eff 7-22-93; EXPIRED: 7-22-99 New. #7625, eff 1-10-02, EXPIRED: 1-10-10 New. #9854, eff 1-25-11 (formerly Mhp 403.02); ss by #10762, eff 1-22-15; ss by #13311, eff 12-18-21  

  • Required for Renewal: 40 CE Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 1 CE Hour concerning Prescription Opioid Drugs, including the risks and signs of opioid abuse, addiction, and diversion each renewal. 3 CE Hours of Social and Cultural Competency Each Renewal.  
  • Permitted Online: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counseling (NBCC) 
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the New Jersey State Board Website: 13:34-15.2 CONTACT-HOUR REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSED PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS a) A licensed professional counselor shall complete at least five of the 40 contact hours required by N.J.A.C. 13:34-15.1 in ethical and legal standards in the counseling profession regardless of the number of contact hours accrued during the biennial period. b) A licensee shall complete at least three of the 40 contact hours of continuing education as required by N.J.A.C. 13:34-15.1 in the subject area of social and cultural competence. For the purposes of this subsection, social and cultural competence includes, but is not limited to, an understanding of the cultural context of relationships; issues and trends in a diverse society related to such factors as culture, ethnicity, nationality, age, gender, sexual orientation, mental and physical characteristics, education, family values, religious and spiritual values, socioeconomic status; and unique characteristics of individuals, couples, families, ethnic groups and communities including any of the following: 1) Multicultural and pluralistic trends, including characteristics and concerns between and within diverse groups nationally and internationally; 2) Attitudes, beliefs, understandings, and acculturative experiences, including specific experiential learning activities; 3) Individual, couple, family, group, and community strategies for working with diverse populations and ethnic groups; 4) Counselors' roles in social justice, advocacy and conflict resolution, cultural self-awareness, the nature of biases, prejudices, process of intentional and unintentional oppression and discrimination, and other culturally supported behaviors that are detrimental to the growth of the human spirit, mind, or body; 5) Theories of multicultural counseling, theories of identity development and multicultural competencies; and 6) Ethical and legal considerations relating to issues of diversity. c) Commencing with the biennial renewal period beginning on December 1, 2018, at least one of the 40 contact hours of continuing education shall, pursuant to P.L. 2017, c. 341, be in educational programs or topics concerning prescription opioid drugs, including the risks and signs of opioid abuse, addiction, and diversion. This one credit shall not be eligible for carryover as described in (e) below. d) The continuing education contact hours required by the NBCC to maintain the specialty certification, referred to in N.J.A.C. 13:34-14.1, may be used to satisfy the Committee's continuing education requirements for the licensed professional counselor set forth in this subchapter. e) If the licensed professional counselor earns more than 40 contact hours during a biennial period, the professional counselor may carry a maximum of 10 contact hours into the next succeeding biennial period.
  • Additional Information from the New Jersey State Board Website: 45:8B-45. Renewal of license, continuing education Each applicant shall present satisfactory evidence when seeking license renewal that in the period since the license was issued or last renewed any continuing education requirements have been completed as specified by the committee. L.1993,c.340,s.12; per s.20 of 1993, c.340, act to expire if certain contingency met. 45:8B-45.1. Continuing education for certain professional counselors. The Professional Counselor Examiners Committee shall require that the number of credits of continuing education required of each person licensed by the board as a condition of renewal include at least one credit of educational programs or topics concerning prescription opioid drugs, including the risks and signs of opioid abuse, addiction, and diversion. L.2017, c.341, s.11. https://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/Statutes/professional-counselor-examiners-committee-law.pdf
  • Additional Information from the New Jersey State Board Website: 13:34-15.4 APPROVAL OF COURSES OR PROGRAMS a) The following are acceptable sources of continuing education courses, programs and articles, as long as the courses, programs or articles fall within the content areas set forth in (c) or (d) below or are directly related to professional counseling: 1) Courses and programs approved by the National Board for Certified Counselors; the American Counseling Association; the American Psychological Association; the American Psychiatric Association; the National Association of Social Workers; the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy; the Commission on Rehabilitation Counselors Certification; the American Ortho-psychiatric Association; the American Medical Association; the American Nursing Association; the National Association of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors; the United States Psychiatric Rehabilitation Association; and the member boards of the International Certification and Reciprocity Consortium/Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse, Inc. https://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/regulations/Chapter-34-Subchapters-10-31-Professional-Counselors.pdf

  • Required for Renewal: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 12 CE Hours of Ethics Each Renewal
  • Permitted Online: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: New Mexico does not pre-approve CE courses or providers nor does New Mexico endorse or acknowledge certification organizations for CE course approval. My CE Solution meets the acceptable CE criteria as stated in the requirements set forth in the State rules.
  • Additional Information from the New Mexico State Board Website: Per the New Mexico Counseling & Therapy Practice Board, September 29, 2022: To renew a license, New Mexico law requires that all registered and licensed professionals submit proof that they have completed forty (40) hours of continuing education within the current two-year renewal period beginning October 1st through September 30th. All licensees must have twelve (12) hours of ethics courses included within the 40-hour continuing education requirement.  
  • Additional Information from the New Mexico State Board Website: Per the New Mexico Counseling & Therapy Practice Board, December 12, 2022: There are no longer requirements on how to get CEUs, they can be obtained however therapists prefer. 

  • Required for Renewal: 36 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: See Below.
  • Permitted Online: 36 CE Hours Each Renewal 
  • Acceptable CE: New York only allows licensees to earn CE from State Board approved providers. My CE Solution is NOT approved by the New York State Board to offer CE. 
  • Additional Information from the New York State Board Website: Effective January 1, 2017, New York State Education Law requires each licensed mental health counselor (LMHC) to complete 36 hours of acceptable formal continuing education during each three-year registration period. However, there is a phase-in period for this requirement for licensees whose next registration period starts during the first three years after January 1, 2017. These licensees will have to complete one hour of acceptable formal continuing education for each month in their registration period after January 1, 2017. Please refer to the chart below for the continuing education hours required during this initial phase-in period. The required continuing education may be completed anytime during the current registration period. Thus, licensed mental health counselors have the flexibility to select and schedule the continuing education activities that are most appropriate for their professional practice. 
  • Additional Information from the New York State Board Website: To be acceptable the courses must be administered: by a New York State Education Department-approved provider; and in an approved subject area (see Question 25 for a listing of approved subject areas). Also, continuing education hours may be earned by: Preparing and teaching a course offered by a Department-approved provider of mental health counseling continuing education, provided that the course being taught has not been presented on more than one occasion without presenting new or revised material; preparing and teaching a course, acceptable to the Department, at a higher education institution or a psychotherapy institute, as defined in section 79-9.8(a)(2) and (3) of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education, relating to the practice of licensed mental health counseling, provided that the course has not been taught by the licensee on more than one occasion without presenting new or revised material; making a technical presentation at a professional conference sponsored by an organization that is a Department-approved provider of licensed mental health counseling continuing education, provided that the presentation has not been offered on more than one occasion without presenting new or revised material; completing a self-study program, offered by a Department-approved provider, provided that self-study hours do not comprise more than twelve hours in any three-year registration period or one-third of the hours for a registration period other than three years; authoring a first-time article in the practice of mental health counseling published in a peer-reviewed journal or a chapter in a published book; and authoring a first-time book in the practice of licensed mental health counseling.

  • Required for Renewal: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal 
  • Special Course Requirements: 3 CE Hours Each Renewal. 5 CE Hours of the State Jurisprudence Exam Each Renewal. 
  • Permitted Online: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal 
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC)
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs.
  • Additional Information from the North Carolina State Board Website: Continuing Education Requirements (Rule .0603) Contact Hours (Rules .0603(b and i)) Forty (40) contact hours of continuing counselor education is required for renewal. In the case of newly issued licenses in which the initial renewal period is less than two full years, thirty (30) contact hours is required. A minimum of three (3) contact hours of ethics shall be required. The required Jurisprudence Exam counts for five (5) contact hours in ethics. Credits must be earned between July 1st and the second June 30th unless you are a new licensee. New license renewal period is date of issue to the second June 30th. Contact hours means the number of actual clock hours spent in direct participation in a structured education format as a learner. One Continuing Education Unit (CEU) = 10 contact hours One Semester hour of credit = 15 contact hours One Quarter hour of credit = 10 contact hours LCMHC Supervisors shall provide additional documentation of a minimum of ten (10) contact hours of continuing education training related to professional knowledge and competency in the field of clinical supervision. These contact hours are in addition to the forty (40) contact hours already required for a total of fifty (50). Failure to submit a complete renewal packet in a timely manner will result in additional hours of continuing education.
  • Additional Information from the North Carolina State Board Website: Approved Providers (Rules .0603(c and d)) Continuing education training provided by one of the following national organizations, their affiliates or by a vendor approved by one of the following organizations shall be approved: American Counseling Association (counseling.org); American Association of State Counseling Boards (aascb.org); National Board for Certified Counselors (nbcc.org); and Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor Certification (crccertification.com).

  • Required for Renewal: LPC: 30 CE Hours Each Renewal. LPCC: 30 CE Hours Each Renewal AND  Hours of Clinical Professional Development Each renewal. No more than 15 CE Hours Permitted From One Source. 
  • Special Course Requirements: 3 CE Hours of Ethics Each Renewal for BOTH LPC and LPCC licensees. 
  • Permitted Online: Half of Required CE is Permitted to be Earned Online. 
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC) 
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the North Dakota State Board Website: CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS In order to keep licensed professional counselors current and effective in their practice, they are required to complete approved continuing education for licensed renewal. An LPC (Licensed Professional Counselor) may renew his/her license every two years by documenting the completion of 30 continuing education hours (CEH) for the two-year period. One CEH is based upon a 50-minute hour. Notification of renewals will be made in the month prior to the anniversary date of each license. All Continuing Education will be listed on page two of the renewal application. Please keep all records and documentation for all Continuing Ed listed in the event of an audit. An LPCC (Licensed Professional Clinical Counselor) must be renewed every two years on the expiration date of the individual's LPC license. In addition to the 30 CEH’s required for renewal of the LPC, 10 additional hours of clinical professional development are required. These contact hours must be related to the person's intent to practice and must be clinical in content. Documentation of these clinical CEH’s will be made in the same matter as the LPC renewal application. NOTE: all renewals require 3 continuing education hours in ethics. http://www.ndbce.org/education.shtml
  • Additional Information from the North Dakota State Board Website: SUGGESTED CONTINUING EDUCATION EXPERIENCES AND SPONSORS (INCLUDES BUT NOT LIMITED TO): American Counseling Association (ACA), North Dakota Counseling Association (NDCA) (including regional meetings of NDCA divisions), Association of Counseling and Divisions in Other States, American Psychological Association (and regional and state psychological associations), North Dakota Family Based Services Association, National and State Educational Associations (and teacher center in-service related to school counseling), Graduate Programs in Counseling Continuing Education Programs in Counseling. Events Offered or Approved By The National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC) CE events are reviewed for counseling related content and appropriate presenter credentials. The criteria for Board approval is that the educational event has formal, institutional sponsorship and is presented by professionals or educators in counseling and human service fields.
     http://www.ndbce.org/preapproved.shtml
  • Additional Information from the North Dakota State Board Website: NORTH DAKOTA BOARD OF COUNSELOR EXAMINERS Continuing Education Guidelines North Dakota Licensed Professional Counselors are required to provide documentation and verification of thirty (30) hours of continuing education every two years. Licensed Professional Clinical Counselors must document an additional ten (10) clinical education hours. Counselors must show a minimum of three (3) hours of CE with primary focus on ethics. During an audit the submission of each continuing education event must include: Presenter credentials The certificate of participation Clock hours requested Content description The Board requires that no more than fifteen (15) CEH’s be submitted from any one source, event or topic during a two-year licensure period. For instance, coursework would be a topic, and a source, and would offer 15 hours of CE. The annual NDCA MidWinter Conference, which offers a wide variety of topics and presenters, is an exception to this restriction. Further, if in-service training can be proven to reflect various topics and presenters, more than fifteen (15) CEH’s may be credited. The Board requires half of the continuing education hours be face to face (physical) attendance. Webinars and other online methods are not considered face to face unless the Webinar is live interaction that allows for questions and dialog and offers immediate interaction and engaged activity.

  • Required for Renewal: 30 CE Hours Each Renewal. 
  • Special Course Requirements: 3 CE Hours of Ethics Each Renewal
  • Permitted Online: 30 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC) 
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the Ohio State Board Website: Continuing Education Requirements Thirty Clock Hours of continuing education are required for all license renewals every two years from the date of licensure. Three of the thirty hours must cover Ethics. 
  • Additional Information from the Ohio State Board Website: Counselors may complete programs approved by the OH CSWMFT Board, and *NASW Ohio Chapter (approval number 33XXXX). Other State chapters of NASW and NASW National (approval number 88XXXX) must be submitted for post program approval. NBCC is also acceptable for Ohio counselor renewal (NBCC programs approved for less than 1 full hour will not be accepted).      
  • Additional Information from the Ohio State Board Website: Distance Learning means a formal education process, in which instruction occurs when the students and instructor(s) are not located in the same place.” Distance learning refers to all non traditional methods of presentation such as online programs, home study, teleconference, and recorded webinars. Social workers may complete 30 hours of distance learning training for each renewal. Counselors may complete 30 hours of distance learning training for each renewal. Marriage & Family Therapist may complete 30 hours of distance learning training for each renewal. All face to face continuing education completed within the State of Ohio must be pre-approved (only the sponsoring organization may submit for pre-approval). Currently Marriage & Family Therapist may submit in-state programs for post approval due to the limited number of providers for their profession. These non-approved in-state programs must show approval for Counselors or Social Workers. The MFT will need to request post program approval through CE Broker before the hours will count towards their renewal.
     

  • Required for Renewal: 20 CE Hours Each Renewal.  
  • Special Course Requirements: 3 CE Hours of Ethics Each Renewal. Ethics CE Hours are required to be pre-approved from the board and are required to be face-to-face. See below for additional information. 
  • Permitted Online: 10 CE Hours Each Renewal. The Board (temporarily) suspended all requirements for face-to-face CE from 1/1/2022-12/31/2023. See below for additional information. 
  • Acceptable CE: Oklahoma requires online CE providers of online courses to be pre-approved by the board. My CE Solution is NOT approved by the Oklahoma board to provide CE. 
  • Additional Information from the Oklahoma State Board Website: General Information: The Oklahoma State Board of Behavioral Health Licensure recognizes the American Counseling Association (ACA), or any of its affiliates including the Oklahoma Counselors Association (OCA), American Psychological Association (APA), or any of its affiliates including the Oklahoma Psychological Association (OPA), American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (AAMFT), or any of its affiliates including the Oklahoma Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (OKAMFT), National Association for Social Workers (NASW), the Association for Addiction Professionals (NAADAC), or any of its affiliates including the Oklahoma Drug and Alcohol Professional Counselor Association (ODAPCA), or a program approved or offered by a state or federal government agency with responsibility for mental health and substance abuse services, including but not limited, to Oklahoma Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services (ODMHSAS), Board of Licensed Alcohol and Drug Counselors (LADC), Board of Licensed Social Workers (LCSW), and the Board of Examiners of Psychologists. These organizations are pre-approved by the Board to be continuing education providers and do not require any additional review. Board Approved CE Providers *All Licensed Behavioral Practitioner (LBP) continuing education must be pre-approved by the American Association of Masters in Psychology (TAAMP). Requirements: On April 16, 2021, the Board adopted a motion to no longer provide reviews of continuing education that do not require Board approval in accordance with the Oklahoma Administrative Code (OAC). The OAC requires that continuing education in counseling/therapy ethics, counseling/therapy supervision, and continuing education provided through technology-assisted means be approved by the Board. Continuing education that is not in counseling/therapy ethics, counseling/therapy supervision, or continuing education provided through technology-assisted means must meet the OAC requirements outlined in acceptable continuing education but does not require Board approval. To assist licenses in navigating the acceptable CE requirements, we have a created an easy to review guide of the acceptable continuing education requirements.
  • Additional Information from the Oklahoma State Board Website: License Renewal: LPC Annual Renewal Deadlines: The deadline for the LPC annual renewal is June 30th. In order to renew your license without penalty, your completed renewal materials must be submitted on or before the expiration date of your license. Requirements: You must complete at least twenty (20) hours of counseling related continuing education, including three (3) hours of face-to-face and pre-approved continuing education in counseling ethics. Continuing Education: The rules require that continuing education hours for counseling ethics and counseling supervision must be accrued face-to-face and must be pre-approved by the Board. Home-study and technology-assisted courses must also be pre-approved by the Board. No more than ten (10) hours may be accrued through home study and/or technology-assisted learning per renewal period.
     
    https://www.ok.gov/behavioralhealth/Renewal_-_LPC_-_Annual.html
  • Additional Information from the Oklahoma State Board Website: Additional Information from the Oklahoma State Board Website: Important Update: Due to the ongoing consequences of the national COVID-19 pandemic, on February 11, 2022, the Board approved an additional stay of enforcement for all face-to-face CEU requirements, including Ethics and Supervision. All technology assisted CEU's accrued between January 01, 2022 and December 31, 2022 may count towards the face-to-face renewal requirements, including ethics and supervision, for all current licensure periods. On October 07, 2022 the Board approved an additional stay of enforcement for all face-to-face CEU requirements, including Ethics and Supervision. All technology assisted CEU's accrued between January 01, 2023 and December 31, 2023 may count towards the face-to-face renewal requirements, including ethics and supervision, for all current licensure periods. 

  • Required for Renewal: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal. See below for additional information. 
  • Special Course Requirements: 6 CE Hours of Ethics and/or Oregon State Laws and Regulations Pertaining to the Practice of Professional Counseling Each Renewal. 4 CE Hours of Cultural Competency Each renewal. 2 CE Hours of Suicide Risk Assessment, Treatment and Management Each Renewal. 
  • Permitted Online: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal. 
  • Acceptable CE:  Oregon does not pre-approve CE courses or providers nor does Oregon endorse or acknowledge certification organizations for CE course approval. My CE Solution meets the acceptable CE criteria as stated in the requirements set forth in the State rules.  
  • Additional Information from the Oregon State Board Website: Basic Requirements Temporary Requirements (2020 CE Extension for COVID-19) Frequently Asked Questions- CE Extension The Board has granted a temporary CE extension in response to the novel coronavirus emergency. There is no CE reporting or auditing in the year 2020. CE will instead be reported and audited in 2022. LPCs and LMFTs must complete at least 80 clock hours of continuing education (CE) during the 48-month reporting period, which must include: 12 clock hours clock hours of training in professional ethics and/or Oregon State laws and regulations pertaining to the practice of professional counseling or marriage and family therapy; 8 clock hours of training in cultural competency; For licensees who supervise registered associates, including all licensees on the Supervisor Registry, 6 clock hours of supervision-related training; and For those renewing on or after July 1, 2022: 2 clock hours of Suicide Risk Assessment, Treatment and Management Your CE "reporting period" is the 48-month period from your license renewals, reported at your 2022 license renewal. For example, if your birth month is June, your CE reporting period would be from July 1, 2018 through June 30, 2022. You will need to report your minimum 80 clock hours of CE when you renew your license in June, 2022. Individuals licensed less than 12 months before their license renewal in 2020 will report 40 hours in 2022. Those licensed between 12 and 23 months at the time CE would have been due in 2020 will report 60 hours in 2022. For example, if your birth month is September and you are initially licensed in August 2019, then you would report a minimum of 60 clock hours of CE when you renew in September 2022. Licensees that submit prorated CE clock hours will also submit prorated specialized training hours.
  • Additional Information from the Oregon State Board Website: Ongoing Requirements (After 2022) The normal CE requirements will revert for the 2024 reporting period and beyond. LPCs and LMFTs must complete at least 40 clock hours of continuing education (CE) during each 24-month reporting period, which must include: 6 clock hours clock hours of training in professional ethics and/or Oregon State laws and regulations pertaining to the practice of professional counseling or marriage and family therapy; 4 clock hours of training in cultural competency; 2 clock hours of Suicide Risk Assessment, Treatment and Management; and For licensees who supervise registered associates, including all licensees on the Supervisor Registry, 3 clock hours of supervision-related training. Your CE "reporting period" is the 24-month period from your license renewal in one even-numbered year to the next license renewal in the subsequent even-numbered year. For example, if your birth month is June, your CE reporting period would be from July 1, 2016 through June 30, 2018. You would report when you renew your license in June, 2018. If you received your initial license less than 12 months before CE is due, then no CE is due. If you received your initial license between 12 and 23 months before CE is due, then 20 clock hours of CE is due. For example, if your birth month is September and you are initially licensed in August 2017, then you would report a minimum of 20 clock hours of CE when you renew in September 2018. For licensees that submit prorated CE clock hours will also submit prorated specialized training hours.
     https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/displayDivisionRules.action?selectedDivision=3739
  • Additional Information from the Oregon State Board Website: 833-080-0041 Methods of Obtaining Hours: (1) Approvable continuing education credits may be obtained in the following ways: (a) Continuing education activities with no limits on clock hours: (A) Attending college or university courses -- 15 clock hours per semester credit and 10 clock hours per quarter credit. (B) Live seminars, workshops, conferences and/or trainings. (C) Home study (distance learning), including internet and tele-courses. (D) Service as an Oregon Board of Licensed Professional Counselors and Therapists member or committee volunteer. (b) Continuing education activities for which licensees can obtain a maximum of 20 clock hours within a two year reporting period: (A) Publication activities include: (i) Five credits per article or review in a refereed journal that is directly related to counseling; (ii) Five credits per chapter in edited books, 20 credits for authorship of an entire book; (iii) Five credits per 30 minutes of initial video production directly related to counseling; (iv) Five credits for reviewing a book proposal; and (v) Five credits for each year of service on an editorial board of a professional counseling journal. (B) Professional presentations. Credit is given for the initial research and development of a professional presentation. No credit shall be allowed for repeat presentations unless it is demonstrated that the program content was substantially changed and such change required significant additional study or research. The number of credits given is twice the number of hours spent making the presentation; (c) Continuing education activities for which licensees can obtain a maximum of 10 clock hours within a two year reporting period: (A) Serving as an officer of a state or national counseling organization; (B) Serving as a member of a national certification board; (C) Chairing a national counseling conference or convention; or (D) Receiving supervision for a fee from a supervisor who meets the Board’s standards on supervision. Credit shall only be given to the licensee receiving supervision, not to a licensee providing supervision. No credit shall be given to licensees receiving supervision to fulfill licensure or discipline requirements. (2) An approvable continuing education program is one designed and offered by an agency or institution that is recognized as an approved provider of continuing education units, e.g., NBCC-approved programs, to include: (a) Academic courses offered in accredited degree counseling or marriage and family therapy programs; (b) Presentations sponsored by counseling related departments of accredited educational institutions; national, regional, state, or local professional organizations or associations; public or private human services agencies or organizations; or individuals that meet all of the following approved provider guidelines: (A) Program is presented by competent individuals as documented by appropriate academic training, professional licensure or certification, or professionally recognized experience. Presenters should have an identifiable involvement with human services; (B) Program meets the professional needs of the licensee’s intended clientele; (C) Program has a minimum duration of one clock hour; (D) Except for non-classroom distance learning, program is offered in a place which is accessible to persons with disabilities; (E) Distance learning program includes mechanism for evaluation, measurement, or confirmation of exchange of information; and (F) Programs approved by organizations such as: National Association of Social Workers, National Board for Certified Counselors, Oregon Psychological Association, Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor Certification, Art Therapy Credentials Board, American Art Therapy Association, American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy, and American Counseling Association. (c) Content of programs are consistent with OAR 833-080-0031. Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 History: BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. ef. 10-10-1BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10Required for Renewal: CE Content
     
  • Additional Information from the Oregon State Board Website: Division 80 CONTINUING EDUCATION 833-080-0011 Continuing Education Licensees must complete approved continuing education and report the hours to the Board on even numbered years as a condition of license renewal. (1) “Reporting period” means the 24-month period between license renewals that occur in even numbered years. For the even numbered years of 2020 and 2022, “reporting period” means the 48-month period between renewals that occur in 2018 and 2022. There is no reporting to occur in the year 2020. (2) A "clock hour" for continuing education means one hour spent in a program meeting the requirements for continuing education. Clock hours exclude refreshment breaks, receptions and other social gatherings, and meals that do not include an approved program. (3) Licensees must complete at least 40 continuing education clock hours within each reporting period. For the reporting period between 2018 and 2022 renewals, licensees must complete at least 80 clock hours of continuing education, reported in 2022. (4) New licensees: (a) There is no continuing education reporting required for individuals licensed less than 12 months on their first even numbered year renewal date. New licensees whose first reporting period would be in 2020 must report at least 40 clock hours of continuing education in 2022. (b) Individuals licensed between 12 and 23 months on their first even numbered year renewal date must report at least 20 clock hours of continuing education. New licensees whose first reporting period would be in 2020 must report at least 60 clock hours of continuing education in 2022. (c) Individuals licensed 24 or more months on their first even numbered year renewal date must report at least 40 clock hours of continuing education. New licensees whose first reporting period would be in 2020 must report at least 80 clock hours of continuing education in 2022. (5) There is no continuing education reporting required for licensees on or changing to inactive status. (6) Licensees must complete the following minimum continuing education requirements in each reporting period: (a) Six clock hours of training in professional ethics and/or Oregon State laws and regulations pertaining to the practice of professional counseling or marriage and family therapy. For the reporting period between 2018 and 2022 renewals, licensees must complete at least 12 clock hours of training in professional ethics and/or Oregon State laws and regulations pertaining to the practice of professional counseling or marriage and family therapy; (b) For licensees who supervise registered associates, including all licensees on the Supervisor Registry: three clock hours of supervision-related training. For the reporting period between 2018 and 2022 renewals, licensees who supervise registered associates and licensees on the Supervisor Registry must complete at least six clock hours of supervision-related training; (c) Four clock hours of training in cultural competency within each reporting period. For the reporting period between 2018 and 2022 renewals, licensees must complete at least eight clock hours of training in cultural competency; (d) Two clock hours of training dedicated to the topic of suicide risk assessment, treatment, and management. Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 History: BLPCT 1-2022, amend filed 02/07/2022, effective 07/01/2022.

  • Required for Renewal: 30 CE Hours Each Renewal 
  • Special Course Requirements: 1 CE Hour in Suicide Prevention. 2 CE Hours in Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting Training from an approved provider. 3 CE Hours in Professional Ethics. PLEASE NOTE: The 1 hour of continuing education in suicide prevention may NOT be used towards satisfying the 3 hours of continuing education in ethics.
  • Permitted Online: 30 CE Hours
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC)
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the Pennsylvania State Board Website: CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS FOR RENEWAL 30 Total Hours – Acceptable continued education providers can be found in the following sections of the Regulations: Social Workers (all types) – Section 47.36, MFT 48.36; LPC – 49.36. As of November 19, 2019, the Board no longer has a live CE requirement. This is a permanent change and is not related to any of the temporary COVID waivers that were in place and expired. A minimum of 1 hour must be earned in Suicide Prevention. A minimum of 2 hours must be earned in child abuse recognition and reporting training from an approved provider. A minimum of 3 hours must be earned in professional ethics.
  • Additional Information from the Pennsylvania State Board Website: Suicide Prevention Continuing Education Act 74 of 2016 was signed by Governor Wolf on July 8, 2016. Act 74 of 2016 requires licensees of the State Board of Social Workers, Marriage and Family Therapists and Professional Counselors to complete 1 hour of continuing education in the assessment, treatment and management of suicide risks as a portion of the total continuing education required for license renewal. For the next biennial renewal cycle ending February 28, 2019, as a condition for renewal you must complete 1 hour of continuing education in suicide prevention. If the word “suicide” or a derivative of the word “suicide” is contained in the title of a suicide prevention course/program taken through an approved provider, the continuing education earned can be used towards satisfying the suicide prevention continuing education requirement. If the course/program pertains to suicide prevention and the title of the course/program does not contain the word “suicide”, the approved provider of the course/program must indicate on the certification of attendance/completion the number of hours of suicide prevention continuing education earned. PLEASE NOTE: The 1 hour of continuing education in suicide prevention may NOT be used towards satisfying the 3 hours of continuing education in ethics.
  • Additional Information from the Pennsylvania State Board Website: SPECIAL NOTICE TO ALL LICENSED SOCIAL WORKERS, CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKERS, MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPISTS AND PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS Effective November 19, 2019, the State Board of Social Workers, Marriage and Family Therapists and Professional Counselors will now permit all 30 clock hours of approved Continuing education to be completed on-line. 
  • Additional Information from the Pennsylvania State Board Website: 49.36. Preapproved providers of continuing education courses and programs for professional counselors. (a) In addition to providers approved under § 49.34 (relating to registration of continuing education providers who offer one course or program), the Board finds the following entities have currently met the standards in § 49.35 (relating to standards for courses and programs). Accordingly, the following are approved providers: There is an extensive list - (iii) The National Board for Certified Counselors, Inc. (NBCC). *There is an extensive list of preapproved providers. This was edited for space. 

  • Required for Renewal: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal. A minimum of 20 CE Hours are required to be Category 1. My CE Solution courses are considered Category 1. 
  • Special Course Requirements: N/A
  • Permitted Online: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC)
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the Rhode Island State Board Website: The application for license renewal shall include satisfactory evidence of completion of forty (40) credits of continuing education relevant to the practice of clinical mental health counseling or marriage and family therapy practice, completed over the two (2) year period preceding re-licensure. A minimum of twenty (20) of the forty (40) credits of continuing education shall be completed within Category 1 of § 11.3.8(C) of this Part. Continuing education programs sponsored or approved by the following organizations are deemed to be approved by the Board: American Counseling Association (ACA), American Mental Health Counselors Association (AMHCA), National Board for Certified Counselors, Inc. (NBCC), American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (AAMFT), Rhode Island Mental Health Counselors Association (RIMHCA), Rhode Island Counseling Association (RICA), Rhode Island Association for Marriage and Family Therapist (RIAMFT), National Association of Social Workers (NASW), American Psychological Association (APA), American Medical Association (AMA) or such other nationally-recognized organizations, as approved by the Board. Categories of Continuing Education Programs and Credits: The Board recognizes the following categories of continuing education programs and/or activities and established credit hours. Category I: Formal continuing education program that may consist of graduate or post-graduate courses, workshops, and/or institutes, including web-based offerings. Credit: 1 credit per hour; minimum 20 credits per two (2) year cycle. Category II: Exceptional contributions to professional development that may consist of: a written publication in a peer-reviewed journal, teaching a relevant, semester-long course in an accredited institution, serving as an elected officer on national or international organizations (e.g., ACA, NBCC, AAMFT). Participation by duly appointed members of the Board in regular Board meetings and investigating committee meetings shall be considered acceptable on an hours served basis for Category II credit. Credit: 10 credits for each publication or formal lecture 20 credits for national or international contribution.
     https://rules.sos.ri.gov/regulations/part/216-40-05-11

  • Required for Renewal:  There are different standards for Single Licensees (Individuals holding one license) and Multiple Licensees (Individuals holding multiple licenses). There are also different standards based on the type of CE learning activity. (The definitions for learning activities are below.) 40 CE Hours Each Renewal for individuals holding one license aka Single Licensees. For Single Licensees a maximum of 15 CE Hours may be Informal. Multiple licensees must complete 50 CE Hours each Renewal. Multiple Licensees may only complete Formal continuing education activities. For Multiple Licensees a minimum of 25 CE Hours must be related to each discipline one holds a license. For additional information see below.
     https://llr.sc.gov/cou/PDFS/CONTINUING_EDUCATION_GUIDELINES.pdf
  • Special Course Requirements: 6 CE Hours of Ethics for both Single Licensees and Multiple Licensees. 
  • Permitted Online: 15 CE Hours of Informal learning activities for Single Licensees. Multiple Licensee are restricted to Formal learning activities only and therefore, cannot obtain CE through online independent study. My CE Solution courses are considered Informal learning activities based on South Carolina guidelines. 
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC)
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the South Carolina State Board Website: CONTINUING EDUCATION GUIDELINES Continuing education requirements for Professional Counselors, Marriage and Family Therapists, Addiction Counselors and Psycho-Educational Specialists are established in Board Regulations 36-16 and 36-17. I. MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS FOR PROFESSIONAL COUNSELOR, MARRIAGE & FAMILY THERAPIST, AND ADDICTION COUNSELOR LICENSE RENEWAL (SINGLE & MULTIPLE LICENSES) Single licensees: Persons licensed as a Professional Counselor, Marriage & Family Therapist, or an Addiction Counselor must complete forty (40) contact hours of continuing education per two-year licensure period, of which 34 hours must be continuing education related to their respective professional license and 6 hours must be continuing education specific to ethical standards related to the respective professional license. An associate is not required to obtain continuing education, and a first-time licensee is not required to obtain continuing education for the licensing period in which the initial license was obtained. Multiple licensees: Persons holding more than one license must complete 50 hours of formal continuing education every two years. Of the 50 hours, 44 hours must relate to the professional licenses and 6 hours must relate to ethical standards. The 44 continuing education hours must be divided as equally as possible among the licensed disciplines.
     https://llr.sc.gov/cou/PDFS/CONTINUING_EDUCATION_GUIDELINES.pdf
  • Additional Information from the South Carolina State Board Website: Formal Education: The activity must involve face-to-face instruction. Some examples of Formal education are: CE seminars, Graduate level coursework, Professional development pertaining to issues that will assist you in providing the most effective and up-to-date services for your client offered at your place of practice, Live (inter-active) television (under supervision of the instructor/presenter or assisted instruction, Webcasts or webinars are acceptable as long as the live online educational presentation allows participating viewers to submit questions and comments (must be inter-active), Video or audio tape recordings may be used only as an adjunct to live face-to-face teaching or live television-assisted instruction,  Co-presenting a training class, ½ of the total hours can be used for yourself. Informal Education: The activities are not formally structured or supervised but which are used by licensees to enhance professional development. A maximum of fifteen (15) hours during each two-year licensure period may be obtained through informal continuing education. Note: Informal education cannot be used if you have multiple licenses. Some examples of informal continuing education are: First time presentation of a paper, workshop, or seminar for a national, regional, statewide, or other professional meeting may be approved for a maximum of five (5) continuing education hours, Published paper in a referred journal may be approved for a maximum of five (5) continuing education hours and may be used only once, Preparation of a new or related course for an educational institution or organization may be approved for a maximum of five (5) continuing education hours, Individual self-study to include use of on-line courses, Audiovisual materials/television broadcasts/video tapes, Reading of professional journals and books (keep copies of the book cover (front and back), title page, author/ bibliography, table of contents and the summary page describing contents of journal or book, Participation in professional study and discussion groups may be approved based on the number of hours engaged in the activity for a total of fifteen (15) hours during each two-year licensure period.
     https://llr.sc.gov/cou/PDFS/CONTINUING_EDUCATION_GUIDELINES.pdf
  • Additional Information from the South Carolina State Board Website: CE Broker Reporting / Tracking CE Broker is the CE tracking system of the South Carolina Board of Examiners for Licensure of Professional Counselors, Marriage and Family Therapists, Addiction Counselors and Psycho-Educational Specialists. Create a free account to search approved CE courses, self-report your hours, and track course history. CE Broker Account Registration CE Broker Information If you have questions concerning setting up your account or problems with your account with CE Broker, please contact their customer support directly from Monday to Friday, 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. EST at (877) 434-6323 or [email protected]. My CE Solution does NOT report to CE Broker. 
  • Additional Information from the South Carolina State Board Website: The Board recognizes various organizations and/or individuals that sponsor continuing education activities. The following organizations and agencies are pre-approved as providers of continuing education. (This is an extensive list and was edited for space.)  National Board for Certified Counselors

  • Required for Renewal: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 4 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Permitted Online: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC)
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the South Dakota State Board Website: A license must be renewed by November 30th in even-numbered years. A licensee must show 40 hours of continuing education, including at least 4 hours of ethics, biennially. Continuing education is due in each even-numbered
     year.
  • Additional Information from the South Dakota State Board Website: Continuing Education (CEU) is required for all licensees. Continuing Education is reported to the Board in even-numbered years during the online renewal process. In a two-year cycle, 40 hours of continuing education are required. Four of those hours must be about ethics as it relates to counseling. Board Approved Supervisors must also complete four hours of continuing education in the subject of supervision. The number of continuing education hours required is prorated based on the initial date of licensure. Please refer to the chart below for the number of hours required depending on your initial date of licensure. 
  • Additional Information from the South Dakota State Board Website: ARSD 20:68:07:24. Approved continuing education programs. The board will accept qualified continuing education programs accredited, approved, or presented by the following organizations or the organization's state affiliate: National Board for Certified Counselors. (This list is extensive and was edited for space.) 
  • Additional Information from the South Dakota State Board Website: 20:68:07:22. Qualified continuing education. Qualified continuing education is an academic course, workshop, clinic, forum, lecture, program, seminar, or other educational activity delivered for the purpose of increasing or sustaining the proficiency of the licensee in the practice of counseling, as defined in SDCL subdivision 36-32-47(3). An academic semester credit equals 15 continuing education hours and a quarter credit equals ten continuing education hours. No qualified continuing education may be repeated in consecutive continuing education cycles. 20:68:07:23. Restrictions on continuing education credit. A licensee may not receive more than eight contact hours during a continuing education compliance period from qualified in-house programs. Source: 47 SDR 42, effective October 14, 2020. General Authority: SDCL 36-32-56. Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-72, 36-32-73, 36-32-74, 36-32-75. 20:68:07:20. Continuing education requirements. A licensee shall complete 40 hours of qualified continuing education in each continuing education cycle. At least four of the continuing education hours must be on the subject of counseling ethics. Continuing education required for renewal of a license must be prorated in six month increments for a licensee granted an initial license during a continuing education cycle. Upon application for renewal, a licensee shall verify under penalty of perjury that all continuing education information provided on the application is true and correct. The licensee shall supply sufficient detail to permit verification of the qualified continuing education if notified of an audit by the board.

  • Required for Renewal: Individuals with 1 certificate or license are required to complete 10 CE Hours Each Renewal. Individuals with 2 certificates or licenses are required to complete 30 CE Hours Each Renewal. Individuals with 3 certificates or licenses are required to complete 40 CE Hours Each Renewal.  In each scenario licensees are required to complete a minimum of 10 CE Hours directly related to the practice of one's profession and certificate/license. 
  • Special Course Requirements: 2 CE Hours of Ethics and/or Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 63, Chapter 22; and/or  Official Compilation, Rules and Regulations of the State of Tennessee, Chapter 0450-2 and/or Title 63, Chapter 22; and/or (iii) Official Compilation, Rules and Regulations of the State of Tennessee, Chapter 0450-2.
  • Permitted Online: A maximum of ten (10) clock hours may be received for multi-media courses during the two (2) calendar year period. Those persons who hold two (2) certificates and/or licenses regulated by the Tennessee Board for Professional Counselors, Martial and Family Therapists and Clinical Pastoral Therapists may receive a maximum of fifteen (15) clock hours for multi-media courses during the two (2) calendar year period. Those persons who hold three (3) certificates and/or licenses may receive a maximum of twenty (20) clock hours for multi-media courses during the two (2) calendar year period
  • Acceptable CE: National Board Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC) 
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the Tennessee State Board Website: Professional Counselors, Marital and Family Therapists and Clinical Pastoral Therapists are required to complete ten (10) clock hours of continuing education during each calendar year. Those persons who hold any two (2) certificates or licenses, i.e., professional counselor, marital and family therapist, and pastoral therapist SHALL COMPLETE THIRTY (30) CLOCK HOURS OF CONTINUING EDUCATION EVERY TWO (2) CALENDAR YEARS. A PERSON WHO HOLDS THREE CERTIFICATES AND/OR LCENSES SHALL COMPLETE FORTY (40) HOURS CLOCK HOURS OF CONTINUING EDUCATION EVERY TWO (2) YEARS. IN EACH CASE AT LEAST TEN (10) HOURS SHALL BE DIRECTLY RELATED TO THE PRACTICE OF EACH PROFESSION FOR WHICH THE PERSON IS LICENSED OR CERTIFIED. Three (3) clock hours of the two (2) year clock hour requirement shall pertain to the following subjects: (i) professional ethics; and/or (ii) Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 63, Chapter 22; and/or (iii) Official Compilation, Rules and Regulations of the State of Tennessee, Chapter 0450-2.
  • Additional Information from the Tennessee State Board Website: Acceptable continuing education shall consist of master or doctoral level course work from a nationally or regionally accredited institution of higher education; attendance at educational events sponsored by national, state, regional, or local professional associations in the field; or events related to the practice of the profession for which a nationally or regionally accredited institution of higher education grants CEUs. Each person must retain proof of attendance and completion of all CE requirements. This documentation must be retained for a period of four (4) years from the end of the calendar year in which the CE was acquired. This documentation must be produced for inspection and verification, if requested in writing by the board during its verification process. The board will conduct a randomly selected audit of individual records to assure that the CE requirements have been met. An individual's records may be audited during consecutive renewal periods. If audited, he individual must, within fifteen (15) working days of a request from the board, provide evidence of continuing education activities. The board does not pre-approve CE programs. It is the individual's responsibility using his professional judgment, to determine whether or not programs are applicable and appropriate to his professional development and meet the standards outlined within the board's rules and regulations. Whenever you have a question regarding continuing education, refer to Rule 0450-1-.12 or 0450-2-.12 or 0450-3-.12, "Continuing Education" or call the Board's Administrative Office at (615) 741-5735 and speak to the administrator of the Board.
  • Required for Renewal: 0450-01-.12 CONTINUING EDUCATION. (c) Ethics and Jurisprudence Course Requirement: 1. Three (3) clock hours of the twenty (20) clock hour biennial requirement shall, pertain to the following subjects: (i) Professional ethics; and/or (ii) Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 63, Chapter 22; and/or (iii) Official Compilation, Rules and Regulations of the State of Tennessee, Chapter 0450-01. (2) Acceptable Continuing Education - Acceptable continuing education shall consist of master or doctoral level course work from a nationally or regionally accredited institution of higher education; attendance at educational events sponsored or approved by national, state, regional, or local professional associations in the field; or events related to the practice of the profession for which a nationally or regionally accredited institution of higher education grants CEUs. (3) Multi-Media - Notwithstanding the provisions of paragraph (2) and part (5)(b)3., continuing education courses may be presented in the traditional lecture and classroom formats or, with successful completion of a written post experience examination to evaluate material retention, in Multi-Media formats. (a) Multi-Media courses may include courses utilizing: 1. The Internet 2. Closed circuit television 3. Satellite broadcasts 4. Correspondence courses 5. Videotapes 6. CD-ROM 7. DVD 8. Teleconferencing 9. Videoconferencing 10. Distance learning (b) A maximum of ten (10) clock hours may be received for multi-media courses during the two (2) calendar year period. Those persons who hold two (2) certificates and/or licenses regulated by the Tennessee Board for Professional Counselors, Martial and Family Therapists and Clinical Pastoral Therapists may receive a maximum of fifteen (15) clock hours for multi-media courses during the two (2) calendar year period. Those persons who hold three (3) certificates and/or licenses may receive a maximum of twenty (20) clock hours for multi-media courses during the two (2) calendar year period (5) Continuing Education Course Approval - Courses to be offered for credit toward the continuing education requirement must, unless otherwise provided, receive prior approval from the Board. Unless otherwise provided, all courses shall be offered within Tennessee. (a) Course approval procedures 1. Pre-approved course providers - Continuing education courses which pertain to the practice of counseling shall be considered approved if provided or sanctioned by the following entities: (i) American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy; (ii) American Association of Pastoral Counselors; (iii) American Association of Sex Educators, Counselors, and Therapists; (iv) American Counseling Association; (v) American Psychiatric Association; (vi) American Psychological Association; (vii) National Association of Social Workers; (viii) Any state professional association affiliated with the national associations listed in subparts (i) through (vii); (ix) National Board for Certified Counselors.

  • Required for Renewal: 24 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 6 CE Hours of Ethics Each Renewal. 3 CE Hours of Cultural Diversity and Competency Each Renewal. 1 CE Hour of the Texas LPC Jurisprudence Examination Each Renewal. HHSC Approved Human Trafficking Prevention Training Course Each Renewal. (There is not CE Hour requirement for the Human Trafficking Prevention Course. The requirement is for one to complete an HHSC Approved Course.)
  • Permitted Online: 24 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: Texas does not pre-approve CE courses or providers nor does Texas endorse or acknowledge certification organizations for CE course approval. My CE Solution meets the acceptable CE criteria as stated in the requirements set forth in the State rules.   
  • Additional Information from the Texas State Board Website: Additional Information from the Texas State Board Website: Applicable Rule: 22 TAC 681.140 LPCs are required to obtain a minimum of 24 hours of continuing education during each renewal period they hold a license. Effective January 1, 2024, at least half of the 24 hours must be obtained from a provider listed in 681.140(f). At least 6 of the hours obtained must be in the area of ethics, with another 3 hours in the area of cultural diversity and competency. These hours may be counted toward the total number of hours required. LPCs must pass the jurisprudence examination each renewal period. Licensees may claim 1 hour of ethics credit for passing the examination. An LPC-S must complete 6 hours of continuing education in supervision during his or her renewal period to maintain supervisory status. These hours may be counted toward the total number of hours required.
  • Additional Information from the Texas State Board Website: CURRENT ACCEPTABLE CE GUIDELINES - PLEASE NOTE THESE STANDARDS CHANGE ON JANUARY 1, 2024 (e) Acceptable Continuing Education Activities. (1) All continuing education hours must have been received during the renewal period unless allowed under subsection (a)(2) of this section, and be directly related to the practice of professional counseling; (2) The Council shall make the determination as to whether the activity claimed by the licensee is directly related to the practice of professional counseling; (3) Except for hours claimed under subsection (h) of this section, all continuing education hours obtained must be designated by the provider in a letter, email, certificate, or transcript that displays the licensee's name, topic covered, date(s) of training, and hours of credit earned; and (4) Multiple instances or occurrences of a continuing education activity may not be claimed for the same renewal period.
  • Additional Information from the Texas State Board Website: All licensees are required to undergo an HHSC approved human trafficking prevention training course as a condition of renewal, in accordance with Chapter 116 of the Occupations Code. Licensees required to take the jurisprudence exam as a condition of renewal can find the registration link for the exam by clicking on the corresponding board above. Additionally, when renewing a license, licensees must provide or update the standardized set of information about their training and practice (i.e., the minimum data set) required by §105.003 of the Health and Safety Code.
  • Additional Information from the Texas State Board Website: Licensees are required to take a course approved by the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) every renewal cycle. All BHEC licenses are on a two-year cycle, so it is required every two years for our licensees. The requirement is to complete a course approved by the HHSC. There is no set hour requirement for the course itself. You may take the same course as many times as you wish.
     https://www.bhec.texas.gov/human-trafficking-awareness-faq/index.html
  • Additional Information from the Texas State Board Website: c) Acceptable ethics hours include, but are not limited to continuing education on: (1) state or federal laws, including agency rules, relevant to the practice of professional counseling; (2) practice guidelines established by local, regional, state, national, or international professional organizations; (3) training or education designed to demonstrate or affirm the ideals and responsibilities of the profession; and (4) training or education intended to assist licensees in determining appropriate decision-making and behavior, improve consistency in or enhance the professional delivery of services, and provide a minimum acceptable level of practice. (d) Acceptable cultural diversity or competency hours include, but are not limited to continuing education regarding age, disability, ethnicity, gender, gender identity, language, national origin, race, religion, culture, sexual orientation, and socio-economic status. 
  • Additional Information from the Texas State Board Website: 
    THE FOLLOWING REQUIREMENTS ARE EFFECTIVE AS OF JANUARY 1, 2024 (f) Licensees must obtain at least fifty percent of their continuing education hours from one or more of the following providers: (1) an international, national, regional, state, or local association of medical, mental, or behavioral health professionals; (2) public school districts, charter schools, or education service centers; (3) city, county, state, or federal governmental entities; (4) an institution of higher education accredited by a regional accrediting organization recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation, the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, or the United States Department of Education; (5) religious or charitable organizations devoted to improving the mental or behavioral health of individuals; (6) a licensee with supervisor status; (7) a hospital or hospital system, including any clinic, division, or department within a hospital or hospital system; or (8) any provider approved or endorsed by a provider listed herein. (g) Licensees shall receive credit for continuing education activities according to the number of hours designated by the provider, or if no such designation, on a one-for-one basis with one credit hour for each hour spent in the continuing education activity. (h) Notwithstanding subsection (f) of this section, licensees may claim continuing education credit for each of the following activities: (1) Preparing and giving a presentation at a continuing education activity. The maximum number of hours that may be claimed for this activity is 5 hours. (2) Authoring a book or peer reviewed article. The maximum number of hours that may be claimed for this activity is 5 hours. (3) Teaching or attending a graduate level course. The maximum number of hours that may be claimed for this activity is 5 hours. (4) Self-study. The maximum number of hours that may be claimed for this activity is 1 hour. Self-study is credit that is obtained from any type of activity that is performed by an individual licensee acting alone. Such activities include, but are not limited to, reading materials directly related to the practice of professional counseling. Time spent individually viewing or listening to audio, video, digital, or print media as part of an organized continuing education activity, program, or offering from a third-party is not subject to this self-study limitation and may count as acceptable education under other parts of this rule. (5) Successful completion of a training course on human trafficking prevention described by §116.002 of the Occupations Code. Licensees who complete this training may claim 1 hour of continuing education credit. (i) The Council does not pre-evaluate or pre-approve continuing education providers or hours. (j) Licensees shall maintain proof of continuing education compliance for a minimum of 3 years after the applicable renewal period. (k) Subsection (f) of this rule is effective January 1, 2024.
     https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=22&pt=30&ch=681&rl=140

  • Required for Renewal: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 6 CE Hours of Ethics and/or Law. 2 CE Hours of Suicide Prevention Each Renewal.
  • Permitted Online: 10 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: Utah does not pre-approve CE courses or providers nor does Utah endorse or acknowledge certification organizations for CE course approval. My CE Solution meets the acceptable CE criteria as stated in the requirements set forth in the State rules.   
  • Additional Information from the Utah State Board Website: Must have completed at least 40 hours of continuing education directly related to the licensee's professional practice of, which at least six hours shall be in ethics/law, and two hours in suicide prevention.
  • Additional Information from the Utah State Board Website: R156-60-105. Continuing Education.In accordance with Section 58-60-105, the continuing professional education (CE) requirements for each two-year renewal cycle commencing on October 1 of each even-numbered year, are established as follows: (1) An individual licensed under Title 58, Chapter 60 shall complete at least 40 CE hours, or 20 hours for an SSW or CSW, to include: (a) six hours of education in ethics, law, or technology; (b) two hours of training in suicide prevention in accordance with Section R156-60-205; and (c) for a marriage and family therapist, the following required hours under this subsection shall be directly related to marriage and family therapy: (i) at least 15 hours of the 40 CE hours; and (ii) at least three hours of the six hours in ethics, law, or technology. (2) A licensee who completes more than the required number of CE hours during a two-year renewal cycle may carry over excess hours to the next two-year renewal cycle, as follows: (a) for an SSW or CSW, up to five hours of the excess; and (b) for other licensees, up to ten hours of the excess. (3) A licensee may not carry forward any CE hours received prior to being granted a license, including professional upgrades.
  • Additional Information from the Utah State Board Website: R156-60-205. Qualifications for Licensure and License Renewal - Suicide Prevention Course. The minimum two-hour suicide prevention course required as a qualification for licensure by Subsections 58-60-205(1)(e)(iii) for a social worker, 58-60-305(1)(e)(iv) for a marriage and family therapist, 58-60-405(1)(e)(iv) for a clinical mental health counselor, and 58-60-506(5)(b)(ii) for a substance use disorder counselor, and the minimum two-hour suicide prevention course required as a condition of license renewal by Subsection 58-60-105(3), shall meet the following standards: (1) The course shall be approved by, conducted by, or under the sponsorship of one of the following: (a) a recognized accredited college or university; (b) a county, state, or federal agency; (c) a professional association or similar body involved in mental health therapy; or (d) a mental health agency that provides mental health services. (2) The content of the course shall be relevant to mental health therapy, suicide prevention, consistent with the laws of this state, and include one or more of the following components: (a) suicide concepts and facts; (b) suicide risk assessment, crisis intervention, and first aid; (c) evidence-based intervention for suicide risk; (d) continuity of care and follow-up services for suicide risk; and (e) therapeutic alliances for intervention in suicide risk. (3) Each hour of education shall consist of 50 minutes of education in the form of classroom lectures and discussion, workshops, webinars, online self-paced modules, case study review, or simulations. (4) The course provider shall document and verify course attendance and completion. (5)(a) An applicant for licensure shall submit evidence of course completion to the Division as a prerequisite for licensure. (b) A licensee renewing their license shall maintain adequate documentation of course completion as required by Subsection R156-60-105(8).

  • Required for Renewal: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal There is a distinction between Formal Learning Activities and Individualized Learning Activities for Acceptable CE. There are no restrictions on Formal Learning Activities. Individualized Learning Activities are limited to 28 CE Hours Each Renewal. 
  • Special Course Requirements: 1 CE Hour of  Systematic Oppression and Anti-Oppressive Practice, or in Related Topic Areas, consistent with the report recommendations from the Health Equity Advisory Commission  Each Renewal. 4 CE Hours of Ethics Each Renewal. 
  • Permitted Online: 28 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC) 
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the Vermont State Board Website: 3.32 Continuing Education Acceptable Types (a) Formal Activities: (1) Graduate academic courses including on line graduate courses in areas supporting development of skill and competence in counseling at an institution which meets accreditation standards will be acceptable to the Board. (2) Institutes, workshops, seminars and conferences approved by the Board must clearly relate to maintaining skills for the safe and competent practice of counseling and be conducted by persons qualified within their respective professions. (b) Individualized Learning Activities: No more than 28 of the 40 hours may be accrued in this category. Home study programs including online or interactive training approved by the National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC), the American Counseling Association, or the American Mental Health Counselors Association will be accepted. Completion of home study programs must be documented by a certificate of completion or other appropriate documentation. Individualized learning activities subject to the 28 hour limitation include: (1) Teaching or Consultation: In programs such as institutes, workshops, seminars, and conferences. Documentation must, include relevant readings, activities, research procedures, products, and a brief critique of the material. Limitation: Not more than five continuing education hours may be granted during any two-year license renewal period for time spent in activities as an instructor or presenter in the field of clinical mental health counseling. Continuing education hours will be allowed only one time per subject taught, and will not be granted for teaching a program which is within the licensee’s regular employment. Credit for teaching is given for actual presentation time, not preparation time. (2) Supervision: received by the licensee and provided by a licensed mental health professional in an individual or group setting. Documentation is required from both the supervisee and the supervisor or colleagues as to general topic and approach as well as assessed professional development of the supervisee. (c) Continuing education provided by or approved by the National Board for Certified Counselors, the American Counseling Association, the American Mental Health Counseling Association, the American Psychological Association, or the American Association of Marriage and Family Therapists is approved without prior review by the Board.
  • Additional Information from the Vermont State Board Website: Renewals Licenses shall be renewed every two years upon payment of required fees and proof of such continuing education as the Board may require by rule. (Added 1987, No. 245 (Adj. Sess.), § 1; amended 1989, No. 250 (Adj. Sess.), § 4(d); 1993, No. 98, § 15; 1997, No. 40, § 55; 2011, No. 66, § 10, eff. June 1, 2011; 2017, No. 144 (Adj. Sess.), § 25.) [Effective July 1, 2023.] § 3269. Renewals Licenses shall be renewed every two years upon payment of required fees and proof of such continuing education as the Board may require by rule and as required by this section. Synchronous virtual continuing education credits shall be approvable and accepted as live in-person training. Continuing education requirements shall include requiring one or more continuing education units in the area of systematic oppression and anti-oppressive practice, or in related topic areas, consistent with the report recommendations from the Health Equity Advisory Commission required pursuant to 2021 Acts and Resolves No. 33, Sec. 5 for improving cultural competency, cultural humility, and antiracism in Vermont’s health care system. If the licensee is licensed in one or more other mental health professions under this title, continuing education units completed for one mental health profession shall count toward the required continuing education units for the other mental health profession or professions for which the licensee is licensed under this title. (Added 1987, No. 245 (Adj. Sess.), § 1; amended 1989, No. 250 (Adj. Sess.), § 4(d); 1993, No. 98, § 15; 1997, No. 40, § 55; 2011, No. 66, § 10, eff. June 1, 2011; 2017, No. 144 (Adj. Sess.), § 25; 2021, No. 117 (Adj. Sess.), § 4, eff. July 1, 2023.)
     https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/chapter/26/065
  • Additional Information from the Vermont State Board Website: 3.27 Continuing Education Ethics Requirement, Supervision (a) A minimum of four of the 40 hours must be specifically designated as continuing education in professional ethics in the clinical fields of marriage and family therapy, clinical mental health counseling, psychiatry, psychology, or social work. (b) The remaining 36 hours must be in the theory and practice of clinical mental health counseling. (c) Those who serve as supervisors are encouraged to take some continuing education training related to supervision.
     

  • Required for Renewal: 20 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 2 CE Hours of Ethics Each Renewal
  • Permitted Online: 20 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counseling (NBCC) 
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the Virginia State Board Website: 18VAC115-20-105. Continued competency requirements for renewal of a license. A. Licensed professional counselors shall be required to have completed a minimum of 20 hours of continuing competency for each annual licensure renewal. A minimum of two of these hours shall be in courses that emphasize the ethics, standards of practice, or laws governing behavioral science professions in Virginia. B. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to one year for the completion of continuing competency requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the licensee of the continuing competency requirement. C. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the continuing competency requirements due to circumstances beyond the control of the licensee such as temporary disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared disasters. D. Those individuals dually licensed by this board will not be required to obtain continuing competency for each license. Dually licensed individuals will only be required to provide the hours set out in subsection A of this section, subsection A of 18VAC115-50-95 in the Regulations Governing the Practice of Marriage and Family Therapy, or subsection A of 18VAC115-60-115 in the Regulations Governing the Practice of Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Practitioners. E. Up to two hours of the 20 hours required for annual renewal may be satisfied through delivery of counseling services, without compensation, to low-income individuals receiving health services through a local health department or a free clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery of those services. One hour of continuing education may be credited for three hours of providing such volunteer services, as documented by the health department or free clinic. F. A professional counselor who was licensed by examination is exempt from meeting continuing competency requirements for the first renewal following initial licensure. Statutory Authority § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.
  • Additional Information from the Virginia State Board Website: 18VAC115-20-106. Continuing competency activity criteria. A. Continuing competency activities must focus on increasing knowledge or skills in one or more of the following areas: 1. Ethics, standards of practice, or laws governing behavioral science professions; 2. Counseling theory; 3. Human growth and development; 4. Social and cultural foundations; 5. The helping relationship; 6. Group dynamics, processing, and counseling; 7. Lifestyle and career development; 8. Appraisal of individuals; 9. Research and evaluation; 10. Professional orientation; 11. Clinical supervision; 12. Marriage and family therapy; or 13. Addictions. B. Approved hours of continuing competency activity shall be one of the following types: 1. Formally organized learning activities or home study. Activities may be counted at their full hour value. Hours shall be obtained from one or a combination of the following board-approved, mental health-related activities: a. Regionally accredited university or college level academic courses in a behavioral health discipline. b. Continuing education programs offered by universities or colleges. c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the behavioral health field offered by federal, state, or local governmental agencies or licensed health facilities and licensed hospitals. d. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the behavioral health field offered by an individual or organization that has been certified or approved by one of the following: (1) The International Association of Marriage and Family Counselors and its state affiliates. (2) The American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy and its state affiliates. (3) The American Association of State Counseling Boards. (4) The American Counseling Association and its state and local affiliates. (5) The American Psychological Association and its state affiliates. (6) The Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor Certification. (7) NAADAC, The Association for Addiction Professionals and its state and local affiliates. (8) National Association of Social Workers. (9) National Board for Certified Counselors. (10) A national behavioral health organization or certification body. (11) Individuals or organizations that have been approved as continuing competency sponsors by the American Association of State Counseling Boards or a counseling board in another state. (12) The American Association of Pastoral Counselors. 2. Individual professional activities. a. Publication/presentation/new program development. (1) Publication of articles. Activity will count for a maximum of eight hours. Publication activities are limited to articles in refereed journals or a chapter in an edited book. (2) Publication of books. Activity will count for a maximum of 18 hours. (3) Presentations. Activity will count for a maximum of eight hours. The same presentations may be used only once in a two-year period. Only actual presentation time may be counted. (4) New program development. Activity will count for a maximum of eight hours. New program development includes a new course, seminar, or workshop. New courses shall be graduate or undergraduate level college or university courses. b. Dissertation. Activity will count for a maximum of 18 hours. Dissertation credit may only be counted once. c. Clinical supervision/consultation. Activity will count for a maximum of 10 hours. Continuing competency can only be granted for clinical supervision/consultation received on a regular basis with a set agenda. Continuing competency cannot be granted for supervision provided to others. d. Leadership. Activity will count for a maximum of eight hours. The following leadership positions are acceptable for continuing competency credit: officer of state or national counseling organization; editor and/or reviewer of professional counseling journals; member of state counseling licensure/certification board; member of a national counselor certification board; member of a national ethics disciplinary review committee rendering licenses; active member of a counseling committee producing a substantial written product; chair of a major counseling conference or convention; or other leadership positions with justifiable professional learning experiences. The leadership positions must take place for a minimum of one year after the date of first licensure. e. Practice related programs. Activity will count up to a maximum of eight hours. The board may allow up to eight contact hours of continuing competency as long as the regulate submits proof of attendance plus a written justification of how the activity assists him in his direct service of his clients. Examples include language courses, software training, and medical topics, etc. Statutory Authority § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

 

  • Required for Renewal: 36 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 6 CE Hours of Law and Professional Ethics Related to Counseling
  • Permitted Online: 12 CE Hours Each Renewal 
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC)
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the Washington State Board Website: Certified counselors and certified advisers after initial certification must complete 36 hours of continuing education every two years. At least six hours of the 36 hours must be in law and professional ethics related to counseling. See WAC 246-810-027.
  • Additional Information from the Washington State Board Website: A continuing education program or course must be relevant to counseling and must contribute to the advancement, extension, and enhancement of the professional competence of the certified counselor or certified adviser. Relevant courses include those that are related to counseling theory and practice, modality(ies) of the counseling services the certified counselor or certified adviser will provide, professional ethics, courses related to risk assessment, screening using the global assessment of functioning scale, referral of clients, and Washington state law applicable to counseling. Continuing education courses, seminars, workshops, training programs, and institutes must have a featured instructor, speaker(s), or panel approved by an industry-recognized institution of higher learning, or a local, state, national, or international organization listed in WAC 246-810-0293. Distance learning programs approved by an industry-recognized local, state, national or international organization or educational organization may meet these requirements. The programs must require a test of comprehension upon completion. Distance learning programs are limited to 12 hours per reporting period.
  • Additional Information from the Washington State Board Website: Recognized institutions of higher learning and local, state, national, and international organizations. Activities that meet the requirements of WAC 246-810-029 and are offered by the following entities are eligible for continuing education credit: (1) Washington Association for Marriage and Family Therapy; (2) Washington State Society for Clinical Social Work; (3) Washington Chapter of the National Association of Social Work; (4) American Mental Health Counselors Association; (5) American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy; (6) Clinical Social Work Association; (7) National Association of Social Workers; (8) Washington Mental Health Counselors Association; (9) National Board for Certified Counselors

 

  • Required for Renewal: 35 CE hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 3 CE Hours of Ethics Each Renewal. 2 CE Hours Specific to Veterans and/or Families of Veterans Each Renewal.
  • Permitted Online: 20 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC)
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the West Virginia State Board Website: All Licensed Professional Counselors and Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists are required to complete 35 Continuing Education hours biannually to include three (3) hours in Ethics and two (2) hours specific to veterans and or families of veterans. For LPCs, the Ethics training must be based on or include the 2014 ACA Code of Ethics; for LMFTs, the AAMFT Code of Ethics should be used. The licensee may complete these requirements online (virtual) or in person. All NBCC or ACA approved courses are automatically approved by the Board.
  • Additional Information from the West Virginia State Board Website: §27-3-4. Continuing Professional Education. 4.1. A licensee shall obtain 35 continuing education contact hours of approved continuing professional education every biennium. 4.1.a. At least 3 of the 35 contact hours shall be in counselor related ethics. The program in ethics shall follow the adopted ethical code of this rule. The 3 contact hours in ethics shall be earned in a formal program with an approved presenter on the first renewal cycle of a licensee. The 3 contact hours in ethics in the subsequent renewals can be obtained through American Counseling Association (ACA) home studies, ACA online programs or a formal program. 4.1.b. At least 2 of the 35 contact hours shall be in mental health conditions specific to veterans and family members of veterans. Each licensee shall complete these 2 contacts hours of continuing education on a biennium basis beginning July 1, 2017. Training specific to veterans and family members of veterans may include, but not be limited to, inquiring about whether clients are veterans or family members of veterans; screening for conditions such as post-traumatic stress disorder; readjustment issues; risk of suicide and prevention of suicide; military sexual assault; and depression and grief. The contact hours will be approved by the Board through requirements established in section §27-3-6.2.a of this rule.
     https://wvbec.org/wp-content/uploads/2021/07/LPC-License-Renewal-CE-Rule-Series-3_IN-2832.pdf
  • Additional Information from the West Virginia State Board Website: 4.9. The Board shall grant a maximum of 20 contact hours within each biennium period for home study programs. Only home study programs pre-approved by the National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC) and the American Counseling Association (ACA) are granted home study program approval. 4.10. Any out-of-state counseling related continuing education programs or conferences preapproved by the National Board for Certified Counselors and/or the American Counseling Association are automatically granted approval by the board.
     https://wvbec.org/wp-content/uploads/2021/07/LPC-License-Renewal-CE-Rule-Series-3_IN-2832.pdf

 

  • Required for Renewal: 30 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 4 CE Hours in Ethics and Professional Boundaries Each Renewal
  • Permitted Online: 30 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC)
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs.  
  • Additional Information from the Wisconsin State Board Website: Professional counselors are required to successfully complete 30 hours of CE in the first full biennium after they are licensed. https://dsps.wi.gov/Pages/Professions/LPC/CE.aspx
  • Additional Information from the Wisconsin State Board Website: Four (4) of the required 30 credit hours must be in the area of ethics and professional boundaries related to the license holder's area of practice. https://dsps.wi.gov/Pages/Professions/LPC/CE.aspx
  • Additional Information from the Wisconsin State Board Website: MPSW 19.03 Approved continuing education. (1) Continuing education programs, if relevant to the professional practice of marriage and family therapy, professional counseling, or social work, are approved as follows: (a) Any continuing education program approved, sponsored, provided, endorsed, or authorized by: 6. National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC). https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/mpsw/19.pdf

 

  • Required for Renewal: 45 CE Hours
  • Special Course Requirements: 3 CE Hours of Professional Ethics Each Renewal. 3 CE Hours of Suicide Assessment and Intervention Each Renewal. 
  • Permitted Online: 45 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: Wyoming does not pre-approve CE courses or providers nor does Wyoming endorse or acknowledge certification organizations for CE course approval. My CE Solution meets the acceptable CE criteria as stated in the requirements set forth in the State rules.  
  • Additional Information from the Wyoming State Board Website: Mental Health Professions Board Mental Health Professions Licensing Board Chapter 14: Renewal Effective date: 12/17/2021 to Current Rule Type: Current Rules & Regulations Reference Number: 078.0001.14.12172021 Section 3: (c) Renewal Procedure. A licensee shall seek renewal every two (2) years on or before their birthday. A licensee seeking renewal shall submit: (ii) Evidence of completion of forty-five (45) contact hours of CE that comply with Section 4 https://rules.wyo.gov/Search.aspx?Agency=078&Program=0001
  • Additional Information from the Wyoming State Board Website: Section 4: (b) Specific CE Requirements. (i) Licensees shall complete at least three (3) contact hours of CE activities in each of the following: (A) Professional ethics; and (B) Suicide assessment or intervention.https://rules.wyo.gov/Search.aspx?Agency=078&Program=0001
  • Additional Information from the Wyoming State Board Website: Section 4: (d) Earning CE. CE may be earned as follows: (ii) Successful completion of continuing education classes or online courses. 
  • Additional Information from the Wyoming State Board Website: Licenses and certificates expire on the holder's date of birth every two (2) years. Notices for renewal are mailed to each person at their last address of record approximately sixty (60) days prior to the expiration date. Failure to receive a notice from the Board does not excuse you from the requirement for timely and proper renewal. Paper renewal applications must be POST MARKED on or prior to the expiration date (or on the next business day in cases when the expiration date falls on a weekend or holiday) in order for a license or certificate to remain current. Any paper renewal application postmarked after the appropriate date will be returned and the license or certificate will become null and void. As long as a person has made timely and sufficient application for the renewal of their license or certificate they are permitted to continue to provide the services allowed under that license or certificate while the decision on the renewal application is pending. If you need your new card prior to your expiration, please be sure to give extra time for the application to be processed in the office. When the renewal application is approved, the license or certificate is renewed for two (2) calendar years, again expiring on the date of birth. The holder will receive a confirmation letter and two (2) new pocket ID cards via email. Wyoming Statute 33-1-117 Military Spouses Definition. Continuing Education is required for renewal. Specific information can be found in Chapter 14 of the Rules and Regulations. For clarification continuing education such as BLS, Drugs in the Workplace or HIPPA are considered business related and will not count towards the 45 required CEU's. As the Rules & Regulations state, they must "have significant intellectual or practical content, and the primary objective shall be to increase the participant's competence within each licensed or certified discipline.

Helpful Tip!

We make every effort to keep this information current. Due to the frequency with which license boards and professional organizations change their standards, please check with them directly to ensure accuracy. The information contained herein is for reference and convenience only. If you find that the information on our website is inaccurate or requires updating, please email us at [email protected] . We sincerely care about your concerns and seek your honest feedback, opinions, and experiences so that we can better serve you. The counseling CE renewal requirements were updated as of 7/2023-8/2023.

PS-001

COPY PLAYER SNIP
HELP GUIDE

Marriage & Family CE Requirements

  • Required for Renewal: 40 CE Each Renewal 
  • Special Course Requirements: 10 CE Hours of MFT workshops Each Renewal. 6 CE Hours of Diagnosis and Treatment Each Renewal. 6 CE Hours of Professional Issues and Ethics Each Renewal.  
  • Permitted Online: 20 CE Each Renewal 
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC) 
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the Alabama State Board Website: Current through Register Vol. 41, No. 10, July 31, 2023 Section 536-X-6-.01 - Required Relevant Professional and Continuing Education Experience (1) In order for an Intern designation to be renewed, the intern must have completed a minimum of ten (10) contact hours of acceptable Continuing Education or Experience Units during the previous twenty-four months. A minimum of three (3) of these hours must be clinical MFT workshops, a minimum of three (3) of these hours must be in the area of diagnosis and treatment, and a minimum of three (3) of these hours must be in the area of professional issues and ethics. If the MFT Intern is enrolled in a COAMFTE or CACREP MCFC Accredited program, then the continuing education requirement is met. (2) In order for an Associate License to be renewed, the Associate must have completed a minimum of twenty (20) contact hours of acceptable Continuing Education or Experience Units during the previous twenty-four months. A minimum of five (5) of these hours must be clinical MFT workshops, a minimum of three (3) of these hours must be in the area of diagnosis and treatment, and a minimum of three (3) of these hours must be in the area of professional issues and ethics. (3) In order for an LMFT license to be renewed, the licensee must have completed a minimum of forty (40) contact hours of acceptable Continuing Education or Experience Units during the previous twenty-four (24) months. A minimum of ten (10) of these hours must be clinical MFT workshops, a minimum of six (6) of these hours must be in the area of diagnosis and treatment, and a minimum of six (6) of these hours must be in the area of professional issues and ethics. LMFT supervisors must have completed a minimum of five (5) hours of continuing education in the content area of supervision. (4) Acceptable CEU's include: (a) National, state or local MFT association training and continuing education activities; (b) Graduate courses in MFT or cross disciplinary course (one (1) graduate semester = fifteen (15) hours, one (1) graduate quarter = ten (10) hours); 1. NBCC approved courses; 2. Continuing education activities sponsored by allied mental health professional associations or agencies (i.e. psychology, counseling, nursing, medical, social workers); 3. Supervision by an Approved MFT Supervisor under a board approved contract (not more than ten (10) hours); 4. Continuing education activities sponsored by mental health federal agencies (e.g. DOD, DOE, etc.); 5. Independent study activities such as: teaching graduate courses in MFT; presenter of MFT material in a recognized professional forum (first time presented); supervising a person for MFT licensure under a Board approved contract; service rendered on professional MFT boards or committees, editing or writing professional books or articles for publication. No more than ten (10) hours of continuing education shall be in independent study. 6. Continuing education activities related to mental health, counseling and/or marriage and family therapy sponsored by colleges and universities that are regionally accredited. 7. AAMFT and subsidiary organization, or NBCC, pre-approved distance learning courses that may include web page lectures; class discussions via internet bulletin boards; student interaction; and student to student interactive online communication through electronic mail, television, or video. Distance learning is a convenient mode for Board approved, interactive on-line/video coursework that is designed to provide an alternative to conventional continuing education for MFT members who demonstrate physical impairment, conflicting work schedule, or hardship. Distance learning requires no or limited physical attendance and does not replace face-to-face clinical supervision. No more than twenty (20) hours of continuing education shall be in distance learning. 

 

  • Required for Renewal: 45 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 2 CE Hours of Professional Ethics Each Renewal. 2 CE Hours of Addictions Each Renewal. 2 CE Hours of Cross Cultural Education Each Renewal. 2 CE Hours of Domestic Violence Each Renewal. 
  • Permitted Online: 22.5 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: Based on the Alaska standards for acceptable continuing education My CE Solution meets the acceptable CE criteria as stated in the requirements set forth in the State rules. Please see below for additional information.  
  • Additional Information from the Alaska State Board Website: 12 AAC 19.310. CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS. (a) An applicant for renewal of a marital and family therapy license who has been licensed 18 months or more of the concluding license period shall document completion of 45 contact hours of continuing education acceptable to the board that was earned during the concluding license period including at least (1) two contact hours in professional ethics; (2) two contact hours in addictions; (3) two contact hours in cross cultural education; and (4) two contact hours related to issues of domestic violence. (b) An applicant for renewal of a marital and family therapy license who has been licensed at least 12 months but less than 18 months of the concluding license period shall document completion of 30 contact hours of continuing education acceptable to the board that was earned during the concluding license period including at least (1) two contact hours in professional ethics; (2) two contact hours in addictions; (3) two contact hours in cross cultural education; and (4) two contact hours related to issues of domestic violence. (c) An applicant for renewal of a marital and family therapy license who has been licensed less than 12 months of the concluding license period shall document completion of 23 contact hours of continuing education acceptable to the board that was earned during the concluding license period including at least (1) two contact hours in professional ethics; (2) two contact hours in addictions; (3) two contact hours in cross cultural education; and (4) two contact hours related to issues of domestic violence. (d) For the purposes of this section, (1) one “contact hour” equals a minimum of 50 minutes of classroom instruction between instructor and participant; (2) one academic semester credit equals 15 contact hours; and (3) one academic quarter credit equals 10 contact hours. (e) Only hours of actual attendance during which instruction was given will be accepted as continuing education contact hours earned from an academic course that is audited by the licensee, and the total number of contact hours earned may not exceed the academic credit hours offered for that course. 
  • Additional Information from the Alaska State Board Website: CONTINUING EDUCATION UNITS NOTICE 12 AAC 19.320. APPROVED CONTINUING EDUCATION ACTIVITIES. (a) To be accepted by the board, continuing education must contribute directly to the professional competency of a marital and family therapist and must be directly related to the skills and knowledge required to implement marital and family therapy principles and methods. (b)The following continuing education activities are acceptable if they are related to marital and family therapy in accordance with (a) of this section: (1) postgraduate courses given by a regionally accredited academic institution, either audited or for credit; (2) courses offered by the American Association for Marital and Family Therapy; (3) courses offered by the Alaska Association for Marital and Family Therapy; (4) seminars, workshops, or mini-courses offered by professional organizations; (5) cross-disciplinary courses, seminars, or workshops in the fields of medicine, law, behavioral sciences, ethics, or other disciplines; (6) courses, seminars, or workshops in substance abuse, domestic violence, cross-cultural issues, gender issues, or child abuse; (7) other courses not covered under (1)--(6) of this subsection that are specifically preapproved by the board, up to a maximum of 15 contact hours; (8) first-time preparation and presentation of a marital and family therapy course, seminar, or workshop, up to a maximum of 10 contact hours allocated among all marital and family therapists and other professionals involved; (9) first-time presentation or publication of an article or book chapter related to the practice of marital and family therapy that was presented at a state or national association meeting or published by a publisher recognized by the profession, up to a maximum of 10 contact hours allocated among all marital and family therapists and other professionals involved; and (10) completion of a formal correspondence program, video tape program, audio cassette program, or other individual study program; the number of hours of continuing education credit awarded will be determined by the board using the contact hour standards described in 12 AAC 19.310(d)(1), not to exceed one-half of the total contact hours of continuing education required for license renewal under 12 AAC 19.310; a program under this paragraph is acceptable only if (A) the program requires registration and provides evidence of successful completion; or (B) the licensee submits a signed statement verifying that the licensee has successfully completed the program from a licensee who is a supervisor approved under 12 AAC 19.210 and has supervised the licensee’s study program under this paragraph. (c) Hours spent in job orientation will not be accepted as continuing education contact hours.

 

  • Required for Renewal: 30 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 3 CE Hours of Behavioral Health Ethics or Mental Health Law Each Renewal. 3 CE Hours of Cultural Competency and Diversity Each Renewal. 3 CE Hours of Arizona Statutes/Regulations Tutorial Each Renewal. 
  • Permitted Online: 30 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC) 
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the Arizona State Board Website: ARTICLE 8. LICENSE RENEWAL AND CONTINUING EDUCATION R4-6-801. Renewal of Licensure A. Under A.R.S. § 32-3273, a license issued by the Board under A.R.S. Title 32, Chapter 33 and this Chapter is renewable every two years. A licensee who has more than one license may request in writing that the Board synchronize the expiration dates of the licenses. The licensee shall pay any prorated fees required to accomplish the synchronization. B. A licensee holding an active license to practice behavioral health in this state shall complete 30 clock hours of continuing education as prescribed under R4-6-802 between the date the Board received the licensee’s last renewal application and the next license expiration date. A licensee may not carry excess continuing education hours from one license period to the next. C. To renew licensure, a licensee shall submit the following to the Board on or before the date of license expiration or as specified in A.R.S. § 32-4301: 1. A renewal application form, approved by the Board. The licensee shall ensure that the renewal form: a. Includes a list of 30 clock hours of continuing education that the licensee completed during the license period; b. If the documentation previously submitted under R4-6-301(12) was a limited form of work authorization issued by the federal government, includes evidence that the work authorization has not expired; and c. Is signed by the licensee attesting that all information submitted is true and correct; 2. Payment of the renewal fee as prescribed in R4-6-215; and 3. Other documents requested by the Board to determine that the licensee continues to meet the requirements under A.R.S. Title 32, Chapter 33 and this Chapter R4-6-802. Continuing Education A. A licensee who maintains more than one license may apply the same continuing education hours for renewal of each license if the content of the continuing education relates to the scope of practice of each license. B. For each license period, a licensee may report a maximum of: 1. Ten clock hours of continuing education for first-time presentations by the licensee that deal with current developments, skills, procedures, or treatments related to the practice of behavioral health. The licensee may claim one clock hour for each hour spent preparing, writing, and presenting information; 2. Six clock hours of continuing education for attendance at a Board meeting where the licensee is not: a. A member of the Board, b. The subject of any matter on the agenda, or c. The complainant in any matter that is on the agenda; and 3. Ten clock hours of continuing education for service as a Board or ARC member. C. For each license period, a licensee shall report: 1. A minimum of three clock hours of continuing education sponsored, approved, or offered by an entity listed in subsection (D) in: a. Behavioral health ethics or mental health law, and b. Cultural competency and diversity; and 2. Completion of the three clock hour Arizona Statutes/Regulations Tutorial. D. A licensee shall participate in continuing education that relates to the scope of practice of the license held and to maintaining or improving the skill and competency of the licensee. The Board has determined that in addition to the continuing education listed in subsections (B) and (C), the following continuing education meets this standard: 1. Activities sponsored or approved by national, regional, or state professional associations or organizations in the specialties of marriage and family therapy, professional counseling, social work, substance abuse counseling, or in the allied professions of psychiatry, psychiatric nursing, psychology, or pastoral counseling; 2. Programs in behavioral health sponsored or approved by a regionally accredited college or university; 3. In-service training, courses, or workshops in behavioral health sponsored by federal, state, or local social service agencies, public school systems, or licensed health facilities or hospitals; 4. Graduate or undergraduate courses in behavioral health offered by a regionally accredited college or university. One semester-credit hour or the hour equivalent of one semester hour equals 15 clock hours of continuing education; 5. Publishing a paper, report, or book that deals with current developments, skills, procedures, or treatments related to the practice of behavioral health. For the license period in which publication occurs, the licensee may claim one clock hour for each hour spent preparing and writing materials; and 6. Programs in behavioral health sponsored by a state superior court, adult probation department, or juvenile probation department.

  • Required for Renewal: 24 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 3 CE Hours of Ethics Each Renewal
  • Permitted Online: 24 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC)
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the Arkansas State Board Website: Section 7.2 CONTINUING EDUCATION (a) No license will be renewed without evidence of satisfactory completion of a minimum of twenty-four (24) clock hours of continued professional education (CE) and/or training in the twenty-four (24) months prior to renewal. Evidence must also be submitted of a minimum of three (3) clock hours obtained in ethics relevant to the license being renewed. Remaining hours must be counseling in nature and support the licensee’s statement of intent.
  • Additional Information from the Arkansas State Board Website: (e) The Board recognizes the following activities/experiences, which demonstrate professional benefit to the licensee, as acceptable CE: 1. Attending workshops provided by a qualified professional from state and/or nationally recognized training programs. Workshops presented by a professional with a NBCC provider number are acceptable.

  • Required for Renewal: 36 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 7 CE Hours of HIV/AIDS for NEW FIRST TIME licensees' renewal only. 6 CE Hours of Law & Ethics Each Renewal.  6 CE Hours of Suicide Risk Assessment and Intervention as a One Time Requirement. 3 CE Hours of Telehealth which must include law and ethics related to telehealth as a One Time Requirement. 
  • Permitted Online: 36 CE Hours Each Renewal 
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC)
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the California State Board Website: NEW RENEWAL RULE- The CE renewal requirement for first time renewals has been changed as of July 1, 2023! Previously, first time renewals were only required to earn 18 CE Hours. However, that has changed. All renewals require 36 CE Hours. 
  • Additional Information from the California State Board Website: Special Course Requirements- 7 CE Hours of HIV/AIDS coursework is required for NEW FIRST TIME licensees' renewal only.
  • Additional Information from the California State Board Website: 6 CE Hours of Law & Ethics coursework is required for EVERY RENEWAL.  
  • Additional Information from the California State Board Website: Special Course Requirements- Effective January 1 , 2021 the Board will begin requiring both applicants for licensure and licensees to have completed a minimum a minimum of 6 hours of training or coursework in Suicide Risk Assessment and Intervention. This is a ONE TIME requirement.  
  • Additional Information from the California State Board Website: Special Course Requirements- Effective July 1, 2023, the Board will begin requiring both applicants for licensure and licensees to have completed a minimum of three hours of training or coursework in the provision of mental health services via telehealth, which must include law and ethics related to telehealth. This is a ONE TIME requirement. 
  • Additional Information from the California State Board Website: Additional Information from the California State Board Website: As of July 1, 2017, the Board no longer keeps a list of valid CE Providers. Associates and Licensees are responsible for finding and verifying that a CE Provider is accepted by the BBS. The Board does not have the ability to verify if a provider's approval is in good standing or not. Please refer to the sections below for places to find CE courses. The following organizations are recognized by the Board as approval agencies for CE Providers: American Psychological Association (APA), Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB), California Association of Marriage and Family Therapists (CAMFT), California Psychological Association (CPA), National Association of School Psychologists (NASP), National Association of Social Workers (NASW), and National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC).

  • Required for Renewal: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: Please see below for detailed information. 
  • Permitted Online: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal. 20 CE Hours under the professional development hours for "coursework" and 20 CE hours under the professional development category of "independent study". Please read additional information below regarding professional development activities and categories. 
  • Acceptable CE: Colorado does not pre-approve CE courses or providers nor does Colorado endorse or acknowledge certification organizations for CE course approval. My CE Solution meets the acceptable CE criteria as stated in the requirements set forth in the State rules. 
  • Additional Information from the Colorado State Board Website: The program consists of the following steps: 1. Complete the Professional Practice Survey and Self-Assessment. 2. Create a Learning Plan. 3. Execute the Learning Plan. Completion of forty (40) Professional Development Hours (PDH) through the Professional Development Activities (PDA) is required. 4. Document the completed Professional Development Hours (PDH). Rules for Accruing PDH: You must complete at least 40 PDH during each 2-year license period. No more than 20 PDH will be credited in a single PDA category during a 2-year license period. A maximum of five (5) hours can be carried from the last license period to the next if the hours were earned within three (3) months of the license expiration date and are in excess of the required 40 hours. PDH must develop your professional skill and be directly relevant to your competence in marriage and family therapy, the behavioral health field, and your learning goals. Unless otherwise noted, PDH cannot be accrued for activities that fulfill duties for your primary role or job description. The Board does not pre-approve or accredit specific educational providers or programs. Continuing competency requirements apply to all licensees in Active status – regardless of current employment status or number of hours worked. The Board does not accept serving on a federal, state or municipal board or commission as a CPD activity.

  • Required for Renewal: 15 CE Hours Every Year
  • Special Course Requirements: 1 CE Hour in Cultural Competency Each Renewal. 2 CE Hours Mental Health Conditions Common to Veterans and Family Members of Veterans Each Renewal. Please see below for detailed information.
  • Permitted Online: 15 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC)
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the Connecticut State Board Website: Each licensee applying for license renewal shall complete a minimum of 15 hours of qualifying continuing education during the one-year period for which the license has been renewed. For registration periods beginning on and after October 1, 2014, each licensee shall complete not less than one contact hour of training or education in each registration period on the topic of cultural competency. For registration periods ending after January 1, 2016, each licensee applying for renewal is required to complete at least two contact hours of training or education (and not less than once every six years thereafter) on the topic of mental health conditions common to veterans and family members of veterans, including (A) determining whether a patient is a veteran or family member of a veteran, (B) screening for conditions such as post-traumatic stress disorder, risk of suicide, depression and grief, and (C) suicide prevention training. 
  • Additional Information from the Connecticut State Board Website: Qualifying continuing education activities include the following: Courses offered or approved by the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (AAMFT) or its affiliates; courses accredited, approved or offered by the Commission on Accreditation for Marital and Family Therapist Education (COAMFTE), National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC), the American Counseling Association (ACA), the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the American Association of Social Workers (AASW), the American Psychological Association (APA), or their affiliates, provided the coursework is clearly related to maintaining skills necessary for the safe and competent practice of marital and family therapy; courses offered or approved by institutions accredited by the Commission on Accreditation for Marital and Family Therapist Education (COAMFTE); graduate coursework in or related to the discipline of marital and family therapy field offered by a regionally accredited academic institution , either audited or by credit; or programs in or related to the discipline of marital and family therapy sponsored or approved by a regionally accredited academic institution, provided the coursework is clearly related to maintaining skills necessary for the safe and competent practice of marital and family therapy.

 

  • Required for Renewal: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 3 CE Hours of Ethics Each Renewal. 3 CE Hours of Cultural Inclusion, Equity, & Diversity Each Renewal.
  • Permitted Online: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal. 
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC)
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the Delaware State Board Website: 12.2.2 Acceptable CE shall include the following: 12.2.2.1 CE hours approved by a national mental health organization or substance abuse treatment organization or their local affiliates, such as the National Board for Certified Counselors, Inc. (NBCC), American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (AAMFT), the International Family Therapy Association (IFTA), NAADAC, The Delaware Certification Board, Inc. or National Association for Social Work (NASW), the Art Therapy Credentials Board (ATCB), or the American Psychological Association (APA) are acceptable, regardless of course content, and do not need to be approved by the Board.
  • Additional Information from the Delaware State Board Website: Renewal and Continuing Education 12.1 Renewal Date – All licenses shall be renewable biennially on September 30th of even-numbered years. License renewal is accomplished online at the Division of Professional Regulation’s website. 12.2 Continuing Education (CE) Requirements for LPCMHs, LCDPs, LMFTs, and LPATs (Associate License holders are not required to complete CEs) 12.2.1 Licensees must complete at least 40 acceptable CE hours, including 3 hours of continuing education in ethics and 3 hours in cultural inclusion, equity, and diversity, during the previous licensure period in order to renew their license. CE requirements for initial licensure periods of less than 2 years shall be prorated as follows: 12.2.1.1 If the license was granted between April 1 and September 30 of an even-numbered year, the licensee must complete 0 hours of CE during the initial licensing period. 12.2.1.2 If the license was granted between October 1 of an odd-numbered year and March 31 of an even-numbered year, the licensee must complete 10 hours of CE, including 1 hour in ethics and 1 hour in cultural inclusion, equity, and diversity, during the initial licensing period. 12.2.1.3 If the license was granted between April 1 and September 30 of an odd-numbered year, the licensee must complete 20 hours of CE, including 1 hour in ethics and 1 hour in cultural inclusion, equity, and diversity, during the initial licensing period. 12.2.1.4 If the license was granted between October 1 of an even-numbered year and March 31 of an odd-numbered year, the licensee must complete 30 hours of CE, including 1 hour in ethics and 1 hour in cultural inclusion, equity, and diversity, during the initial licensing period.

  • Required for Renewal: 30 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 6 CE Hours of Ethics Each Renewal. 3 CE Hours of Course Content in the Subjects Determined by the Director of Public Health as Priorities of the District Each Renewal. 2 CE Hours of CE Related to the LGBTQ Community Each Renewal. See below for additional information.
  • Permitted Online: 15 CE Hours Each Renewal 
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC)
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the District of Columbia Board Website: 7707 CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS 7707.4 To qualify for the renewal of a license, an applicant shall have completed thirty (30) hours of approved continuing education during the two (2)-year period preceding the date the license expires, subject to the following requirements: (a) A minimum of fifteen (15) of the thirty (30) hours shall be completed in a live, face-to-face setting that provides for direct, real-time interaction between presenter(s) and participants; (b) Six (6) hours of the thirty (30) hours shall be in ethics; (c) Ten percent (10%) of the total required continuing education shall be in the subjects determined by the Director as public health priorities of the District, which shall be duly published every five (5) years or as deemed appropriate; (d) Continuing education may be in current and emerging issues in marriage and family therapy such as the study of: (1) Non-traditional families; (2) Domestic violence; (3) HIV; (4) Aging; (5) End-of-life issues; (6) Addiction and psychopharmacology; or (7) Trauma; and (e) Applicants seeking the renewal of a license after December 31, 2018, shall also have completed two (2) hours of LGBTQ continuing education. 7707.5 To qualify for a license, a person in inactive status within the meaning of section 511 of the Act (D.C. Official Code § 3-1205.11 (2001)) who submits an application to reactivate a license shall have completed thirty (30) hours of approved continuing education meeting the requirements of § 7707.4 for each licensing period that the license was in inactive status.
  • Additional Information from the District of Columbia Board Website: 7707.8 The Board shall accept for continuing education credit any credits or courses approved or accredited by the following organizations: (a) The American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (AAMFT);  (b) The National Association of Social Workers (NASW);(c) The American Psychological Association (APA); (d) The National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC); (e) The American Counseling Association (ACA); or (f) Other state Marriage and Family Therapy boards. 7708 APPROVED CONTINUING EDUCATION PROGRAMS AND ACTIVITIES 7708.1 The Board may, in its discretion, approve continuing education programs and activities that contribute to the growth of an applicant in professional competence in the practice of marriage and family therapy and that meet the other requirements of this section. 7708.2 The Board may approve the following types of continuing education if the programs or activity meets the requirement of section 7708.1: (a) An undergraduate or graduate course given at an accredited college or university; (b) A seminar or workshop; (c) An educational program given at a conference; (d) Engaging in instructional hours while serving as an instructor or speaker at an institution of higher learning, conference, seminar, workshop, or in-service training; (e) Professional writing, excluding reprints or republications of previously published materials, published within the two (2) years prior to the license  renewal date, which consist of articles or books that meet the following requirements: (1) Journal articles shall be published in professional journals; and (2) Chapters authored in books acceptable under this section; (f) Participation in research as a principal investigator or research assistant; and (g) Informal study or a home study program (documented by title, author, name of topic, time spent, written summary, and date(s) completed) carried out individually that is approved by the Board. 7708.3 A continuing education program shall meet all of the following requirements: (a) Be current in its subject matter and taught by qualified individuals; (b) Be approved by the Board; and (c) Meet one of the following requirements: (1) Be administered or approved by a health care organization, accredited health care facility, or accredited college or university; or (2) Be submitted by the program sponsors to the Board for review no less than sixty (60) days prior to the date of the presentation and be approved by the Board. 7708.4 The Board may issue and update a list of approved continuing education programs or providers. 

 

  • Required for Renewal: 30 CE Hours Each Renewal 
  • Special Course Requirements: 2 CE Hours of Medical Errors Each Renewal. 3 CE Hours of Ethics and Boundaries OR Telehealth Each Renewal. 2 CE Hours of Domestic Violence Each Renewal. 3 CE Hours of Florida Laws and Rules Each Renewal. 
  • Permitted Online: 30 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC) 
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Important Information: My CE Solution does NOT report CE to CE Broker. 

  • Required for Renewal: 35 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 5 CE Hours of Ethics Each Renewal- which is required to be a synchronous learning activity. 
  • Permitted Online: A maximum of 10 CE Hours Each Renewal 
  • Acceptable CE: Georgia does not endorse or pre-approve individual CE providers or organizations. Georgia accepts CE from, "A professional association in the specialty in which the license is held," and "A licensing or certification board in another jurisdiction which regulates the specialty in which the license is held. If the board is a composite board, the activity must be specifically approved for continuing education in the specialty in which the license is held." See below for additional information. 
  • Additional Information from the Georgia State Board Website: Continuing Education Requirements: (a) Thirty-five (35) hours of continuing education are required to be obtained within the two (2) year biennial licensure cycle to renew each license, including associate level licenses. The biennial licensure cycle is the two (2) year period beginning October 1st of each even numbered year, and ending on September 30th of every subsequent even numbered year. 1. When the license is initially issued during the second year of the licensure cycle, on or after October 1st of each odd numbered year, no continuing education is required for the initial, first renewal of the license. 2. At the next renewal cycle the licensee must comply with all continuing education requirements. 3. When a master social worker, associate professional counselor, or an associate marriage and family therapist level license is superseded by the issuance of a clinical social worker, a professional counselor or a marriage and family therapist license, Rule 135-9-.01(2)(a)(1) above does not apply, and the licensee is required to meet continuing education hours required for license renewal as set forth in Chapter 135-9. (b) A minimum of five (5) of the thirty-five (35) hours shall be specifically designated as continuing education in professional ethics relating to any of the specialties of professional counseling, social work, or marriage and family therapy. Ethics hours shall be obtained through synchronous activities only. (c) Of the remaining thirty (30) hours, a minimum of fifteen (15) shall be core hours and not more than fifteen (15) shall be related hours. (d) A maximum of ten (10) hours of continuing education may be obtained asynchronously for each two-year renewal period. (e) Core hours shall be obtained through synchronous or asynchronous activities sponsored, co-sponsored, or approved by: 1. A professional association in the specialty in which the license is held. 2. An academic department in the specialty in which the license is held: (i) Graduate level coursework will meet continuing education requirements only when offered by an academic department in the specialty in which the license is held and when the department is in an education institution accredited by a body acceptable to the Board set forth in Chapter 135-5. (ii) One (1) academic semester hour of graduate level coursework shall be equivalent to fifteen (15) hours of continuing education, and one (1) academic quarter hour of course credit shall be equivalent to ten (10) hours of continuing education, up to a maximum of twenty (20) hours. 3. A licensing or certification board in another jurisdiction which regulates the specialty in which the license is held. If the board is a composite board, the activity must be specifically approved for continuing education in the specialty in which the license is held. (f) Related hours are continuing education hours acquired in activities in a specialty other than the one in which the license is held or in the allied professions of psychiatry, psychiatric nursing or psychology. Related hours may be obtained from: 1. Activities sponsored, co-sponsored, or approved by professional associations in the specialties of professional counseling, social work, marriage and family therapy or the allied professions for psychiatry, psychiatric nursing or psychology or allied health specialties. 2. Activities sponsored, co-sponsored, or approved by an academic department in the specialties of professional counseling, social work, marriage and family therapy or the allied professions of psychiatry, psychiatric nursing, or psychology. (i) Graduate level coursework will meet continuing education requirements only when offered by an academic department in the specialty in which the license is held and when the department is in an education institution accredited by a body acceptable to the Board as set forth in Chapter 135-5. (ii) One (1) academic semester hour of graduate level coursework shall be equivalent of fifteen (15) hours of continuing education, and one (1) academic quarter hour of course credit shall be equivalent to ten (10) hours of continuing education. 3. Activities sponsored, co-sponsored, or approved by a licensing or certification board in another jurisdiction which regulates the specialties of professional counseling, social work, marriage and family therapy or the allied professions of psychiatry, psychiatric nursing or psychology. 4. Activities sponsored by federal, state, or local government agencies and licensed hospitals. (g) Independent Study is limited to five (5) hours. Neither ethics nor core hours may be obtained through independent study. If selected for a continuing education audit at renewal, the licensee shall submit a notarized affidavit attesting to number of hours of independent study completed. (h) The professional association, academic department, licensing or certification board, state, or local government agency, or licensed hospital that sponsors, co-sponsors or approves the continuing education activity shall certify the number of clock hours of education content in each activity. The certificate of attendance for the continuing education hours should include whether the activity was synchronous or asynchronous. (i) A Standards Committee may, in its discretion, accept continuing education hours obtained from sources substantially similar to those listed in (e) and (f) above. (j) No more than twenty (20) hours of continuing education shall be from any one continuing education or academic coursework, workshop, or presentation. This limit does not apply to professional conferences which offer multiple presentations. (k) Any continuing education hour may be applied towards the renewal of a license in more than one specialty, provided that the continuing education hour meets the requirements set out in (e) or (f) above. (l) Continuing education hours earned in professional ethics exceeding the five (5) required for renewal may be applied to meet requirements for core or related hours when they meet the requirements set out in (e) or (f) above. (m) If, at the Board's request, a licensee completes a peer review of an alleged violation of the law or the Board's Rules, the licensee shall satisfy the five (5) hours of continuing education required in professional ethics. Such a review must be submitted as a written report to the Board.

 

  • Required for Renewal: 45 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 6 CE Hours Each Renewal 
  • Permitted Online: 45 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC)
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the Hawaii State Board Website: §451J-10 Renewal of license. (a) Licenses shall be renewed triennially on or before December 31, with the first renewal deadline occurring on December 31, 2001. Failure to renew a license shall result in a forfeiture of the license. Licenses that have been forfeited may be restored within one year of the expiration date upon payment of renewal and restoration fees, and in the case of marriage and family therapists or licensed marriage and family therapist audited pursuant to subsection (f), documentation of continuing education compliance. Failure to restore a forfeited license within one year of the date of its expiration shall result in the automatic termination of the license. Persons with terminated licenses shall be required to reapply for licensure as a new applicant. (b) Beginning with the renewal for the licensing triennium commencing on January 1, 2017, through December 31, 2019, and prior to every triennial renewal thereafter, each licensee shall: (1) Pay all required fees; and (2) Complete a minimum of forty-five credit hours of continuing education courses within the three-year period preceding the renewal date; provided that a minimum of six credit hours shall be in ethics courses. (c) A first-time licensee shall not be subject to the continuing education requirement established under subsection (b)(2) for the first license renewal. (d) Each licensee shall maintain the licensee's continuing education records. At the time of renewal, each licensee shall certify under oath that the licensee has complied with the continuing education requirement of this section. The director may require a licensee to submit evidence satisfactory to the director that demonstrates compliance with the continuing education requirement of this section. 

  • Required for Renewal: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 6 CE Hours of Ethics Each Renewal 
  • Permitted Online: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC)
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the Idaho State Board Website: 425. CONTINUING EDUCATION. All licensees must complete in each twenty-four-month period preceding the renewal of a license, forty (40) contact hours of continuing education. A contact hour is one (1) hour of actual participation in a continuing education activity, exclusive of breaks. (3-28-23) 01. Contact Hours. The contact hours of continuing education must be obtained in areas of study germane to the practice for which the license is issued as approved by the Board. No less than six (6) contact hours for each renewal period must be in ethics, which must be specific to legal issues, law, or ethics.  h. Home Study and On-line Education. There is no limit to the contact hours that a licensee may obtain in this category during each reporting period. Home study or on-line courses qualify for contact hours, provided that the course is provided by a Board-approved continuing education provider or a course pre-approved by the Board. Verifying documentation is a copy of the certification that is verified by the authorized signatures from the course instructors, providers, or sponsoring institution and substantiates any hours completed by the licensee. A licensee seeking contact credit for reading a publication must submit results from a test on the information contained within the publication and administered by an independent third-party. (3-28-23)
  • Additional Information from the Idaho State Board Website: Continuing Education - Rule 425 Every person holding an Idaho license as a Professional Counselor, Clinical Professional Counselor, Associate Marriage and Family Therapist, or a Marriage and Family Therapist must complete in each twenty-four month period preceding the renewal of a license, forty (40) contact hours of continuing education. A contact hour is one (1) hour of actual participation in a continuing education activity, exclusive of breaks. Contact Hours. The contact hours of continuing education must be obtained in areas of study germane to the practice for which the license is issued as approved by the Board. No less than six (6) contact hours for each renewal period must be in ethics, which must be specific to legal issues, law, or ethics. Therapeutic workshops, retreats and other self-help activities are not considered continuing education training unless specific parts of the experience are applicable to counseling or therapy practice. For more specifics regarding continuing education please review Rule 425  The rules do not require that all continuing education courses that you attend be pre-approved by the Board. It requires “The contact hours of continuing education must be obtained in areas of study germane to the practice for which the license is issued as approved by the Board.” (425.01) Presentations germane to your practice are usually acceptable to the Board. Offerings in association with or under the auspices of providers listed below as “approved by the Board” are acceptable, without question. If you are reluctant to take a class from a presenter not on this pre-approved list you might approach the presenter and ask if he has sought or is willing to pursue pre-approval. Pre-approval eliminates any question of the course being acceptable for your continuing education requirement. BOARD APPROVED CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES - National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC).

 

 

  • Required for Renewal: 30 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 1 CE Hour of Sexual Harassment Prevention Training Each Renewal.
     1 CE Hour of Implicit Bias Awareness Training Each Renewal. 1 CE Hour of Alzheimer's Education Each Renewal. A Mandatory Court Reporting Training is required within 3 months of employment in an atmosphere where one is a mandatory court reporter and then every three years thereafter. This requirement does not specify the CE Hour requirement. 
  • Permitted Online: 30 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: Illinois accepts CE approved from the American Association of Marriage & Family Therapists (AAMFT) and CE providers approved by the Illinois Board. My CE Solution is not approved by AAMFT. My CE Solution is not approved by the Illinois Board. 
  • Additional Information from the Illinois State Board Website: CE hours may be earned through completion of a distance learning course (e.g., pre-recorded online course/program, live online course/program, by mail, computer, etc.) that is offered by an approved sponsor who meets the requirements set forth in subsection (c). Each course shall include an examination.
  • Additional Information from the Illinois State Board Website: TITLE 68: PROFESSIONS AND OCCUPATIONS CHAPTER VII: DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL AND PROFESSIONAL REGULATION SUBCHAPTER b: PROFESSIONS AND OCCUPATIONS PART 1283 MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPY LICENSING ACT SECTION 1283.110 CONTINUING EDUCATION Section 1283.110 Continuing Education a) Continuing Education Hours Requirements 1) Beginning with the 1999 license renewal and every renewal thereafter, every licensee who applies for renewal of a license as a marriage and family therapist shall complete within the pre-renewal period 30 hours of continuing education (CE) relevant to the practice of marriage and family therapy. 2) A pre-renewal period is the 24 months preceding February 28 of each odd-numbered year. 3) One CE hour shall equal one clock hour. 4) A renewal applicant shall not be required to comply with CE requirements for the first renewal of an Illinois license. 5) Marriage and family therapists licensed in Illinois but residing and practicing in other states shall comply with the CE requirements set forth in this Section.

  • Required for Renewal: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal. 20 CE Hours must be Category 1 Each Renewal. See below for additional information.  
  • Special Course Requirements: 2 CE Hours of Ethics Each Renewal
  • Permitted Online: 40 CE Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC)
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the Indiana State Board Website: Category I Continuing Education- continuing education that is formal programming, which includes the following: Formally organized courses. Workshops. Seminars. Symposia. Institutes. Home study programs, including: computer; audio; video; and instructional programs, accredited by board-approved organizations. Courses that are relevant to the license holder’s professional skills, which are part of the curriculum of an accredited university, college, or educational institution, shall earn fifteen (15) CEUs for each academic semester hour completed, or ten (10) CEUs for each academic quarter hour completed. Faculty teaching a course for the first time at an accredited university, college, or educational institution shall earn one and one-half (1½) CEUs for every hour taught. Category II Continuing Education- continuing education that is self-directed. NOTE: You are not required to earn any Category II hours; however, if you do use Category II hours towards you CEU requirement then you may acquire no more than 20 Category II CEUs per renewal cycle. Category II CE can be considered the following: Journal clubs, earns one (1) CEU for each hour attended. Office in-services, earns one (1) CEU for each hour attended. Case conferences that are specifically designed for training or teaching, earns one (1) CEU for each hour attended. Services as an instructor, presenter, or supervisor in a relevant professional seminar, workshop, or training conference earns one (1) CEU for each hour of service, but only for the initial instruction, presentation, or supervision given. Research and publication of research results in a recognized professional journal or book form, earns ten (10) CEUs, but may only be claimed for the initial publication of the information. Providing peer review of another licensee’s therapy and skills, which includes consultation, conference, and critique, earns one (1) CEU for each hour spent with the peer for this purpose. Services on boards and commissions and holding office in professional organizations, specifically related to the licensee’s profession, earns one (1) CEU for each hour of service.
  • Additional Information from the Indiana State Board Website: Can I take all of my CEUs in one year or do they have to be split evenly throughout the renewal period? You can take as many CEUs as you like as long as you take at least 20 CEUs per year, a minimum of 10 of those hours must be Category I.

  • Required for Renewal: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 3 CE Hours of Ethics Each Renewal. 2 CE Hours of Dependent Adult Abuse Identification and Reporting. This is required within the first 6 months of employment and then requires recertification every 3 years. 2 CE Hours of Child Abuse Identification and Reporting. This is required within the first 6 months of employment and then requires recertification every 3 years. 
  • Permitted Online: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: Iowa does not pre-approve CE courses or providers nor does Iowa endorse or acknowledge certification organizations for CE course approval. My CE Solution meets the acceptable CE criteria as stated in the requirements set forth in the State rules.   
  • Additional Information from the Iowa State Board Website: 645—32.2(272C) Continuing education requirements. 32.2(1) The biennial continuing education compliance period shall extend for a 25-month period beginning on September 1 of the even-numbered year and ending on September 30 of the next even-numbered year. Each biennium, each person who is licensed to practice as a licensee in this state shall be required to complete a minimum of 40 hours of continuing education approved by the board. 32.2(2) Requirements of new licensees. Those persons licensed for the first time shall not be required to complete continuing education as a prerequisite for the first renewal of their licenses. Continuing education hours acquired anytime from the initial licensing until the second license renewal may be used. The new licensee will be required to complete a minimum of 40 hours of continuing education per biennium for each subsequent license renewal. 32.2(3) Hours of continuing education credit may be obtained by attending and participating in a continuing education activity. These hours must be in accordance with these rules. 32.2(4) No hours of continuing education shall be carried over into the next biennium except as stated for the second renewal. A licensee whose license was reactivated during the current renewal compliance period may use continuing education earned during the compliance period for the first renewal following reactivation. 32.2(5) It is the responsibility of each licensee to finance the cost of continuing education. [ARC 5011C, IAB 3/25/20, effective 4/29/20] https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ACO/chapter/645.32.pdf
  • Additional Information from the Iowa State Board Website: The Bureau of Professional Licensure does not pre-approve continuing education providers, sponsors or individual programs. It is the licensees’ responsibility to determine if the continuing education programs they attend meet the requirements of their professional licensure board. Additional Information from the Iowa State Board Website: 645—32.3(154D,272C) Standards. 32.3(1) General criteria. A continuing education activity which meets all of the following criteria is appropriate for continuing education credit if the continuing education activity: a. Constitutes an organized program of learning which contributes directly to the professional competency of the licensee; b. Pertains to subject matters which integrally relate to the practice of the profession c. Is conducted by individuals who have specialized education, training and experience by reason of which said individuals should be considered qualified concerning the subject matter of the program. At the time of audit, the board may request the qualifications of presenters. d. Fulfills stated program goals, objectives, or both; and e. Provides proof of attendance to licensees in attendance including: (1) Date(s), location, course title, presenter(s); (2) Number of program contact hours; and (3) Certificate of completion or evidence of successful completion of the course provided by the course sponsor. 32.3(2) Specific criteria. Continuing education hours of credit may be obtained by completing the following: a. Attendance at workshops, conferences, symposiums and webinars. b. Academic courses. Official transcripts indicating successful completion of academic courses which apply to the field of mental health counseling or marital and family therapy, as appropriate, will be necessary in order to receive the following continuing education credits: 1 academic semester hour = 15 continuing education hours 1 academic quarter hour = 10 continuing education hours c. Completion of independent study courses that meet the general criteria in subrule 32.3(1). d. A maximum of 20 hours of continuing education credit may be granted for any of the following activities not to exceed a combined total of 20 hours: (1) Presenting professional programs which meet the criteria in 645—32.3(272C). Two hours of credit will be awarded for each hour of presentation. A course schedule or brochure must be maintained for audit. Presentation at a professional program does not include teaching class at an institution of higher learning at which the applicant is regularly and primarily employed. Presentations to lay public are excluded. (2) Scholarly research or other activities, the results of which are published in a recognized professional publication such as a refereed journal, monograph or conference proceedings. The scholarly research must be integrally related to the practice of the professions. (3) Publication in a refereed journal. The article in a refereed journal for which the licensee is seeking continuing education credit must be integrally related to the practice of the professions. (4) Teaching in an approved college, university, or graduate school. The licensee may receive credit on a one-time basis for the first offering of the course. (5) Authoring papers, publications, and books. The licensee shall receive five hours of credit per page with a maximum of 20 hours of credit. (6) Serving on a state or national professional board. The licensee shall receive a maximum of three hours of credit. 32.3(3) Required specific criteria: a. Three hours of the 40 continuing education hours shall be in ethics. b. Effective with the biennial continuing education compliance period that begins October 1, 2022, persons serving in a supervisory role must complete three hours of continuing education in supervision. c. Effective July 1, 2019, a licensee who regularly examines, attends, counsels or treats adults in Iowa shall complete, within six months of employment or prior to the expiration of a current certification, an initial two-hour course in dependent adult abuse training for mandatory reporters offered by the department of human services. Thereafter, all mandatory reporters shall take a one-hour recertification training every three years, prior to the expiration of a current certification. d. Effective July 1, 2019, a licensee who regularly examines, attends, counsels or treats children in Iowa shall complete, within six months of employment or prior to the expiration of a current certification, an initial two-hour course in child abuse training for mandatory reporters offered by the department of human services. Thereafter, all mandatory reporters shall take a one-hour recertification training every three years, prior to the expiration of a current certification. [ARC 2845C, IAB 12/7/16, effective 1/11/17; ARC 5011C, IAB 3/25/20, effective 4/29/20]
  • Additional Information from the Iowa State Board Website: As of July 1, 2023, Professional Licensing and other health and occupational licenses will become part of the Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing (DIAL) as a new organizational structure for state government goes into effect. Government departments and agencies that provide related services or have similar business functions are aligning to better serve Iowans. You can expect the same quality services you get now from HHS to continue as usual. 

  • Required for Renewal: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 3 CE Hours of Ethics Each Renewal. 6 CE Hours in the Diagnosis and Treatment of Mental Health Disorders Each Renewal. 
  • Permitted Online: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE:  Kansas does not pre-approve CE courses or providers nor does Kansas endorse or acknowledge certification organizations for CE course approval. My CE Solution meets the acceptable CE criteria as stated in the requirements set forth in the State rules.    
  • Additional Information from the Kansas State Board Website: 102-5-10. Continuing education for licensees. (a) Each licensee shall complete 40 hours of documented and approved continuing education during each two-year renewal period. Continuing education hours accumulated in excess of the required number of hours shall not be carried over to the next renewal period. (b) During each two-year renewal period as a part of the required continuing education hours, each licensee shall complete a program on professional ethics that consists of at least three hours of formal training. This program shall meet the definition of marriage and family therapy continuing education in K.A.R. 102-5-1, and the program shall focus on ethical issues of the marriage and family therapy profession. These hours shall be obtained from any of the activities specified in paragraphs (d)(1), (d)(2), (d)(3), (d)(4), (d)(9), and (d)(10).  (c) Any licensee may receive continuing education credit for attending approved programs. Continuing education credit shall be granted on the basis of the actual contact time that the licensee spends attending each instructional activity. One-quarter continuing education hour may be granted for attending at least 15 but fewer than 30 minutes. Continuing education credit shall not be granted for fractional units of fewer than 15 minutes. (d) Acceptable continuing education, whether taken within the state or outside the state, shall include the following: (1) An academic marriage and family therapy course, or an academic course oriented to the enhancement of a marriage and family therapist's practice, values, ethics, skills, or knowledge, that is taken for academic credit. Each licensee shall be granted 15 continuing education hours for each academic credit hour that the licensee successfully completes. The maximum number of allowable continuing education hours shall be 40;  (2) an academic marriage and family therapy course, or an academic course oriented to the enhancement of a marriage and family therapist's practice, values, ethics, skills, or knowledge, that is audited. The licensee may receive continuing education credit on the basis of the actual contact time that the licensee spends attending the course, up to a maximum of 15 hours per academic credit hour. The maximum number of allowable continuing education hours shall be 40;  (3) a seminar, institute, workshop, course, or minicourse. The maximum number of allowable continuing education hours shall be 40;  (4) if a posttest is provided, an activity consisting of completing of a computerized interactive learning module, viewing a telecast or videotape, listening to an audiotape, or reading. The maximum number of allowable continuing education hours shall be 40;  (5) if a posttest is not provided, an activity consisting of completing a computerized interactive learning module, viewing a telecast or videotape, listening to an audiotape, or reading. The maximum number of allowable continuing education hours shall be 10;  (6) a cross-disciplinary offering in medicine, law, the behavioral sciences, a foreign or sign language, computer science, professional or technical writing, business administration, management sciences, or any other discipline, if the offering is clearly related to the enhancement of a marriage and family therapist's practice, values, ethics, skills, or knowledge. The maximum number of allowable continuing education hours shall be 10; (7) a self-directed learning project that is preapproved by the board. The maximum number of allowable continuing education hours shall be 10; (8) providing supervision to undergraduate or graduate practicum or intern students, applicants for licensure as clinical marriage and family therapists, or other mental health practitioners. The maximum number of allowable continuing education hours shall be 15; (9) preparing for and presenting for the first time a marriage and family therapy course, seminar, institute, workshop, or mini-course. The maximum number of allowable continuing education hours shall be 10 for documented preparation and presentation time; (10) the first-time publication of a marriage and family therapy article in a juried professional journal. The maximum number of allowable continuing education hours shall be 10; and (11) participation in professional organizations or appointment to professional credentialing boards, if the goals of the organizations or boards are clearly related to the enhancement of marriage and family therapy practice, values, ethics, skills, and knowledge. Participation may include holding office or serving on committees of the organization or board. The maximum number of allowable continuing education hours shall be 10. (e) Approval shall not be granted for identical programs if the programs are completed within the same renewal period. (f) Approval shall not be granted for any of the following activities: (1) First aid, CPR, infection control, or occupational health and safety courses; (2) in-service training, if the training is for job orientation or job training, or is specific to the employing agency; or (3) any activity for which the licensee cannot demonstrate to the board's satisfaction that the program's goals and objectives are to enhance the licensee's practice, ethics, values, skills, or knowledge in marriage and family therapy. (g) Each licensee shall maintain individual continuing education records. Continuing education records shall document the licensee's continuing education activity attendance, participation, or completion as specified in K.A.R. 102-5-11. Any licensee may be required to submit these records to the board at least 30 days before the date the individual's license expires. (Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 65-6407 and 74-7507; effective March 29, 1993; amended Dec. 19, 1997; amended July 11, 2003.)
     https://ksbsrb.ks.gov/docs/default-source/regulations/marriage-and-family-therapists/102-5-10.pdf?sfvrsn=8afd8885_4
  • Additional Information from the Kansas State Board Website: 65-6407. Licensure; expiration and renewal; continuing education; reinstatement of suspended or revoked license; notice of change of address. (a) An applicant who meets the requirements for licensure pursuant to this act, has paid the license fee provided for by K.S.A. 65-6411, and amendments thereto, and has otherwise complied with the provisions of this act shall be licensed by the board. (b) Licenses issued pursuant to this act shall expire 24 months from the date of issuance unless revoked prior to that time. A license may be renewed upon application and payment of the fee provided for by K.S.A. 65-6411, and amendments thereto. The application for renewal shall be accompanied by evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant has completed during the previous 24 months the continuing education required by rules and regulations of the board. As part of such continuing education, the applicant shall complete not less than six continuing education hours relating to diagnosis and treatment of mental disorders and not less than three continuing education hours of professional ethics. (c) A person whose license has been suspended or revoked may make written application to the board requesting reinstatement of the license upon termination of the period of suspension or revocation in a manner prescribed by the board, which application shall be accompanied by the fee provided for by K.S.A. 65-6411, and amendments thereto. (d) Within 30 days after any change of permanent address, a licensee shall notify the board of such change. History: L. 1991, ch. 114, § 7; L. 1996, ch. 153, § 22; L. 1999, ch. 117, § 22; L. 2016, ch. 92, § 47; July 1. https://www.ksrevisor.org/statutes/chapters/ch65/065_064_0007.html

  • Required for Renewal: 15 CE Hours Each Renewal 
  • Special Course Requirements: 3 CE Hours Each Renewal. 6 CE Hours in Suicide Assessment, Treatment, and Management every six (6) years. These hours shall be in addition to the requirements. See additional information below. 
  • Permitted Online: 15 CE Hours Each Renewal 
  • Acceptable CE: Kentucky accepts CE from providers approved by the American Association of Marriage and Family Therapists (AAMFT) and CE from providers approved by the Kentucky Board. My CE Solution is not an approved provider by AAMFT. My CE Solution is not an approved CE provider by the Kentucky Board. 
  • Additional Information from the Kentucky State Board Website: 201 KAR 32:060, Section 3 states, "(3) An approved continuing education sponsor is a person or organization which is approved by the board to provide more than one (1) continuing education program over a two (2) consecutive calendar year period of time." You can find the continuing education Sponsors, that are approved by the board during their monthly meetings, inside the current year's list below. If you have any questions concerning these approvals, please contact the board office. 201 KAR 32:060, Section 1 states, "(1) A minimum of fifteen (15) approved continuing education hours shall be accrued by each licensee and a minimum of ten (10) approved continuing education hours shall be accrued by each associate during each one (1) year renewal period." "(2) All hours shall be in "the practice of marriage and family therapy" as defined by KRS 335.300(4) and shall relate to the professional application of psychotherapeutic and systems theories and techniques in the delivery of services to individuals, couples, and families. (3) Three (3) hours of the hours required by subsection (1) of this section for licensees and associates shall be accrued in the field of professional marriage and family therapy ethics."
  • Additional Information from the Kentucky State Board Website: 201 KAR 32:060. Continuing education requirements. RELATES TO: KRS 194.540, 210.366, 335.300(4), 335.340 STATUTORY AUTHORITY: KRS 335.320(4), (9), 335.340(7) NECESSITY, FUNCTION, AND CONFORMITY: KRS 335.320(4) requires the board to license marriage and family therapist applicants who satisfy experience and education requirements and have paid the fee required in KRS 335.330. KRS 335.320(9) requires the board to promulgate administrative regulations to implement KRS 335.330 to 335.339. KRS 335.340(7) authorizes the board to promulgate administrative regulations to establish the fees and other requirements for a permit as a marriage and family therapy associate. This administrative regulation establishes the requirements for continuing education and the methods and standards for the accreditation of continuing education courses. Section 1. Accrual of Continuing Education Hours; Computation of Accrual. (1) Effective January 1, 2017, a minimum of fifteen (15) approved continuing education hours shall be accrued by each licensee and a minimum of ten (10) approved continuing education hours shall be accrued by each associate during each one (1) year renewal period.(2) All hours shall be in "the practice of marriage and family therapy" as defined by KRS 335.300(4) and shall relate to the professional application of psychotherapeutic and systems theories and techniques in the delivery of services to individuals, couples, and families. (3) Three (3) hours of the hours required by subsection (1) of this section for licensees and associates shall be accrued in the field of professional marriage and family therapy ethics. (4) Commencing on January 1, 2017, each licensee and associate shall be required to show proof of completion of six (6) hours of continuing education in suicide assessment, treatment, and management every six (6) years beginning January 1, 2015 as required by KRS 210.366. These hours shall be in addition to the requirements set forth in subsection (1) of this section unless preapproved by the board as meeting the requirements set forth in subsection (2) of this section or meets requirements of Section 2 of this administrative regulation. (5) Within three (3) years of initial licensure or certification, each licensee and associate shall successfully complete a three (3) hour training that covers dynamics of domestic violence, elder abuse, neglect, and exploitation; effects of domestic violence and elder abuse, neglect, and exploitation on adult and child victims; legal remedies for protection; lethality and risk issues; model protocols for addressing domestic violence and elder abuse, neglect, and exploitation; available community resources and victim services and reporting requirements as required by KRS 194A.540. Section 2. Methods of Acquiring Continuing Education Hours. Continuing education hours applicable to the renewal of the license or permit shall be directly related to the professional growth and development of marriage and family therapy practitioners and associates. Education hours shall be earned by completing any of the educational activities established in this section. (1) Programs not requiring board review and approval. Programs from the following sources shall be determined as relevant to the practice of marriage and family therapy and shall be approved without further review by the board: (a) Programs provided or approved by the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (AAMFT) and its state affiliates; (b) Academic courses as defined in 201 KAR 32:010; and (c) Continuing education programs offered by Commission on Accreditation for Marriage and Family Therapy Education accredited institutions. (2) Programs requiring board review and approval. Programs from the following sources shall be reviewed and may be determined to be relevant and subsequently approved by the board: (a) Relevant programs including online study courses, manualized training, and face-to-face workshops, by other organizations, educational institutions, or other service providers approved by the board; (b) Relevant programs or academic courses presented by the licensee. Presenters of relevant programs or academic courses may earn full continuing education credit for each contact hour of instruction, not to exceed one-half (1/2) of the continuing education renewal requirements. Credit shall not be issued for repeated instruction of the same course; and (c) Relevant publications in a professionally recognized or juried publication. Credit shall not be granted except for those publications that were published within the one (1) year period immediately preceding the renewal date. A licensee shall earn one-half (1/2) of the continuing education hours required for a relevant publication. More than one (1) publication shall not be counted during each renewal period.

  • Required for Renewal: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 3 CE Hours of Ethics Each Renewal. 6 CE Hours of Assessment, Diagnosis & Treatment under the DSM-V Each Renewal. Please see below for additional information.
  • Permitted Online: 20 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: The Louisiana LMFT Board accepts CE from providers certified by the American Association of Marriage and Family Therapists (AAMFT). My CE Solution is not a certified CE provider by AAMFT. The Louisiana LMFT Board will review CE at the time of renewal for CE earned by providers not approved by AAMFT to determine if the CE meets the LMFT Board acceptable CE criteria. Based on the acceptable CE criteria noted in the LMFT rules My CE Solution meets the standards for acceptable CE criteria.  
  • Additional Information from the Louisiana State Board Website: A. General Guidelines 1. A licensee must accrue 40 clock hours of continuing education by every renewal period every two years. 2. One continuing education unit (CEU) is equivalent to one clock hour. 3. Accrual of continuing education begins only after the date the license was issued. 4. Continuing education hours accrued beyond the required 40 clock hours may not be applied toward the next renewal period. Renewal periods run from January 1 to December 31. 5. The licensee is responsible for keeping a personal record of his/her continuing education hours until official notification of renewal is received. Licensees should not forward documentation of CEHs to the board office as they are accrued. 6. At the time of renewal 10 percent of the licensees will be audited to ensure that the continuing education requirement is being met. Licensees audited will be requested by letter to submit documentation as specified in §3503.B of their continuing education hours. 7. Licensees will be asked in the renewal application to note any changes in areas of expertise. The advisory committee, at its discretion, may require the licensee to present satisfactory documentation supporting these changes. 8. A licensee must accrue three clock hours of training in ethics that specifically addresses ethics for licensed marriage and family therapy as defined in Subparagraph C.3.e every renewal period. A generic ethics class will not be acceptable. 9. A licensee must accrue six clock hours of training in diagnosis every renewal period that specifically addresses the assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of clinical conditions under the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5), as published by the American Psychiatric Association on May 18, 2013. This required training may be specific to the diagnosis, assessment, and treatment of a particular condition and/or may be general training in diagnosis, assessment, and treatment under the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5), as published on May 18, 2013 10. Those licensed marriage and family therapists who hold another license that requires continuing education hours may count the continuing education hours obtained for that license toward their LMFT CEH requirements. Of the 40 CEHs submitted, however, 20 hours must be in the area of marriage and family therapy with an emphasis upon systemic approaches or the theory, research, or practice of systemic psychotherapeutic work with couples or families including three clock hours of ethics specific to marriage and family therapy and six clock hours specific to diagnosis. 11. The approval of and requirements for continuing education are specified in Subsection C. AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:1101-1123. HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of Examiners, LR 29:160 (February 2003), repromulgated LR 29:581 (April 2003), amended LR 29:2789 (December 2003), LR 41:752 (April 2015).
  • Additional Information from the Louisiana State Board Website: C. Approved Continuing Education for Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists 1. Continuing education requirements are meant to ensure personal and professional development throughout an individual's career. 2. An LMFT may obtain the 40 clock hours of continuing education through the options listed. Effective January 1, 2017, a maximum of 20 CEHs may be obtained through an online format, with the exception of coursework obtained through a regionally accredited institution of higher education. All continuing education hours may be obtained through Subparagraph a or 20 of the 40 hours may be obtained through Subparagraph b: a. Direct participation in a structured educational format as a learner in continuing education workshops and presentations or in graduate coursework (either for credit or audit). i. The advisory committee will accept workshops and presentations approved by the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (AAMFT) and its regional or state divisions including the Louisiana Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (LAMFT). Contact them directly to find out which organizations, groups, or individuals are approved providers. Graduate coursework either taken for credit or audit must be from a regionally accredited college or university and in the areas of marriage and family therapy described in Paragraph C.3. ii. Licensees may receive one clock hour of continuing education for each hour of direct participation in a structured educational format as a learner. Credit cannot be given to persons who leave early from an approved session or to persons who do not successfully complete graduate coursework. iii. Continuing education taken from organizations, groups, or individuals not holding provider status by one of the associations listed in Clause i will be subject to approval by the advisory committee at the time of renewal. (a). The advisory committee will not pre-approve any type of continuing education. (b). The continuing education must be in one of the seven approved content areas listed in §3503.C and given by a qualified presenter. (c). A qualified presenter is someone deemed by the advisory committee to be a professional in marriage and family therapy, another mental health profession, or another profession with information, knowledge, and skills relevant to the practice of marriage and family therapy. (d). One may receive one clock hour of continuing education for each hour of direct participation in a structured educational format as a learner. (e). Credit cannot be granted for business/governance meetings; breaks; and social activities including meal functions, except for the actual time of an educational content speaker. (f). Credit may not be given for marketing the business aspects of one's practice, time management, supervisory sessions, staff orientation, agency activities that address procedural issues, personal therapy, or other methods not structured on sound educational principles or for content contrary to the LMFT Code of Ethics (Chapter 43).
  • Additional Information from the Louisiana State Board Website:  iii. Continuing education taken from organizations, groups, or individuals not holding provider status by one of the associations listed in Clause i will be subject to approval by the advisory committee at the time of renewal. (a). The advisory committee will not pre-approve any type of continuing education. (b). The continuing education must be in one of the seven approved content areas listed in §3503.C and given by a qualified presenter. (c). A qualified presenter is someone deemed by the advisory committee to be a professional in marriage and family therapy, another mental health profession, or another profession with information, knowledge, and skills relevant to the practice of marriage and family therapy. (d). One may receive one clock hour of continuing education for each hour of direct participation in a structured educational format as a learner. (e). Credit cannot be granted for business/governance meetings; breaks; and social activities including meal functions, except for the actual time of an educational content speaker. (f). Credit may not be given for marketing the business aspects of one's practice, time management, supervisory sessions, staff orientation, agency activities that address procedural issues, personal therapy, or other methods not structured on sound educational principles or for content contrary to the LMFT Code of Ethics (Chapter 43). 3. Continuing education hours must be relevant to the practice of marriage and family therapy and generally evolve from the following seven areas. a. Theoretical Knowledge of Marriage and Family Therapy. Continuing education in this area shall contain such content as the historical development, theoretical and empirical foundations, and contemporary conceptual directions of the field of marriage and family therapy and will be related conceptually to clinical concerns. b. Clinical Knowledge of Marriage and Family Therapy: Continuing education in this area shall contain such content as: i. couple and family therapy practice and be related conceptually to theory; ii. contemporary issues, which include but are not limited to gender, violence, addictions, and abuse, in the treatment of individuals, couples, and families from a relational/systemic perspective; iii. a wide variety of presenting clinical problems; iv. issues of gender and sexual functioning, sexual orientation, and sex therapy as they relate to couple, marriage and family therapy theory and practice; v. diversity and discrimination as it relates to couple and family therapy theory and practice. c. Assessment and Treatment in Marriage and Family Therapy. Continuing education in this area shall contain such content from a relational/systemic perspective as psychopharmacology, physical health and illness, traditional psycho-diagnostic categories, and the assessment and treatment of major mental health issues. d. Individual, Couple, and Family Development. Continuing education in this area shall contain such content as individual, couple, and family development across the lifespan. e. Professional Identity and Ethics in Marriage and Family Therapy. Continuing education in this area shall contain such content as: i. professional identity, including professional socialization, scope of practice, professional organizations, licensure and certification; ii. ethical issues related to the profession of marriage and family therapy and the practice of individual, couple and family therapy. Generic education in ethics does not meet this standard; iii. the AAMFT Code of Ethics, confidentiality issues, the legal responsibilities and liabilities of clinical practice and research, family law, record keeping, reimbursement, and the business aspects of practice; iv. the interface between therapist responsibility and the professional, social, and political context of treatment. f. Research in Marriage and Family Therapy. Continuing education in this area shall include significant material on research in couple and family therapy; focus on content such as research methodology, data analysis and the evaluation of research, and include quantitative and qualitative research. g. Supervision in Marriage and Family Therapy: Continuing education in this area include studies in theory and techniques of supervision as well as ethical and legal issues, case management, and topics relative to the specific supervised training. AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:1101-1123. HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of Examiners, LR 29:160 (February 2003), repromulgated LR 29:581 (April 2003), amended LR 29:2789 (December 2003), LR 41:752 (April 2015).

  • Required for Renewal: 55 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 4 CE Hours of Ethics Each Renewal. 12 CE Hours of Domestic Violence Training. The Domestic Violence Training is a one time requirement. 
  • Permitted Online: 55 CE Hours Each Renewal 
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC)    
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the Maine State Board Website: 55 Hours of Continuing Education Required for License Renewal activities directly relating to the theory and practice of professional counseling during the preceding license biennium. The 55 hours must meet the subject matter distribution requirements contained in Section 2 of this chapter and the eligibility requirements contained in Section 3 of this chapter. Ethics Component At least four hours of the 55 contact hours of continuing education required by this chapter shall relate to subjects addressed in the Code of Ethics contained in Chapter 8-A of the board’s rules. Unallocated Hours The remaining hours of the 55 contact hours of continuing education required by this chapter shall relate to any aspect of the theory or practice of professional counseling, including any additional hours in ethics in excess of the 4-hour minimum. Eligible Continuing Education Activities; Documentation Continuing education activities directly relating to the theory and practice of professional counseling may be offered by departments of regionally-accredited institutions, by national, state or local professional organizations or associations, by public or private human services organizations, or by private consultants or individuals. All continuing education activities completed by a licensee, including informal home study, formal home study courses and on line, internet and other distance learning programs, must be documented by a signed certificate issued by the sponsor or peer consultant, an official academic transcript, or other reliable written proof of completion that is acceptable to the board. The documentation must include the date and time span of the activity, the name of the presenter, course or program, and the number of contact hours earned.  5. Transition Period Licensees renewing before January 1, 2011 may satisfy the continuing education obligation by (a) meeting the requirements of this chapter, or (b) meeting the requirements of former Chapter 8, Section 4 of the board’s rules as that provision existed immediately prior to its repeal. Licensees renewing on or after January 1, 2011 shall satisfy the continuing education obligation by meeting the requirements of this chapter exclusively. STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 32 MRSA §§ 13853(2), 13853(11), 13858(8), 13860(2) EFFECTIVE DATE: November 30,2009.
  • Additional Information from the Maine State Board Website: Eligible Continuing Education Activities; Documentation Continuing education activities directly relating to the theory and practice of professional counseling may be offered by departments of regionally-accredited institutions, by national, state or local professional organizations or associations, by public or private human services organizations, or by private consultants or individuals. All continuing education activities completed by a licensee, including informal home study, formal home study courses and on line, internet and other distance learning programs, must be documented by a signed certificate issued by the sponsor or peer consultant, an official academic transcript, or other reliable written proof of completion that is acceptable to the board. The documentation must include the date and time span of the activity, the name of the presenter, course or program, and the number of contact hours earned. The licensee’s attestation of completion of continuing education is subject to audit pursuant to Chapter 13 of the rules of the Office of Licensing and Registration, entitled “Uniform Rule for the Substantiation of Continuing Education Requirements.”

  • Required for Renewal: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal - 30 CE Hours Must Be Category A and No More Than 10 CE Hours May Be Category B. 
  • Special Course Requirements: Implicit Bias Training is a one time requirement. The Implicit Bias Training does not specify a required number of CE.  Please see below for additional information. 
  • Permitted Online: 10 CE Hours Each Renewal. My CE Solution courses are online and considered Category B. See below for additional information. 
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC)
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the Maryland State Board Website: Title 10 MARYLAND DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH Subtitle 58—BOARD OF PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS AND THERAPISTS Chapter 05—Continuing Education Authority: Health Occupations Article, §17-205, Annotated Code of Maryland .01 Scope. This chapter applies to all professional counselors and therapists who wish to renew or reinstate their licensure or certification in the State. 02 Definitions. A. In this chapter, the following terms have the meanings indicated. B. Terms Defined. (1) "Accredited institution of higher education" means a college or university accredited by a national or regional accrediting body recognized by the Council on Post-Secondary Accreditation. (2) "Activity" means any program, publication, course, institute, seminar, lecture, conference, workshop, symposium, or professional meeting that meets the criteria and objectives of continuing education. (3) "Approved program" means an activity that has been reviewed and approved by the Board for Category A credit. (4) "Authorized sponsor" means an organization or individual reviewed and authorized by the Board, or automatically eligible, to present Category A programs. (5) "Board" means the State Board of Examiners of Professional Counselors and Therapists. (6) "Committee" means the Advisory Committee for Continuing Education, appointed by the Board, consisting of at least one member of the Board. (7) "Continuing education" means additional professional activities beyond that required for certification or licensure. (8) "Continuing education unit (CEU)" means 60 minutes of activity that is approved by the Board to fulfill the continuing education requirements. (9) "Course" means a series of meetings with defined content and systematic presentation with an instructor, as an expert, who imparts information to the participants. (10) "Home study" means independent study that: (a) Is not evaluated by a formal process documenting a minimum mastery of materials; and (b) Does not issue a verification of program completion. (11) "Renewal date" means the date upon which a certificate or license expires, as specified in the notice sent to the certified or licensed professional counselor by the Board in accordance with Health Occupations Article, §§17- 309(b) and 17-3A-08(b), Annotated Code of Maryland. (12) "Renewal period" means the 2-year period immediately before the renewal date. (13) "Seminar" means a meeting or meetings of highly experienced participants or experts with an expert leader who conducts a discussion on a specific topic. (14) "Symposium" means a presentation or presentations by two or more speakers with different views on a specific topic and with a discussant who summarizes the issues. (15) "Workshop" means a meeting or meetings of general sessions and face-to-face groups with a leader, an expert in the defined content area, who imparts information to participants who have ample opportunity to interact. .03 Requirements. A. CEU Requirements. The certificate or license holder shall complete a minimum of 40 CEUs in each renewal period, as follows: (1) At least 30 CEUs shall be in Category A activities and not more than 10 CEUs may be in Category B activities; or (2) All 40 CEUs may be in Category A activities. B. CEUs that are in excess of requirements may not be carried over to the next renewal period. C. A certificate or license holder who has a renewal period of less than 2 years shall complete a minimum of 20 Category A CEUs for that renewal period. D. Proof of Completion. (1) A license or certificate holder shall attest to completion of required CEUs at the time of renewal or reinstatement, on a form supplied by the Board. (2) The license or certificate holder shall obtain the requisite documentation of CEU attendance and retain this documentation for the succeeding 4 years for possible inspection by the Board. (3) Required Documentation of Category A and Category B Activities. (a) The required documentation of Category A activities as defined in Regulations .04 and .05 of this chapter include: (i) Certificates of participation; (ii) Transcripts; (iii) Reprints of publications; (iv) Proof of presentations; or (v) Any other information necessary to verify compliance with the requirements of Regulations .04 and .05 of this chapter. (b) The required documentation of Category B activities as defined in Regulations .04 and .06 of this chapter, include: (i) Dates; (ii) Names of presenters; (iii) Outlines of presentations; (iv) Topics of meetings; or (v) Any other information necessary to verify compliance with the requirements of Regulations .04 and .06 of this chapter. (4) The license or certificate holder shall demonstrate that the CEU activity fell within the renewal period. .04 Continuing Education Qualifications. A. To qualify for approval by the Board, continuing education activities shall employ didactic and experiential methods to meet one of the following objectives: (1) Maintain professional competency; (2) Increase professional skills and knowledge; (3) Prepare for new roles or responsibilities in the practice of counseling or therapy; or (4) Expand the science of counseling and therapy theory, method, or practice. B. The following activities are specifically excluded from continuing education credit and do not meet any required objective: (1) Business meetings, professional committee meetings, and meetings concerned with the management of a professional practice; (2) Presentations and publications intended for a lay audience; and (3) Home study. .05 Categories of Continuing Education — Category A. A. The Board may approve the following activities for CEUs in Category A: (1) Attending formally organized Category A programs as follows: (a) The programs shall meet the following criteria: (i) The program is offered by a sponsor approved by the Board to present Category A programs, (ii) The program is intended for a professional mental health audience, (iii) The program has a stated purpose and defined content area, (iv) Presenters are professionals qualified in the defined content area, (v) The program's time period is clearly stated, (vi) Registration and attendance is recorded by the program's sponsor, (vii) Documentation of completion is provided, and (viii) Participants are required to complete an evaluation of the program; and (b) The program may be formally organized and classified as a course, workshop, seminar, or symposium; (2) Developing and presenting a Category A program which is credited as follows: (a) Up to 3 hours of CEU credit may be claimed by the presenter for each hour of presentation of the program with a maximum of 20 CEUs; (b) Up to 3 hours of CEU credit may be claimed for each hour of presentation, at a professional or scientific organization, of a professional or scientific paper prepared by the licensee or certificate holder, with a maximum of 6 CEUs per paper; and (c) Each program may be credited only once in each renewal period; or (3) Authoring, editing, or reviewing a juried publication with CEUs earned only in the year of publication, and only to the following extent: (a) Author of a book—maximum of 40 CEUs; (b) Author of a book chapter or journal article—maximum of 15 CEUs; (c) Editor of a book—maximum of 30 CEUs; (d) Editor of a scientific or professional journal recognized by the Board—maximum of 30 CEUs for each year of service; or (e) Reviewer of a professional book, scientific journal, or professional journal recognized by the Board— maximum of 10 CEUs for each year of service. B. When a certificate holder or licensee, after meeting the education requirements for certification or licensure at the degree level at which the licensee or certificate holder became certified or licensed, completes for credit semester hours of qualifying graduate-level or undergraduate-level course work at an accredited institution of higher education, each semester hour is considered the equivalent of 15 hours of CEUs. .06 Categories of Continuing Education — Category B. A. The Board may approve the following activities for CEUs in Category B: (1) Attendance at or presentation of informal courses, in-house colloquia, invited speaker sessions, in-house seminars, and case conferences which are specifically designed for training, teaching, or both; (2) Attendance at or presentation of informal non-publicized programs offered at professional or scientific meetings of local, state, regional, national, and international professional or scientific organizations; or (3) Individualized learning, such as receiving formal professional supervision (except administrative supervision), participation in peer case conference or peer supervision groups, and participation in distance learning programs with evidence of appropriateness, minimum mastery of materials, and completion. B. Programs that do not meet the criteria for Category A may be eligible for Category B if the programs meet the objectives of this chapter. .07 Authorization of Sponsored Continuing Education Programs. A. Authorizing Sponsored Programs. (1) The Board shall establish a committee to advise the Board on continuing education. (2) The committee shall evaluate and the Board may authorize applicants to sponsor Category A programs. (3) The committee may recommend Board approval of programs by authorized sponsors for Category A according to the objectives stated in Regulations .04A and .05 of this chapter. B. Criteria for Program Eligibility. (1) The Board shall evaluate each continuing education program submitted on the basis of the following criteria: (a) Relevance of the subject matter to increase or support the development of skill and competence in counseling or therapy; (b) Objectives of specific information or skill to be learned; (c) Program content, educational methods, materials, and facilities used, including the frequency and duration of sessions and the adequacy to implement objectives; and (d) Sponsorship and leadership of programs, including: (i) The qualifications of the sponsoring individual or organization, (ii) Program leaders if different from sponsors, and (iii) The contact person if different from those in §B(1)(d)(i) or (ii) of this regulation. (2) A program sponsored by the American Counseling Association, the National Board for Certified Counselors, the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy, the National Association of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselors, the International Certification and Reciprocity Consortium/Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse, Inc., any other national or international organization, or their regional or state affiliates is automatically approved by the Board for Category A, unless otherwise excluded. (3) A program sponsored by an accredited institution of higher education and state departments of health is automatically approved by the Board for Category A, unless otherwise excluded. (4) The following may be authorized to sponsor Category A programs upon application and approval by the Board: (a) National, state, or local professional, scientific, or mental health organizations; (b) Those individuals certified or licensed by the Board; and (c) Other agencies, institutions, or organizations providing continuing education programs in the interest of carrying out the intent of Health Occupations Article, §§17-309 and 17-3A-08, Annotated Code of Maryland, and Regulations .04 and .05 of this chapter.
  • Additional Information from the Maryland State Board Website: E. WHO ARE BOARD APPROVED SPONSORS? Programs sponsored by the American Counseling Association, the National Board for Certified Counselors, the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy, the National Association of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselors, the International Certification & Reciprocity Consortium/Alcohol & Other Drug Abuse, or their regional or state affiliates. Also, programs sponsored by accredited institutions of higher education and state department of health and mental hygiene.
  • Required for Renewal: Implicit Bias Training Requirement: Enacted under Article II, § 17(c) of the Maryland Constitution, The law requires all health care practitioners in Maryland to attest that they have completed an implicit bias training program on their license renewal application. At the time of renewal, you will need to have completed one of the implicit bias training courses approved by the Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities (MHHD). Please note the courses listed do not count towards your continuing education hours but will satisfy the implicit bias training requirement for licensure renewal. You will attest to the completion of the training by checking the appropriate box in your renewal application. You are only required to attest to the completion of the training once. You will not need to repeat this attestation during subsequent renewals. This is for license renewals on or after 4/1/2022. 

  • Required for Renewal: 30 CE Hours Each Renewal 
  • Special Course Requirements: 2 CE Hours of Domestic Violence and Sexual Violence Training. The  Domestic Violence and Sexual Violence Training is required from an approved provider and is a one time requirement.  The following are "encouraged" CE by the Board: 3 CE Hours of Ethics Each Renewal, 3 CE Hours in Anti-discrimination Each Renewal, and 3 CE Hours in Supervision for licensees who supervise clinical work of students, interns, or others for each renewal. See below for additional information. 
  • Permitted Online: 15 CE Hours Each Renewal 
  • Acceptable CE: The Board accepts CE from providers certified by the following:  Massachusetts Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (MAMFT) and American Association of Marriage and Family Therapy (AAMFT). My CE Solution is not a certified CE provider by  the Massachusetts Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (MAMFT). My CE Solution is not a certified CE provider by the American Association of Marriage and Family Therapy (AAMFT).
  • Additional Information from the Massachusetts State Board Website: The Board encourages licensees to obtain some contact hours in the following areas as part of the “30 contact hours of continuing education activities” required in each renewal cycle by 262 CMR 7.03(1): Three (3) contact hours of Ethics; Three (3) contact hours of Anti-Discrimination; and Three (3) contact hours of Supervision training for Licensees who supervise clinical work of students, interns, or others.
  • Additional Information from the Massachusetts State Board Website: Licensees may obtain up to 50% of their required CEUs on line or via home study. 
  • Additional Information from the Massachusetts State Board Website: Mandated Training In Domestic And Sexual Violence-  To renew your license, you must complete a Board-approved training in domestic and sexual violence. If you cannot attest that you have completed the training, your license will not be renewed, even if you complete and submit the renewal. A list of approved trainings, including a free online training, is available here. You only need to complete an approved training once and not again before each renewal. You will receive credit for 2 CEs for the licensing cycle in which you take the training.
  • Additional Information from the Massachusetts State Board Website: All continuing education must be approved by a recognized entity. Approved CE Entities for LMFT's is as follows: Massachusetts Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (MAMFT) and American Association of Marriage and Family Therapy (AAMFT). The Massachusetts Board DOES NOT grant approval of individual courses. If you have a course that was not previously approved by a recognized entity, you would need to contact that recognized entity to seek individual course approval. This applies to alternative means of obtaining CEUS. Some entities MAY grant approval for writing a chapter or book, teaching a course, etc.     

 

  • Required for Renewal: Michigan does not have a specific number of CE requirements for renewal. 
  • Special Course Requirements: 2 CE Hours of Implicit Bias Training. Human Trafficking. Please see information below. 
  • Permitted Online: All CE May Be Earned Online.
  • Acceptable CE: Michigan does not pre-approve CE courses or providers nor does Michigan endorse or acknowledge certification organizations for CE course approval. My CE Solution meets the acceptable CE criteria as stated in the requirements set forth in the State rules.  
  • Additional Information from the Michigan State Board Website: Implicit Bias Training – Beginning June 1, 2022, individuals seeking licensure must have completed at least 2 hours of implicit bias training within the five years immediately preceding issuance of the license.
  • Additional Information from the Michigan State Board Website: Human Trafficking – Individuals seeking licensure must have completed training in identifying victims of human trafficking that meets the standards in Administrative Rule 338.1771 prior to being issued a license. The training must only be completed one time. 
  • Required for Renewal: The law for Marriage & Family Therapy does not require continuing education for renewal. You are responsible for maintaining your competence in your profession, but you do not have to demonstrate the ways you are doing that for renewal. Rule 338.7202 requires licensees to complete one time training in identifying victims of human trafficking beginning with the 2017 renewal cycle. This training requirement will need to be completed prior to the license renewal in 2019. Applicants who apply for a license after March 17, 2021 will be required to have completed the required training in identifying the victims of human trafficking. The one-time human trafficking training may be done through: a teleconference or a webinar, online presentation, live presentation, or printed or electronic media. The training must cover all of the following: understanding the types and venues of human trafficking in MI or the US; identifying victims of human trafficking in healthcare settings; identifying the warnings signs of human trafficking in health care settings  for adults and minors; and the resources for reporting suspected victims of human trafficking. The training may be offered through a nationally recognized or state recognized, health related organization, by or in conjunction with a state or federal agency, an approved training program, college or university, or by reading a relevant article in a peer review journal, health care journal or scientific journal. If audited, licensees are to have an appropriate certificate or self-certify. Beginning June 1, 2022, completion of 2 hours of implicit bias training within the 5 years immediately preceding issuance of the license or registration is required. For initial renewals completed after June 1, 2022, completion of one hour of implicit bias training is required for each year of licensure since June 1, 2021. Once the initial renewal is completed, then 1 hour of implicit bias training will be required for each year of the current license cycle going forward. Please note, this training must be completed for each renewal cycle prior to the renewal being completed. 

  • Required for Renewal: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 3 CE Hours of Ethics Each Renewal. 4 CE Hours of Cultural Competency Each Renewal. 
  • Permitted Online: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: The Minnesota LMFT Board requires all CE to be approved by the Board. My CE Solution courses are not approved by the Minnesota LMFT Board. 
  • Additional Information from the Minnesota State Board Website: 5300.0320 CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS. Subpart 1. Purpose of continuing education. The purpose of mandatory continuing education is to: A. promote the health and safety of the residents of Minnesota who receive services from licensees; and B. promote the continuing professional competence of providers of these services. The continued development and maintenance of competence are ongoing activities and the ethical responsibility of each licensee. Continuing education is only required of licensed marriage and family therapists. Licensed associate marriage and family therapists are not required to complete continuing education for license renewal. Subp. 2. Continuing education requirements. Licensees must complete a minimum of 40 hours of board-approved continuing education every two years. Three hours in ethical and professional studies education covering professional ethics, family law, professional socialization, professional organizations, legal issues, or interprofessional cooperation must be included in the required 40 hours. Board-approved supervisors must meet the continuing education requirements specified in part 5300.0170, item D. The required number of hours shall be prorated for persons who are initially licensed during a given reporting period. Licensed marriage and family therapists must attest to the board as to completion of the required hours upon renewal of the license in each odd-numbered year.
  • Additional Information from the Minnesota State Board Website: NEW FOR 2022-2023 CE REPORTING PERIOD: Cultural Competency CE Requirement The 2021 MN Legislature amended the MFT Practice Act to require every LMFT complete four hours of Cultural Competency continuing education. Four (4) hours of continuing education training must address the following: [1] increasing the knowledge, understanding, self-awareness, and practice skills that enable a marriage and family therapist to serve clients from diverse socioeconomic and cultural backgrounds. Topics include but are not limited to: (1) understanding culture, its functions, and strengths that exist in varied cultures; (2) understanding clients' cultures and differences among and between cultural groups; (3) understanding the nature of social diversity and oppression; and (4) understanding cultural humility.

  • Required for Renewal: 24 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 4 CE Hours of Ethics Each Renewal. (Cannot be obtained online)
  • Permitted Online: 6 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: Mississippi accepts CE certified by the American Association of Marriage and Family Therapy (AAMFT), the Mississippi Association of Marriage and Family Therapy (MAMFT), Mississippi Board of Examiners for Social Workers and Marriage and Family Therapists, and the Association of Marital and Family Therapy Regulatory Boards. My CE Solution is not certified by the American Association of Marriage and Family Therapy (AAMFT), the Mississippi Association of Marriage and Family Therapy (MAMFT), the Mississippi Board of Examiners for Social Workers and Marriage and Family Therapists, or the Association of Marital and Family Therapy Regulatory Boards.
  • Additional Information from the Mississippi State Board Website: Information for Licensees A. Requirements for Licensees All licensed marriage and family therapists must complete twenty-four (24) Hours of approved continuing education during every two (2) year license period. Four (4) out of the 24 must be approved MFT professional ethics hours. All Board approved supervisors, including those with AAMFT Approved Supervisor standing, must complete two (2) approved hours of MFT supervision continuing education each renewal period. No supervision continuing education hours are required for the first renewal period. It is the responsibility of each licensee and supervisor to determine in advance that the continuing education activity has been approved by the MFT Continuing Education Committee. No continuing education hours are required for the first renewal period. 
  • Additional Information from the Mississippi State Board Website: B. Types of Acceptable Continuing Education Credit will be given only for continuing education programs or activities approved by the MFT Continuing Education Committee (a list is available on the Board’s website). To be acceptable to the MFT Continuing Education Committee continuing education offerings for LMFTs must conform to at least one of the seven content areas specified below under Criteria for Approval of Continuing Education Activities. A qualified presenter is someone found by the Board to be a professional in marriage and family therapy, another mental health discipline, or another profession with information, knowledge, and skills relevant to the practice of marriage and family therapy. The following types of continuing education activities are acceptable provided that the standards set forth below under Criteria for Approval of Continuing Education Activities have been met: 1. Continuing education activities related to the practice of marriage and family therapy offered by the American Association of Marriage and Family Therapy (AAMFT) and any of it’s divisions, including the Mississippi Association of Marriage and Family Therapy (MAMFT); Mississippi Board of Examiners for Social Workers and Marriage and Family Therapists; and the Association of Marital and Family Therapy Regulatory Boards are automatically approved by the MFT Continuing Education Committee.
  • Additional Information from the Mississippi State Board Website: 5. Self-Directed Learning Projects and/or Distance Learning/Internet (Online) Learning Courses: Continuing education hours for distance learning/internet learning courses will only be granted for courses offered by Designated Providers, MBOE approved providers or by prior approval by the MFT CE Committee on a per case basis. The MFT CE Committee will grant continuing education hours only after completion of the course and proof of successful completion of post-test, course examination, and/or evaluation from the online course provider. No more than 6 hours of the 24 required hours may be earned in this manner during each two year renewal period. Ethics continuing education credits may NOT be obtained this way. A list of approved ethics courses may be found on the Board’s Website.

 

  • Required for Renewal: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 2 CE Hours in Suicide Prevention Training Each Renewal
  • Permitted Online: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC)
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the Missouri State Board Website: Total of forty (40) hours of continuing education must be completed, prior to the expiration date of the license. At least twenty (20) hours of continuing education must be formal CE, documented with a certificate or letter of completion listing seminar/workshop title, date, number of hours and provider. At least two (2) hours in suicide prevention training must be completed. These hours can be formal continuing education or self-study. Remaining CE hours can be completed via self study, formal or a combination of formal and self study.
     https://pr.mo.gov/boards/marital/faq.pdf
  • Additional Information from the Missouri State Board Website: Section 337.718.1 RSMo requires certain health care professionals to complete at least two hours of continuing education in suicide assessment, referral, treatment, and management training, as a condition of the renewal of the license. The provision was effective August 28, 2018. The two (2) hours are applicable to the forty (40) continuing education requirement outlined below. Section RSMo 337.718.1 RSMo of the licensure law states, “…Effective August 28, 2008, as a prerequisite for renewal, each licensee shall furnish to the committee satisfactory evidence of the completion of the requisite number of hours of continuing education as defined by rule, which shall be no more than forty contact hours biennially. The continuing education requirements may be waived by the committee upon presentation to the committee of satisfactory evidence of illness or for other good cause.” Continuing education can be taken at any time within the biennial cycle however all hours must be completed prior to the expiration of the license. https://pr.mo.gov/boards/marital/faq.pdf
  • Additional Information from the Missouri State Board Website: Included, but not limited to the following, is a list of approved continuing education providers: American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy and any chapter or division of AAMFT; American Counseling Association and any chapter or division of ACA; American Medical Association and any chapter or division of AMA; American Mental Health Counselors Association and any chapter or division of AMHCA; Local, state, regional, or national psychological associations; Local, state, regional, or national social worker associations; National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC); Regionally accredited colleges and universities.

  • Required for Renewal: 20 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 2 CE Hours of Suicide Prevention Each Renewal
  • Permitted Online: 20 CE Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: Montana does not pre-approve CE courses or providers nor does Montana endorse or acknowledge certification organizations for CE course approval. My CE Solution meets the acceptable CE criteria as stated in the requirements set forth in the State rules. My CE Solution courses are compliant with the Montana acceptable CE criteria.  
  • Additional Information from the Montana State Board Website: 24.219.435 CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS – LCSW, LMSW, LBSW, LCPC, LMFT, LAC, and CBHPSS (1) Licensees are required to obtain 20 hours of continuing education (CE) annually, prior to renewal. (2) Licensees completing more than 20 hours of CE may carry forward those hours into the next year. The number of hours carried forward shall not exceed 20 hours. (3) Licensees holding more than one type of license must obtain the requisite 20 hours of CE for each license. (4) Of the 20 hours: (a) a minimum of two hours must relate to suicide prevention; and (b) a maximum ten hours may be for: (i) first-time preparation of a new course, in-service training workshop, or seminar which meets the criteria in (6); or (ii) preparation time by the author or authors of a paper which meets the criteria in (6) that is published for the first time in a recognized professional journal, or given for the first time at a statewide or national professional meeting. (5) Continuing education requirements will not apply until after the licensee's first renewal. (6) Licensees are responsible for selecting quality programs that focus on protecting the health, safety, and welfare of the public and contribute to licensees' professional knowledge and competence. 
  • Additional Information from the Montana State Board Website: Acceptable CE activities: (a) directly relate to the licensee's scope of practice as defined in board statute or rule; (b) review existing concepts and techniques; (c) convey information beyond the basic professional education; (d) update knowledge on the practice and advances in the profession; or (e) reinforce professional conduct or ethical obligations of the licensee.

 

  • Required for Renewal: 32 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 4 CE Hours of Ethics Each Renewal.  
  • Permitted Online: 32 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: Nebraska does not pre-approve CE courses or providers nor does Nebraska endorse or acknowledge certification organizations for CE course approval. My CE Solution meets the acceptable CE criteria as stated in the requirements set forth in the State rules.
  • Additional Information from the Nebraska State Board Website: Types of credentials issued by Nebraska: Provisionally Licensed Mental Health Practitioner (PLMHP) is a person who needs to obtain 3,000 hours of supervised experience in mental health practice in Nebraska. Provisional Certification as a Master Social Worker (PCMSW) is a person who needs to obtain 3,000 hours of supervised experience in social work in Nebraska. Licensed Independent Mental Health Practitioner includes diagnosis and treatment of major mental illness/disorders, without supervision or consultation. Licensed Mental Health Practitioner does NOT include: Diagnosing major mental illness or disorder except in consultation with a licensed independent mental health practitioner, qualified physician or licensed clinical psychologist. Certification Types (title protected): Certified Professional Counselor, Certified Marriage and Family Therapist, Certified Master Social Worker, Certified Social Worker (no exam required), Marriage and Family Therapists and Master Social Workers require specific supervision requirements. See the regulations for complete requirements CMSW or CSW: Anyone may provide “social work" activities/services. Social work activities do not require certification (or licensure); however, you must be certified in Nebraska in order to represent yourself as a Social Worker in Nebraska. Social work is the professional application of social work values, knowledge, principles, and methods in all areas of social work practice. CSW's cannot practice privately, independently, or autonomously and cannot provide mental health services. *Adding a certification to your license allows you to use a different title - it does not offer a different scope of practice/activity. https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/pages/mental-health-and-social-work-practice.aspx#:~:text=CE%3A%2032%20clock%20hours,mental%20disorders%20each%20renewal%20period.
  • Additional Information from the Nebraska State Board Website: Expiration Dates and Continuing Education: The expiration date is September 1 of even-numbered years. CE: 32 clock hours. All licensees and certificate holders must complete at least 4 hours of CE in ethics each renewal period. LIMHPs must complete at least 6 hours of CE relating to diagnosis and treatment of major mental disorders each renewal period. Nebraska does not review or approve CE offerings.
  • Additional Information from the Nebraska State Board Website: 012.03 TYPES OF ACCEPTABLE CONTINUING EDUCATION AND HOUR DETERMINATIONS. The following provides the types of continuing education that is considered acceptable for renewal and reinstatement and the hour determinations: (A) Completing academic credit during the renewal period. Academic credit is determined as follows: (i) 1 academic semester credit equals 15 continuing education credit hours and 1 credit audited equals 8 hours of continuing education. (ii) 1 academic quarter credit equals 10 continuing education credit hours and 1 credit audited equals 5 hours of continuing education. (iii) 1 academic trimester credit equals 14 continuing education credit hours and 1 credit audited equals 7 hours of continuing education. (B) Hours for teaching an academic course or supervising a practicum or internship is determined the same as 172 NAC 012.03(A) above. (C) 6 hours per renewal period can be obtained for supervising a provisional licensee or provisional certificate holder. (D) Hours for completing home study or video programs, including those transmitted through electronic means, are determined by the provider of the program. (E) Authoring a peer reviewed publication equals 16 hours. (F) 60 minutes equals 1 continuing education hour when attending or participating workshops, lectures, or interactive webinars.

  • Required for Renewal: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 6 CE hours of Ethics Each Renewal. 4 CE Hours of Suicide Prevention Each Renewal. 4 CE Hours of Cultural Competency and Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Each Renewal. 
  • Permitted Online: 20 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC)
  • CE Approval Information: CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs.   
  • Additional Information from the Nevada State Board Website: Pursuant to NAC 641A.131, to maintain licensure, a Marriage and Family Therapist or a Clinical Professional Counselor must complete 40 hours of continuing education during the biennial license, at least 6 hours of which must be on ethics issues specifically pertaining to he field of practice of the marriage and family therapy or the clinical professional counseling and 4 hours must specifically pertain to suicide prevention. If the marriage and family therapist or clinical professional counselor is an approved supervisor, at least 2 hours of the requirements of this subsection must be on issues specifically pertaining to supervising in the field of practice of the approved supervisor and must include education in at least one of the following: An overview of a supervision model; Areas of focus for a supervisor and the roles of a supervisor; The process of supervising and the practical application of that process; Ethical dilemmas involved in supervising; Methods of effectively addressing and preventing ethical dilemmas in supervising; or An overview of the supervision standards of the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy, the National Board for Certified Counselors or the Association for Counselor Education and Supervision, or the provisions of this chapter and chapter 641A of NRS relating to the practice of marriage and family therapy or the practice of clinical professional counseling, as applicable. A marriage and family therapist or clinical professional counselor shall not use more that 20 hours of “distance education” to satisfy the requirements. “distance education” means education, training, courses or programs that are delivered to a student who is geographically separate from the instructor in an asynchronous format. NOTE: Of the 40 required CEUs, one-half must be taken in a live seminar or webinar where it is possible to interact with the presenter/participants. The balance of the CEUs may be online courses. 
  • Additional Information from the Nevada State Board Website: Based on NV AB-267 enacted 6/5/2023 the cultural competency and diversity, equity and inclusion requirement increases to 6 hours per collection cycle as of January 1, 2024. 
  • Additional Information from the Nevada State Board Website: As of September 28, 2022, all licensees are required at least four (4) hours relating to cultural competency and diversity, equity and inclusion each renewal. 
  • Additional Information from the Nevada State Board Website: The Nevada Board accepts CE from providers certified by the National Board of Certified Counselors.

  • Required for Renewal: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal. 30 CE Hours are required to be Category A. No more than 10 CE Hours are permitted to be Category B. See below for additional information. 
  • Special Course Requirements: 6 CE Hours of Ethics Each Renewal. 3 CE Hours of Suicide Prevention Each Renewal. The special course requirements are required to be Category A. 
  • Permitted Online: 20 CE Hours of Category A Home Study Courses. My CE Solution meets the standards of Category A Home Study Courses. 
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC) 
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the New Hampshire State Board Website: PART Mhp 402 CONTINUING EDUCATION Mhp 402.01 Continuing Education Requirements. (a) Each licensee shall complete 40 approved continuing education hours (CEs) every 2 years. (b) At least 30 of the 40 CEs shall be completed from Category A as described in Mhp 402.02(a)-(d). (c) At least 6 of the 40 CEs shall be completed in ethics and shall be from Category A. (d) At least 3 of the 40 CEs shall be completed in suicide prevention, in accordance with RSA 330-A:10, XIV and shall be from Category A. (e) No more than 10 CEs shall be from Category B as described in Mhp 402.02(e). (f) When requested to do so by the board, the licensee shall be responsible for proving attendance at or participation in any continuing education hours submitted for license renewal. (g) Licensed members of the board and licensed members of the professional conduct investigation (PCI) committee shall receive 6 CEs per year to meet Mhp 402.01(c). Source. (See Revision Note at chapter heading for Psy 100) #5675, eff 7-22-93; EXPIRED: 7-22-99 New. #7625, eff 1-10-02, EXPIRED: 1-10-10 New. #9854, eff 1-25-11 (formerly Mhp 403.01); ss by #10762, eff 1-22-15; amd by #11023, eff 1-22-16; amd by #12900, eff 10-22-19; ss by #13311, eff 12-18-21 Mhp 402.02 Approved Continuing Education. (a) Category A CEs may be earned by: (1) Participation in seminars, workshops, or live, interactive webinars; (2) Participation in home study courses, up to a maximum of 20 CEs; (3) Preparation of a seminar, workshop, or live, interactive webinar which shall count as 10 CEs; or (4) Completion of graduate level coursework; (5) Publication of a peer reviewed professional book which shall count as 10 CEs; and (6) Publication of an article in a peer reviewed professional journal which shall count as 6 CEs per year. (b) Category A seminars, workshops, on-line and home study or other CEs shall be approved by one of the following groups: (1) American Psychological Association; (2) National Association of Social Workers; (3) National Board for Certified Counselors;  (4) American Association for Marriage and Family therapy;  (5) American Counseling Association; (6) American Medical Association; (7) American Mental Health Counselors Association; or (8) Association of Social Work Boards. (c) Category A graduate academic coursework shall include graduate courses from a department of psychology, social work, counseling, marriage and family therapy, or any other department in the behavioral sciences at a regionally accredited school, college or university or theological school. Each semester hour of course credit shall count as equivalent to 6 CEs. Quarter hours shall equate to 4 CEs.  (d) Category A CEs may be obtained by licensees for the teaching of such courses in (c), as follows:  (1) Preparation of a syllabus and teaching of a new course shall count as equivalent to 10 CEs; and  (2) Thorough updating of a course, including preparation of a new syllabus, review of the literature, preparation of reading lists and course assignments shall count as equivalent to 5 CEs.   (e) Category B credits may be earned through:  (1) Participation in mental health seminars or workshops not meeting the requirements of Category A;  (2) Publication of professional books; and  (3) Publication of articles in professional journals not to exceed 5 hours per year. Source. (See Revision Note at chapter heading for Psy 100) #5675, eff 7-22-93; EXPIRED: 7-22-99 New. #7625, eff 1-10-02, EXPIRED: 1-10-10 New. #9854, eff 1-25-11 (formerly Mhp 403.02); ss by #10762, eff 1-22-15; ss by #13311, eff 12-18-21

 

 

  • Required for Renewal: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 1 CE Hour Concerning Prescription Opioid Drugs (Including the risks and signs of opioid abuse, addiction, and diversion) Each Renewal. 3 CE Hours of Social and Cultural Competency Each Renewal.  5 CE Hours of Ethics and Legal Standards Related to Marriage and Family Therapy Each Renewal.
  • Permitted Online: 20 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC)
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the New Jersey State Board Website: Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:34-5.2(b), a marriage and family therapist must complete a minimum of 40 Continuing Education units (CEU) every two (2) years. Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:34-5.2(c),(d), and (f), five (5) CEU's must be in ethical and legal standards related to marriage and family therapy , three (3) must be in social and cultural competency, and at least one must be in educational programs or topics concerning opioid drugs. Refer to N.J.A.C. 13:34-5.3 for information about the approved continuing education course/program providers, and subject content.
  • Additional Information from the New Jersey State Board Website: 13:34-5.3 APPROVAL OF CONTINUING EDUCATION PROGRAMS AND COURSES a) The following are acceptable sources of continuing education, as long as the course, program or article is applicable to marriage and family therapy or falls within the content areas set forth in (c) or (d) below: 1) Courses and programs approved by the following: the National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC); the American Counseling Association (ACA); the American Psychological Association (APA); the American Psychiatric Association (APA); the National Association of Social Workers (NASW); the National Association of Social Workers-New Jersey (NASW-NJ); the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (AAMFT); the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy of New Jersey, Inc. (AAMFT-NJ); the Commission on Rehabilitation Counselors Certification (CRCC); the American OrthoPsychiatric Association; the American Medical Association (AMA); the American Nursing Association (ANA); the National Association of Drug Abuse Counselors (NADAC); a member of the International Certification and Reciprocity Consortium/Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse, Inc.; the Commission of Accreditation for Marriage and Family Therapy Education (COAMFTE); the American Family Therapy Association (AFTA); the American Society of Addiction Medicine; the Association for Marriage and Family Therapy Regulatory Boards (AMFTRB); the International Family Therapy Association (IFTA); and the Council on
  • Additional Information from the New Jersey State Board Website: A total of 20 CEUs may be earned online. The remaining 20 CEUs must be completed face-to-face, or synchronous (live interactive webinars) pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:34-5.2(b). 

 

  • Required for Renewal: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 12 CE Hours of Ethics Each Renewal
  • Permitted Online: 40 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC)
  • CE Approval Information: My CE Solution, LLC has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 7341. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. My CE Solution, LLC is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. 
  • Additional Information from the New Mexico State Board Website: To renew licenses for the next licensure renewal period, all registered and licensed professionals will be required to submit proof of 40 hours of continuing education which must have been acquired from October 1 of renewal year through September 30 of expiration year, which is a 2-year period. There are no longer requirements on how to get Continuing Education Units (CEUs); licensees may obtain them however they would like. All licensees must obtain 12 CEU hours of ethics. Independent licensed professionals who want to provide supervision must apply for the Approved Clinical Supervisor Designation. Application, fee, and proof of 9 required CEUs, 3 hours specific to counseling and therapy supervision and 6 specific to ethics in supervision, must be mailed in to the board.
  • Additional Information from the New Mexico State Board Website: 16.27.16.9 Acceptable Continuing Education Courses A. approved by local, state, national, or international mental health-related professional associations such as the National Board for Certified Counselors, the American Marriage and Family Therapy Regulatory Board, American Art Therapy Association, Art Therapy Credentials Board, International Certification Reciprocity Consortium, or the National Association of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Council; B. approved by other state regulatory boards of related mental health or substance abuse fields, including psychiatry, psychology, and social work; C. sponsored by international, national, regional, or state mental health professional associations including psychiatry, psychology, and social work, or state and federal divisions of substance abuse; D. approved by the New Mexico Counseling and Therapy Practice Board.

 

  • Required for Renewal: 36 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 3 CE Hours of Boundaries Each Renewal
  • Permitted Online: 12 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: New York requires all CE to be approved by the Board. My CE Solution is not approved by the New York Board. 
  • Additional Information from the New York State Board Website: Effective January 1, 2017, New York State Education Law requires each licensed marriage and family therapist (LMFT) to complete 36 hours of acceptable formal continuing education during each three-year registration period. However, there is a phase-in period for this requirement for licensees whose next registration period starts during the first three years after January 1, 2017. These licensees will have to complete one hour of acceptable formal continuing education for each month in their registration period after January 1, 2017.  https://www.op.nysed.gov/marriage-and-family-therapists
  • Additional Information from the New York State Board Website: To be acceptable the courses must be administered: by a New York State Education Department-approved provider; and in an approved subject area. Also, continuing education hours may be earned by: preparing and teaching a course offered by a Department-approved provider of marriage and family therapy continuing education, provided that the course being taught has not been presented on more than one occasion without presenting new or revised material; preparing and teaching a course, acceptable to the Department, at a higher education institution or a psychotherapy institute, as defined in section 79-10.8(a)(2) and (3) of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education, relating to the practice of licensed marriage and family therapy, provided that the course has not been taught by the licensee on more than one occasion without presenting new or revised material; making a technical presentation at a professional conference sponsored by an organization that is a Department-approved provider of licensed marriage and family therapy continuing education, provided that the presentation has not been offered on more than one occasion without presenting new or revised material; completing a self-study program, offered by a Department-approved provider, provided that self-study hours do not comprise more than twelve hours in any three-year registration period or one-third of the hours for a registration period other than three years; authoring a first-time article in the practice of marriage and family therapy published in a peer-reviewed journal or a chapter in a published book; and authoring a first-time book in the practice of licensed marriage and family therapy.
  • Additional Information from the New York State Board Website: As of April, 1, 2023, licensees are required three (3) hours on the topic of appropriate professional boundaries every renewal. Licensees with registration periods beginning prior to 4/1/2023 do not need to complete the coursework until their next registration period.

  • Required for Renewal: 20 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 3 CE of Ethics Each Renewal
  • Permitted Online: 20 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Acceptable CE: North Carolina does not pre-approve CE courses or providers nor does North Carolina endorse or acknowledge certification organizations for CE course approval. My CE Solution meets the acceptable CE criteria as stated in the requirements set forth in the State rules. My CE Solution courses are compliant with the North Carolina acceptable CE criteria.  
  • Additional Information from the North Carolina State Board Website: 21 NCAC 31 .0701 REQUIREMENTS FOR CONTINUING EDUCATION (a) Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists and Licensed Marriage and Family Therapy Associates shall submit each year with the license renewal forms evidence of 20 hours of continuing education credits in marriage and family therapy continuing education obtained subsequent to the prior license renewal. Evidence of completion shall consist of a certificate of attendance and completion signed by the continuing education provider and shall include date(s) of attendance, number of hours, name of attendee, and name of course. (b) Continuing education units that by title and content deal with marriage and family therapy practice and therapeutic issues, ethics and supervision of marriage and family therapy shall be approved by the Board. (c) Ongoing supervision by an AAMFT approved supervisor or AAMFT supervisor candidate may be utilized for up to 12 hours of continuing education. Written documentation of the supervisor's status shall be provided to the Board via a copy of the AAMFT supervisor or supervisor candidate verification form. (d) Three hours of ethics training in the provision of professional mental health services is required (as part of the required 20 hours of continuing education) for each renewal period. (e) The maximum number of hours of continuing education credits for presenting a continuing education course in marriage and family therapy or teaching a course in marriage and family therapy at a recognized educational institution is five. (f) Continuing Education credit shall not be accepted for the following: (1) Regular work activities, administrative staff meetings, case staffing or reporting; (2) Membership in, holding office in, or participation on boards or committees, business meetings of professional organizations, or banquet speeches; (3) Independent unstructured or self-structured learning, defined as learning which is undertaken by the licensee without peer or other guidance, review, input, supervision or monitoring; (4) Training related to policies and procedures of an agency; or (5) Non-therapy content programs such as finance or business management. (g) If a person submits documentation for continuing education that is not identifiable as dealing with marriage and family therapy practice and therapeutic issues, ethics or the supervision of marriage and family therapy, the Board shall request a written description of the continuing education and how it applies to professional practice in marriage and family therapy. If the Board determines that the training cannot be considered, the individual shall be given 90 days from the date of notification to replace the hours not allowed. Those hours shall be considered replacement hours and shall not be counted during the next renewal period. (h) If evidence of completion of marriage and family continuing education is not presented to the Board within 90 days from the date of notification, the license expires automatically. (i) The Board shall waive the continuing education requirements in this Rule for any individual who is currently licensed by and in good standing with the Board if the individual is serving in the armed forces of the United States and if G.S. 105-249.2 grants the individual an extension of time to file a tax return. The waiver shall be in effect for any period that is disregarded under Section 7508 of the Internal Revenue Code in determining the taxpayer's liability for a federal tax. (j) If the evidence of completion is not postmarked by July 1, the evidence of completion shall not be accepted by the Board, and the license will expire effective July 1. History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.51(b); 90-270-58C; 93B-15;Eff. March 1, 1996;Amended Eff. July 1, 2011
  • Additional Information from the North Carolina State Board Website: The Board does not pre-approve courses. It is the responsibility of the licensee to use their professional judgment as to the content meeting the requirements for MFT therapeutic or Ethics coursework. If a course is submitted and you are subsequently audited and a course is rejected, you will be given up to 90 days from the notification of course rejection to submit a replacement course.
  • Additional Information from the North Carolina State Board Website: There is no restriction on the number of hours that may be obtained on-line or in person.

 

  • Required for Renewal: 30 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Special Course Requirements: 6 CE Hours Each Renewal
  • Permitted Online: 1/4 of the 30 CE Hours Required are permitted to be earned through home study or online. 1/4 of 30 = 7.5 CE Hours Each Renewal.  
  • Acceptable CE: The North Dakota LMFT Board requires all CE to be individually approved by the Board as a requirement for acceptable CE. My CE Solution is not a certified CE provider by the North Dakota LMFT Board.